Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

CoolHostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1
CoolHostel Located at Rua Formosa 225, , Porto.
CoolHostel
Portugal
Porto 4000 Rua Formosa 225
84% 256
41.1481872 -8.6057334
CoolHostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Sep 2016
5.4

Not cool at all. The property was clean, and the facilities where well equipped, but that's about it. It was located 20-30 minutes away from all major attractions walking, so keep that in mind, but worst thing was the atmosphere and the staff. One of the receptionist/cleaning lady was very rude to us, and on the night there were complaints about noise from a group of 4 having dinner at 9pm. They were also very bothered because we invited people from outside (2) to dine with us. Not a coolHostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Is forbidden bring people that not belong to the guest list of the hostel , you bring 2 and drink a lot , dont have any respect for the other guests and the hostel , and WORST bring a girl that not belong to the hostel to sleep in a shared room without ask to staff if is possible or not to dont pay...Bad Guests!!!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
3.1

The room was dirty when we arrived also had some spider webs in the room. The location is OK, but would be better to stay closer to Sao Bento train station as this hostel is on top of the hill, which makes for a long walk back up hill. I also thought the staff were rude and didn't speak any English.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2016
6.6

Staff is rude. The cleaning lady stomps down the stairs all day long and you're not allowed to even charge your phone in the common area once you've checked out. Not cool at all. Beds are lame

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
8.0

It's a bother that kitchen closes in the evening, if you get back after the closing time, you can't cook dinner. I had no problems with the staff, however the owner did throw one girl out on the street, after she asked if they could extend the kitchen time for 10 minutes, so do be careful not to set her off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
9.7

One of the nicest hostel I've visited during my trip in Portugal this summer. My wife and I rented a private room and everything was awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shanelle88
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Jul 2016
7.4

The hostel is clean and in a great location however, there isn't much of an atmosphere. We were told do be quiet while only having a few quiet drinks in the kitchen at 10pm. They are also very strict about cooking times you have to cook dinner and linch within a 2 hour period as they turn the power off in the kitchen and wont let you use the facilities. This would be a great place to stay if the staff relaxed a little and were more flexible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jun 2016
6.3

Staff was not nice. There is not a baggage room. You cant stay in the hostel after check out. They didnt want to give us the wifi before 2pm (check in)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
9.1

It's a great place to stay. The evening staff doesn't speak any English, but they manage just fine to show everything around. The only minus was that there's only one bathroom on each floor, so it gets quite crowded during the rush hour in the morning, otherwise all was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

We are a family of 4 and stayed in a hostel apartment. Fantastic size, location and helpful staff, plus a front and rear balcony. Very good value too. Would definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
6.3

Kitchen is only open 12-2 and 7-10. After 10 is understandable, but those hours before having the kitchen closed was a huge inconvenience for those of us who didn't plan around the hostels strict hours (I came in at 2:30 and was quickly told that I couldn't prepare my meal). I didn't get much sympathy from the staff, who to me felt cold and standoffish. I felt safe at this hostel, but I did not feel welcome. If you have the option, book somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.