Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

CoolHostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Jun 2017
7.4

Good place to stay. Nice and clean. Very clean, but not a lot of social areas. Only one stall bathroom per floor. Locker space didn't fit my 35 litre backpack, and if you get a top bunk, there is no place to charge your phone at night. Breakfast starts late so if your an early riser plan on waiting or going to a cafe. Noise from hallway and kitchen travellers. Very clean!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
4.9

I am never one to complain but during three day stay the was no one in reception the second two days. We had questions about trains and restaurant recommendations but the only person around was the cleaning Lady who was lovely but didn't speak English. On the last day the owner was extremely rude and basically kicked me it of the hostel, saying I couldn't be on the property after check out and had to wait for my Bla Bla car at a café. I would not recommend this hostel at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
8.0

Fantastic!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
4.6

Okay facilities and centrally located. Some staff is quite polite, but some is aggressive and rude. An older woman with red hair angrily told me that I was not allowed to use the printer to print a boarding pass, even though there are several signs encouraging guests to use the printer. She also angrily told me to leave quickly when I asked to use the restroom after checking out. I have not encountered this treatment in other hostels.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry , you did the check and ask to leave the luggage until 19.30 , you came around 3 and try to stay in the hostel , you come later and try again so in not normal and serious , you can use the printer if you talk in the recepcion of course the clean woman cant do that...

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2017
10.0

Thank you , really Very cool hostel, I recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th May 2017
9.7

Good location. Friendly staff. Good breakfast included. Clean and cozy, even dorms. One thing: when we checked out I needed a wifi to buy bus tickets and I wanted to go up, but the guy (not a friendly one, another), said its prohibited to go in public area after checking-out. Disappointed. Otherwise was really good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th May 2017
9.1

I was staying in a twin bed room for 4 nights. The hostel, the room and the bathrooms were always clean. But there was only one bathroom by floor, which was not enough. The staff was amazing, always ready to help ! The hostel is a bit far from the Douro (20 min in walking), but that's easily done. The only thing I didn't like, is the ring at the entrance, which I was woken up by a few time when people were coming in really late at night. Overall, I had a really great stay in the Coolhostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th May 2017
8.3

Amazing location! Would stay here again just for that!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.9

Clean, comfortable hostel with friendly and accomodating staff. Only area for improvement would be the shower faucet that refuses to stay up... not ideal for washing your hair. Otherwise facilities are good, great kitchen if you're interested in cooking during your stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
9.4

El hostel esta muy bien, la recepción es 24 horas y puedes entrar y salir cuando quieras. El desayuno eata bien, es limpio. Lo unico negativo es que las camas son un poco duras. Pero en general muy bien. 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.