X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Cordial House Hostel Reviews

Divanyolu Caddesi Peykane Sokak No:19, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
816 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Fantastic hostel, we booked a 10 bed but ended up in a 6 bed. Internet worked well downstairs, bit dodgy by the third floor. Has a great sitting area on the first floor. Bad points: Kitchen had limited items to work with (no cups, cutlery). Only one key for each room, you have to ask at reception if any one is in there. Any one could ask for your key though. 2 massive groups checked in whilst we were there (1 uni group


94%

Near everything!


69%

The hostel is a normal youth hostel with many school classes arriving at departing all the time, therefore it is sometimes loud and there is not really the backpacker atmoshpere which is there in smaller hostels. But everything is clean and the staff is helpfull and speaks fluent English.


86%

Our stay in Cordial House was very good The staff were very accommodating toward us. The location was close to everything, just a tram ride away. All in all or budget accommodation in Istanbul Cordial House lives up to expectations. John and Elle (Brisbane Australia)

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Stayed in both a mixed dorm and a double room. There was only one key to the dorm and the system of 'last one out takes the key back to reception' wasn't well advertised, which caused problems. There were no lockers/safes. Kitchen was lacking in cutlery but otherwise good, dining area and lounge area was large. Wifi in common areas but not rooms. Double room was nice, location was excellent, centre of town, near cheap supermarkets, and organised airport pickup was efficient. Would recommend.


69%

Was perfect for one night.

  • 9th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Though far from my youth, I have stayed in this hostel on many occasions and it is excellent in every way. It has all the feel of a youth hostel about it ant there are lots of young people there but yet people of all ages are welcome and feel at home. As a youth group leader of considerable experience I would always recomment YHA youth hostels. They are always very clean and very safe and with good facilities and every hostel offers single-sex dorms for males and females. Cordial House is great

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The kitchen equipment needs to be renewed - there's not even a spoon, but otherwise it was great!


89%

we have used this hostel for anumber of time over the years as a family ithas an excellent locaion near to Metro walking distance to all tha main sites supermarkets next door

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

careful...check-in is only at 13.00 !!! i had to wait in the lobby from 9.00 am !

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your stay with us. There is nothing wrong with the check - in time, check - in time is already indicated as 13:00 on hostelworld and our guests are informed about this in advance. Kind regards, Reservation Manager

94%

Everything was prepared and well organized to facilitate tourist stay. Only one point to be improved - the elevator was out of order during our stay. All other items was excellent!!

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

The rooms were sweltering hot with one ceiling fan than definitely didn't reach all ten beds in the room. Be warned the automatic lights in the bathroom are quite short set so will almost certainly go off while you're in the shower. Awesome location right near everything but with 240 beds, they really need a few more staff on.


91%

Excellent cozy space with amazing amibent for relaxing and surfing the net.The location is right center between grand bazzer and hagie sofia n blue mosque plus with all the other attractions n dining. Dorm room does have a air-con will get warm at midnight due to summer heat. Bathroom are clean and they have a lift. Highly recommended for travellers for a short holiday on a budget.


100%

I booked for one night, but i stayed 4 days. Everything was perfect. I booked 8 beds dorm but they upgraded for 6 beds without any extra money. There is guest kitchen at breakfast area, I made own breakfast. Lobby is very nice and cool. Free wifi, 24 hours hot water. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Location is great, one minute away from tram station. This place is 5 stars Hostel. Thank you Cordial House.


100%

The manager - Onur is the coolest turkish, respect.

  • 28th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very good location.Very friendly staf.I would recommend this place. thanks


100%

I would recommend Cordial House for traveling with friends. The location is perfect ! It is really easy to walk to many attractions (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia,Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar...) I stayed in a 8 bed male room in July 2013. The beds were really comfortable. The furniture looked really modern and in a good state of repair. Everything was really clean (kitchen, showers, bathrooms, common room), and there was plenty of space in the fridge to let our food. Definetelly RECOMMENDED!

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel seemed clean and the location is right in the centre of the sights. What is great, is that they have an airport pick-up shuttle service, which is only 15 Lira and runs several times a day. That saves a lot of time, money and hassle.


46%

I reach the hostel shortly before midnight. The reception was somewhat slow. Upon reaching the room I noticed that my bed had no sheets (I had to go down to order them and wait 40 minutes to give them to me). The room was warm. At night the kitchen is closed, and only offered me hot water for tea. I had booked and paid for a room with 8 beds and had 9. They offered no compensation. The bathroom was dirty,almost dark.The photos displayed are somewhat misleading because the place is not as spaciou


77%

The rooms are extremely hot, but in general its a good hostel for such a cheap price! very good location at the turistic part!


(569 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback