Hostelworld.com

Costa Rica Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 649 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 649 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Only stayed one night but was impressed. Very spacious hostel, decent facilities with swimming pool and good bar/restaurant, staff helpful. Recommend bringing some very good ear plugs as the bloody trains are very noisy close by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Went with 13 friends the staff and everybody was very helpful and pleasant. Would go again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, We are really pleased you had a good time, and we truly appreciate your comment. Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Good food and drink available poolside. Outdoor kitchen is available. Shuttle to and from airport. Bathrooms are ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We really appreciate your comment. We work really hard to please you. Pura vida and best regards

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
8.9

Great little place to stay.. nothing too fancy but it was clean. Justin at the tours desk was amazing and extremely helpful in getting us transport and tours to get to our next destination. As well as a few great recommendations for local food and coffee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
9.7

We enjoyed our stay at this urban oasis of a hostel. The pool and out door kitchen were refreshing. Mari the staff was really fantastic and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, Is a pleasure for us to hear this great review, we feel really happy you had a great time here. We hope to see you back, and Mary is a really important member of our staff, she tries to give her best in her job, we will let her know your review. Thanks and Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
9.1

Had a great time in this hostel! The working staff were always helpful and friendly. The atmosphere was definitely my favorite part of the hostel, the meeting area is surrounded by hammocks and benches so there is plenty of space to hang out and meet people! I'll recommend this hostel to all my friends!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hithere, we feel really happy for you having a good time in our hostel. We appreciate your review, and we wish you spend a great time in our Country. Pura Vida and best regards,

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th Jan 2017
9.4

great hostel!! nice pool and common area, met the best people, great kitchen and staff. A lot of computers to use and seats to chill and hang out eith the other travelers, defiitely a great stay. staff is very easy and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We feel really happy you had a great time in our hostel. We truly wish you the best in your trip around Costa Rica, and wait to see you back. Pura Vida and best regards.

13th Jan 2017
6.9

I had no hot water and nowhere to lock my gear. That's my only complaint.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We have a system which you need to open the knob very slow and low pressure, but we are actually improving it. Best regards,

11th Jan 2017
9.4

Good vibes! Great place to start off in Costa Rica and meet people. Great location and friendly staff :-) good food too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • naominme8565
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
29th Dec 2016
6.9

Its a very noisy hostel. They allow people to have partlys in the yard till 5am. A bit irritating when the rooms are located there. I didn't sleep. As well the hostel is located just next to the train. I don't know why, but they hunk the horn like crazy and it is very noisy. It goes on from 5am until approximately 2am. As well I was unsatisfied, that there are no plugs to charge anything in the rooms. I find that a bit weard. nice pool area, that's okay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.