Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Costa Rica Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 684 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
7.7

A Great Hostel for making Friends. It's not the cleanest Hostel I've ever been to but it's worth the Money. Had a Great Night there - the Outdoor Area is beautiful & the atmosphere was super!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
8.9

Good overall. This place is massive with large tour groups/families, couples and solo backpackers. I bet it was a good solo backpacker environment in the past but now it's branched out. Multiple areas for shower/toilets, bar/food and kitchen onsite. Far from the airport. There's nothing to see in San Jose, you're better off next to the airport if you're just stopping by. Only complain was the beds are old and the rooms were musky.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
8.9

We had a great stay here. The staff were very helpful in getting around town and we met some cool people from all over the world. Justin in the tour guide area was great in hooking us up with our next hostel, tours and transportation. It was also convenient to have the shuttle from the hostel come get us at the airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
8.9

This was my very first hostel experience, and I enjoyed my stay! The staff is helpful and friendly, the dorms aren't bad, and the bathroom/showers are clean enough. I wouldn't want to use them for more than a few days, but for my two night stay, they were fine. The pool/ lounge area is very nice with a super laid back, chill atmosphere. The restaurant and bar is also a very nice plus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks a lot for your review, we appreciate it. Best regards, Natalie

6th Mar 2017
10.0

Great place, will visit again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
9.4

My mom and I stayed here for one night. We absolutely loved the atmosphere. The staff and guests were friendly definitely worth the money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear , Thanks a lot for your review, we are very happy you had a good time here, we hope to see you back, and best regards, Pura Vida!

  • IsabelleGM
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st Mar 2017
7.7

Great location, very bare bones

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, we will consider it to improve.

  • Awething
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
9.4

The train can be super loud if you're in certain dorms but other than that this hostel is phenomenal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, thanks a lot for your review. The train is a problem we have around San José, and by the moment what we do is to provide of ear plugs to our clients to reduce the impact.

22nd Feb 2017
9.4

At first I wasn't sure about the hostel. After a few hours I realized it was awesome. It is very close to the city. You can easily and safely walk to busy areas with tons of shops and restaurants. There is a bar with great happy hour and otherwise cheap drinks. There is also cheap food available. My only complaints are, that there are no power outlets in some dorms and that the showers are finicky. Sometimes they would get really hot and other times remain ice cold.(Even if I followed signs).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
10.0

Great hostel, really good security located in a good place close to Central area and supermarkets. Great kitchen, awesome pool with tons of lounge area, lots of quiet places and tv room. Good vibes. Restaurant and bar was also awesome and delicious food. Free coffee 24/7!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.