Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Costa Rica Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 552 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
Costa Rica Backpackers Located at Avenida 6, calle 21/25, , San Jose.
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica
San Jose apartado 12 991 Avenida 6, calle 21/25
79% 552
9.9310507 -84.0684770
Costa Rica Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
8.9

Staff was amazing! Very helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
8.3

Good place for a night or two, the pool is great and the staff are helpful. San Jose just isn't a great place to be in general but this hostel was pretty good, close to the cinema so you can go catch a movie!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alysehiggins
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2016
6.3

I stayed here for one night when I flew into San Jose before I continued on to my next destination, which is what i would recommend it for. I wouldn't want to stay here long term. It doesn't seem to be in a safe area of San Jose (if those even exist) and it could've been cleaner but it had everything I needed and I enjoyed the outdoor hammocks by the pool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
2nd May 2016
7.4

Do not book tours etc through this hostel as they over charge to gain a ridiculous commission. Other than that hostel was fine and practical

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
7.4

Good dorms; our biggest issue is that only one person was manning reception at check out and check in, when there were several people needing attention, so the process took a long time. It would be nice to have more people at the front desk since they're such a busy hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kmjnamaste8006
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.3

Basic hostel that works fine for a night or two on your way in or out of San Jose. Staff is friendly and helpful. I would recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
27th Apr 2016
10.0

Second time here and there have been some good upgrades to the kitchen since my first stay. It's much nicer to cook and eat in now! Nice pool area with nice chairs to relax in. And good location with a less than 10 or so minute walk to the centre. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
3.1

I arrived at 11pm in the evening after a late flight and I was given no help from staff. I had to stumble around in the dark to find a free bed which wasn't very obvious and put the sheets on. This was when I realised how dirty they were so Didn't end up using them or the pillow. It's also probably the worst bed I've slept on for my whole trip. I would advise not staying here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. We really sorry that your first night was uncomfortable. Keep in mind that if you were disagree with the bed you could talk with the receptionist to try to get a better option. Like you said it was dark because it was too late and the rest of the customers were sleeping but is part of been in a share dorm and the cheapest dorm. For a few more dollars you could get a dorm with less beds or less people on it. And our staff is in charge to bring to every single customer a set of clean bed sheets and a blanket. We hope the next time we can help to improve your stay in our place. Best Regards

15th Apr 2016
7.7

The common area was nice with a pool and a bar/restaurant but the room was small and the sheets were old. I think Backpackers was good for San Jose, the whole city is more of a stop over for people rather than a destination and that is apparent in the atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
6.9

Very loud due to extremely thin walls/windows in the room. 5 different times, someone tried to enter my room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.