X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Corrib Village Reviews

New Castle Road, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
246 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Way out of town, took us 40 minutes to walk there. They offer a free shuttle bus to the city center every full hour, but only until 11.30 pm and the bus has less than 15 seats. Check-in at 4 pm, check-out at 10.30 am. Breakfast is pretty decent, available in the cafeteria from 7 to 11 am. There's a coin-operated laundry room you can use, 3€ for the washer and another 2€ for the dryer. Staff was rude and unhelpful. My opinion: not actually bad, but not recommended for a night on the town.


94%

Very nice receptionists, you helped us a lot!

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

4 of us ment too check in at 2 in the after noon corrib village had no rooms ready till 6pm and at that only had 2 ready 2of us didn't get the key too our room till 12oclock that night would not recommend staying here


100%

Fantastic place - quiet, clean,great breakfast. Thank you!


74%

Cold shower two days in a row... Shuttle not at convenient hours for tourists

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Ideal for Galway races, cheap and cheerful!


77%

The room was advertised as ensuite but it was not the bathroom was shared with the room next door even though this cost extra.

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

clean and tidy,

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

good adress

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

I stayed in a single room for one night. Staff was very helpful and the continental breakfast was good--it had fruit. I think you get free breakfast if you book online. Location is not far from NUI Galway, but a little ways from town--a 30-40 minute walk or a 10 min bus ride for 2 euro. There are beautiful walks on the paths around the area.


77%

The shared bathrooms were dirty, but the rooms were clean. The breakfast was okay although I was missing some cheese. Nevertheless, the free shuttle service is a lovely idea!


71%

Rooms are good, comfortable, clean. The free shuttle only runs 12pm - 7pm. Most people would want to get to Galway or meet a bus for day trip earlier than that, and don't want to go back and sit in a dorm room at 7pm. Shuttle driver was grumpy and wouldn't clearly identify shuttle pick up location, so some people missed it. Out of my 3 day stay, shuttle times only worked for me once, rest meant $$$cabs. Way too expensive rooms, considering what you also pay for cabs unless you have a car.


83%

The location isn't great if you need to be able to pop back to your hostel when in the city centre (30 min walk), but the plus side is that it's very attractive (river, trees). Security could have been a bit better (no lockers in room) but that was also down to fellow guests (doors left wide open). The staff I encountered were excellent. Cleanliness was fine. Best thing about the hostel is the value for money. Couldn't be beat elsewhere in Galway and breakfast very decent. 100% for value.


100%

Good quality at a very good price!

  • 6th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Wonderful location, substantial continental breakfast, friendly staff for the most part and outstanding value for money. I would highly recommend it.


26%

It was noisy (impossible to sleep,), cold, dirty, unsafe (doors woulden´t lock) and the service from security staff was poor.


69%

Generally good for couple of days. Do not rely on pictures you see here. Rooms are much smaller than what you think it is in the pictures.

  • 15th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The Corrib village is a great place to stay to relax, the rooms are well arranged for tourists, facilities with the kitchen , living room and parking space availability. The breakfast buffet was really nice. If the weather is nice we can enjoy walking to town for 30 min


63%

Good cheap accommodation. There was no hot water on the first day, as soon as I let the staff know this was sorted out straight away. The beds were comfortable but the rooms were a bit too basic for me. The bathroom could do with updating, I showered in the bath but would not have had a bath in it! The breakfast was also very basic. There could have been some pastries, yogurt? It was very much student accommodation, I won't be back.

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Swipe card entry to the apartment block, but I found the main door had been wedged open during one night, a potential personal safety issue for people staying there. Mainly clean but when on the loo had an eyeline view of the grunge under the sink taps. Facilities good, e.g. sports court, restaurant-excellent continental breakfast, shop, hot showers. Friendly, helpful staff. Quiet atmosphere. Beautiful walk to Galway via Corrib River. On bus route to Galway / Moycullen. Good value.




View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback