Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Costa Rica Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 580 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 580 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.1
Costa Rica Backpackers Located at Avenida 6, calle 21/25, , San Jose.
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica
San Jose apartado 12 991 Avenida 6, calle 21/25
81% 580
9.9310507 -84.0684770
Costa Rica Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
7.7

We Booked the cheapest room, 8 persons mixed dorm, room 10. The mattresses are very old, dirty and smelly. We know this because you have to put the sheets on yourself. The room smelt because it's underground with only small windows and no airflow. If you decide to stay here maybe book another room which is probably better. If you can't afford the more expensive room maybe try a different hostel. Common areas are great, kitchen ok, pool was dirty but I think it's low season so maybe thats why.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
9.1

Such a cool place to stay! Booked 2 nights and ended up staying for 4. It's so easy to get lost in the atmosphere at Costa Rica Backpackers. The staff were helpful, friendly and relaxed and the place was still fairly busy for low season meaning I met a lot more people than I expected too. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, We hope see you soon. Pura Vida

  • sarahseggari
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
9.4

Beautiful and friendly hostel. Would deffo recommend! I just hope they open up more branches in other cities around the world! Honestly so lush! Food was also amazing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi: Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you soon. Pura Vida

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Sep 2016
5.1

Overall I found the standard of cleanliness below average and expectations. The room smelt and felt very damp.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola! The cleaning is 24/7. You have chosen to stay in a mix low cost dorm. These dorms are cheaper because there is more people in it so it is logical that sometimes it may smell strange. You were able to choose a dorm with less people to avoid this kind of inconvenient but you have prefered to sleep with a lot of people so do not criticize your choice, it was your wish!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
8.0

It is enjoyable to stay in this hostel because of the lay out around a swimming pool,;the trees, flowers and hammocks create a relaxing atmosphere. It is close to the centre of town. the staff is friendly and very helpful. I am not sure though that we need music all day long and I enjoyed the peacefulness when it was turned down

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review. We are happy you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you soon. Pura Vida

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
7.7

Spent 4 nights over 2 stays. Easy place to meet people as have a bar & table football with a restaurant area. It is also a good base from which to travel the country. I stayed in a single room & a dorm & both were nice enough. Most of the staff were friendly enough although one of the cooks was quite rude & tried to short change me twice by quite a lot(she had a pony tail).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you so much for your comments. We hope you will visit us soon. Best Regards.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
8.9

Only stayed one night but it couldn't have been much better. Dorm was nice, bedding, toilets and showers were clean and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Also, the tour and info office is great, he showed us that it was a short safe walk from the hostel to the central avenida and also explained about how to get to Tortuguero.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
10.0

Beautiful Hostel in the middle of town close to everything. The staff were wonderful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Lisa: Thank you so much. We are working hard to make you feel like home. Pura Vida.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Aug 2016
9.1

I loved being in this hostel. Got there the first night arrived in San Jose and decided to stay another night too. This hostel has such a great space, loved the swimming pool and all the common areas. Dorms and toilets very clean there are always ladies cleaning. In this place you feel outside the city even tho sometimes car remind you that you are still there. Considering that in San Jose there is not much to do, this hostel is a bonus. Staff were super lovely and friendly, especially Gerard!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
10.0

The best place in San José. Cosy private rooms. Great staff, especially the guy who advised us and helped us to book our trip through the Costa Rica! Don't hesitate to book there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we are happy you had a pleasant stay. Pura Vida

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.