X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Copacabana 4U Reviews

Travessa Guimarães Natal . nº 6, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
36 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I think the hostel is spectacular. The location is the best, the employees are nice and really care about all of those who are staying there.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Great hostel, really nice location near the metro, buses and supermarket. Copacabana is a good neighborhood. The staf is nice and they speak quite well english. Only the kitchen can be improved, there are only a few equipments.


71%

Good hostel! The staff are really friendly. The rooms are pretty basic but nothing to complain about. Internet comes and goes, the toilets are not super clean but again no problem for a cheap hostel.


89%

I stayed here for 4 nights in the mid of February 2014 and I'm really glad that I chose this hostel because it has a great location, the people there were really kind and helpfull and I loved the atmosphere :)

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The rooms were very dirty, it smelled like a public toilet in the entire hostel. The guys behind the desk tried to give some information, but most of it was inaccurate.


51%

You can definitely find better in Rio. Kind of depressing place.


54%

Well located. Some member of the staff nice and helpful some others not really eager to help. The bathrooms are old, not well maintained and not clean. There are way too many people on each dorm.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel was not really clean at all!!! And the kitchen was really discusting ... We arrived in the room and as soon as I seat down on my bed It broke.... It was already broken and the staff just tell that it was normal and put someone else instead of me. And there is one room, actually really good to eat and take e breakfast but during the night it was rent for a private party so.... Nowhere to eat....


77%

Hostel ist located ner the copacabana Beach in a calm neighborhood. Staff was always helpful. Rooms are ok with air on and fan. Breakfast is regular. Easy access to the 200m near metro station.

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a very nice time over there, with very good service, nice breakfast and good location! I will be back for sure!

  • 25th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Near Copacabana beach, good people and nice breakfast. I'll be back for sure.

  • 21st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Good location and very good breakfast. I liked.

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The location is really good, but the hostel didnt match up to my hygenic standarts. As well, the atmosphere wasn't the one you expect on Rio.

  • 12th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great atmosphere, cool ambient, helpfull staff, room with air conditioning and the best caipirinhas EVER. I'll go back for sure!

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

We checked in and out the same day . For starters it isn't even called Copacobana 4 U it is the King George Hostel. The place smelt like a public toilet and looks nothing like the pictures on hostelworld. The staff are really unfriendly, didn't even say hello when we arrived. The dorm was disgusting with no working airconditioning and fans that looked like they'd fall off the wall any minute

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Definitely a great option for those looking to stay somewhere on a tight budget. That said, be sure to correct the error on the website that shows Copacabana 4U as this beautifully redone hostel, since that is not what it is. The stay was as expected but fixing the temperature controls would be greatly appreciated by those visiting. Thanks

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice reception, caring Staff, great location and clean bathrooms at all times. Air conditioning in the room and cold beer at the PUB.

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location. Perfect atmosphere. The place has recently been refurbed so its all new and impeccably clean. Nice young staff. The absolute "carioca" experience. 10 out of 10.

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

It's the same hostel as King George Hostel, it looks nothing like the pictures and half of the hostel is under construction. You have to pay to rent a blanket, there's no breakfast, it's absolutely horrible.




View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback