Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Costa Rica Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 781 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 781 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

I was two nights in The Costa Rica Backpackers and I really enjoyed it ! You have in the same place bar, swimming pool free kitchen and restaurant. The staff is very kind (they give to me a little map the first morning with all important points of the city). Restrooms and showers are cleaned. Between 4:00 - 7:00 pm it's happy hour time, it s the good moment to meet new friends all around the world. The barmaid is very nice and she makes very good cocktails :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
7.7

Pros: 1)the pool area and common space were great 2) good food 3)easy to organize and cost effective shuttle Cons: 1)very basic rooms, make your own bed etc. 2) VERY small lockers, had difficulty fitting all valuables in the locker provided. 3) the train is as loud but earplugs made for a good night's sleep. 4) organization isn't the best, emailed the hostel 1 month before arriving with a change (2 person to 1 and a different room) but change hadn't been processed when I arrived.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we want to tell you that clients don't have to make their own bed now, about the organization and emails, we are working to make it better.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.3

Nice hostel to meet other backpackers. San José isn't a very fun city and there is not much see, so it's very nice, that the hostel have a pool and areas to chill in + the common kitchen is clean and really nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very happy to hear about your good experience, there are a lot of funny things to do here, regards!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
5.7

While the hostel itself looked like the pictures, the location was right by the passenger train tracks so if you were in the back building (like us) you were woken up by trains startingg at 5:30am and running all day. Also in our room there were no plugs or usb ports like is listed here

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, we provide ear plugs to all our clients for free, the majority of the rooms they have usb ports and plugs, we are working in the dorms without USB ports and plugs to make new ones.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
9.1

Airport shuttle was easy! No outlets in the room itself. San Jose wasn't my favorite place compared to the more outdoorsy adventurous places elsewhere in Costa Rica, but I felt comfortable at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st May 2017
4.9

I don't know why this hostel is named number 1. The staff is so unfriendly and unhelpful they don't care about you or your stay. The place is dirty and not well run. The 10 bed dorm was not nice and the bed were gross. I've never been to a hostel that makes you take on and off your sheets before and they were so thin you could see through them. The commotion going on in the middle of the night was so loud, we were scared to get up to see what it was because it sounded like fighting and someone f

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • carliedyson1289
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th May 2017
6.9

Staff wasn't too helpful. Cockroaches in the rooms. Pool was nice and food was good. Just okay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2017
9.1

I think the manager need Customer Service training. My sister and I we were eating breakfast, and the manager went to make interview, and ask to the cooker to turn off the tv. rude

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
27th May 2017
7.4

Overall pretty average, known as a party hostel but not much going on there on the Saturday night I stayed, has potential for it though. Rooms, beds and showers are very basic

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
10.0

Just do everything to help make their guests comfortable. Great kitchen with fair priced food. Awesome pool!!! Lively atmosphere. Not a great place if you want to sleep before 11 but great if you like meeting people from everywhere in the world. Secure parking. FUN FUN FUN Great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very happy to hear about your good experience, thanks for your review

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.