Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Costa Rica Backpackers Reviews

Avenida 6, calle 21/23, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained


460 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The hostel itself offers a lot of relaxing areas, pretty good wifi and quite comfortable beds. Don't eat the pizza at the bar (expensive and disgusting). Everything else was fine, I'd love to come again.


Great time at the Costa rica Backpackers

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


It's a okay place to stay a night or two. It's not perfect but also not horrible. I think that the taxi transfer of 26USD is very high for a 20minute drive. The weather wasn't that sunny so I didn't try the pool ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. The airport shuttle costs $26 and it´s the cheapest one, you can also take the bus for lees than $1 (but it takes about an hour)


To noisy at night, the walls are like curtains and that f--- train. Very helpfull stuff specially the guy that works daytime at the reception, unfortunally we did't got his name, he help us a lot with information about where we where going next. He recommended us Tortuguero and it was worth it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your staff comments, the staff is always looking for ways to help our customers. Hope you had a blast in Tortuguero, its amazing!

View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback