Hostelworld.com

CoolHostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 230 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 230 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
CoolHostel Located at Rua Formosa 225, , Porto.
CoolHostel
Portugal
Porto 4000 Rua Formosa 225
86% 230
41.1481872 -8.6057334
CoolHostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th May 2016
6.3

Kitchen is only open 12-2 and 7-10. After 10 is understandable, but those hours before having the kitchen closed was a huge inconvenience for those of us who didn't plan around the hostels strict hours (I came in at 2:30 and was quickly told that I couldn't prepare my meal). I didn't get much sympathy from the staff, who to me felt cold and standoffish. I felt safe at this hostel, but I did not feel welcome. If you have the option, book somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Apr 2016
7.7

Clean during the day, bathrooms dirty in the morning (they should clean it more often). Very major problem is that this place does overbooking and for us it meant we didn't have our room before the 2nd day of our stay. Other major problem are the bathroom facilities, there are just not enough. We were in low season and the hostel was at 50% capacity and we still had to wait to use the bathroom. 3 bathroom for around 30 beds. The employees were friendly and suggested us good activities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
8.6

The place is nice; very well located but we stayed in porto lounge hostel the day before and found that one to be much better the price being the same.facilities and breakfast were better at the other place. One bathroom for 15 people is not enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Mar 2016
10.0

Everything was fine, the bathroom was very stylish and the breakfast room, too! The room was nothing special, but it was very nice decorated! Best Hostel I stayed in so far!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Feb 2016
8.0

Very well located hostel, rooms are big.. the atmosphere was not so good and some of the the staff was not always so pleasant, but it was not a bad stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2016
8.0

Some of the staff doesn't speak English.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2016
7.4

There wasn't always hot water.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2016
4.6

Our floor had just one bathroom for at least 10 people, hot water was not even enough for all of us and we took quick showers. Beds were not comfortable and our room was quite cold. We would wake up in the morning with a loud vacuum cleaner.The staff was very rude and unpleasant throughout our stay,specially when we checked out.We were an hour late so they charged for an extra night. As we tried to reason with them they showed no flexibility and even insulted us. Worst hostel we've ever been to.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jan 2016
8.9

A good place to rest in a quiet street, yet central. Spacious room and bathroom. Friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jan 2016
10.0

It's a very nice hostel in a very good location! And it's also VERY clean and cosy :) We stayed in a Private Room and the room was excelent, with good space, drawers, tv and a mini-heater. The whole hostel is very bright and one of the staff Ana took a good care of us with breakfast and whatever else she could. There's only one shower per floor but it wasn't a problem at all as the hostel wasn't full when we were there. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.