Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Corona Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 727 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 727 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.8
Corona Backpackers Located at 72 Grafton St, , Cairns.
Corona Backpackers
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 72 Grafton St
79% 727
-16.9239308 145.7758927
Corona Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Nepal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Jul 2016
7.7

Right across from Gilligans so great location for going out. Beds werent that great, a bit squeaky and bad mattresses. The kitchen is quite small, not really a common area so its quite hard to meet people (but that might just be my experience). Pretty cheap and the staff are nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2016
6.3

The hostel ha got a very good location in the heart of Cairns and close to almost everything. The staff was always very friendly and tried to help as good as they could. It was often very loud in the hostel and there is no chill out area, so the only place you can hang around is your room. Kitchen closes at 22.30pm, so bad luck if you are hungry past that time. The rooms aren't really nice. I didn't like the atmosphere there and it was difficult to feel comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
9.4

Nice hostel- just what I was looking for! Clean, great receptionist, decent kitchen. Only thing it lacked was a common area. Hard to meet people outside of those in your room. But altogether a very nice experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2016
6.9

One thing that people should know before they book is that there is a construction going on right now on the outside of the building. I don't know when it's going to finish, but it was annoying as workers come at around 8:00 am and start making loads of noise! Apart from that, alright stay, not the most social place, but I kind of liked that in a way.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th May 2016
5.7

It was an ok stay, but one of the fans in the room wasn't working. There's no lockers in the room to put your bag.. And there were people keeping a few of us up in the evenings due to them crashing in at 3am with no regard for anyone. The staff were friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
6.6

Room was okay, it was clean. Kitchen was really small and closed to early. Showers were small. Some grumpy old guy always told us to be quiet and kicked us off the earlier lounge place really early (which was just some stairs, that you could smoke on)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th May 2016
8.0

Nice homy hostel with a good kitchen. Right next to many good nightlife locations but once your inside you don't get any lastingly noise. Would recommend it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th May 2016
8.6

I booked 4 bed deluxe dorm. Simple, spacious room with good air con and wifi. Kitchen facilities were basic but we weren't too bothered about cooking so it wasn't that much of an issue. Fab location right opposite Gilligans and near to bars, restaurants, woolies and just 5/10 min walk from esplanade. Staff were great with sorting out our late check in over email so we could get in after doors locked. Also good for booking tours. Only down side was no lounge/social area other than the kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
8.0

Great value for money. Good place to stay on a budget. Across the street from Gillian's and short walk to the Main Street and lagoon. Fridge in room is good idea but too small and encourages people to eat in the room which attracts ants. Kitchen isn't great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
8.0

It is a good hostel for a cheap price. Nothing very fancy, but good enough and very helpful workers there. It's pretty clean and quiet, we had a room with 4 beds, so not too many people. We had airconditioning and a small ferdige which was Nice. Location is great. Overall I would definitely recommend it if you don't have a lot money to spend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.