Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Costa Rica Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 826 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 826 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2017
8.9

Friendly staff and clean lavatories: the two most important things. The earplugs provided at reception are needed because San Jose council allows trains to hoot late at night and early in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
6.9

Stayed in the 10 bed dorm. When booking it was not obvious that what is billed as deluxe doesn't apply to all the dorm rooms, was disappointed to arrive and find no USB, large locker or curtain. We also ended up killing approx 7 baby cockroaches in our dorm right by our bunks. Dorm was very loud with road noise which hostel can't help. Food and drink at hostel was very good and reasonably priced. Laundry service was cheap and efficient.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You have stayed in 10 bed dorms, which is our low cost dorm. Low costs dorms don t feat deluxe bunk beds. As a cleaning process, we fumigate our installations every 3 months, we have just done it that´s why some cockroaches might try to escape the poison. ;-)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
16th Jul 2017
8.0

Nice pool and outdoor area. Food is cheap, drinks are a bit expensive. Shuttle service is good, but was quite late - which is a bit touch and go if you have a flight. The wifi wasn't that good. Would stay again tho.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we will work on the shuttle service time. Also we are working to have a better internet service and wi-fi. Greetings!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
9.7

A really great hostel with friendly staff and really comfortable beds. The food is cheap and yummy. The pool is open 24 hours and the atmosphere is great. Definitely would reccomend this hostel to anyone staying in San Jose.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very happy to know about your good experience, thank you so much for your review!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jun 2017
9.4

I stayed in this hostel for three days at the end of my trip in Costa Rica. It is fairly big and lots of room, very nice if you are in between trips are just starting off. The restaurant food was mediocre and I would recommend making a short walk downtown for food unless it's late at night. The pool is very cold but felt refreshing for a morning swim anyway & there is a chill atmosphere. The 10 person dorm at the front of the building gets all the noise from the street and from the bar area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

I was two nights in The Costa Rica Backpackers and I really enjoyed it ! You have in the same place bar, swimming pool free kitchen and restaurant. The staff is very kind (they give to me a little map the first morning with all important points of the city). Restrooms and showers are cleaned. Between 4:00 - 7:00 pm it's happy hour time, it s the good moment to meet new friends all around the world. The barmaid is very nice and she makes very good cocktails :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
7.7

Pros: 1)the pool area and common space were great 2) good food 3)easy to organize and cost effective shuttle Cons: 1)very basic rooms, make your own bed etc. 2) VERY small lockers, had difficulty fitting all valuables in the locker provided. 3) the train is as loud but earplugs made for a good night's sleep. 4) organization isn't the best, emailed the hostel 1 month before arriving with a change (2 person to 1 and a different room) but change hadn't been processed when I arrived.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we want to tell you that clients don't have to make their own bed now, about the organization and emails, we are working to make it better.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.3

Nice hostel to meet other backpackers. San José isn't a very fun city and there is not much see, so it's very nice, that the hostel have a pool and areas to chill in + the common kitchen is clean and really nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very happy to hear about your good experience, there are a lot of funny things to do here, regards!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
5.7

While the hostel itself looked like the pictures, the location was right by the passenger train tracks so if you were in the back building (like us) you were woken up by trains startingg at 5:30am and running all day. Also in our room there were no plugs or usb ports like is listed here

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, we provide ear plugs to all our clients for free, the majority of the rooms they have usb ports and plugs, we are working in the dorms without USB ports and plugs to make new ones.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
9.1

Airport shuttle was easy! No outlets in the room itself. San Jose wasn't my favorite place compared to the more outdoorsy adventurous places elsewhere in Costa Rica, but I felt comfortable at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.