Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Costa Rica Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 751 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 751 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2017
6.6

This place has a really fun and social atmosphere to it, and is a great place to meet other travelers! The staff were also very accommodating with our late night arrival. However, it's located quite close to the train tracks and because the bar is open late, it can be very noisy at night. The facilities (such as the toilet paper holder and shower) could also use some updating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we are happy to hear about your good experience, we provide to all our clients ear plugs (for the noise)

11th May 2017
9.1

Great atmosphere, great bar and comfortable dorms, each bed with a small fan and a curtain to mantain privacy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review.

10th May 2017
7.4

Bel.ambiance! Auberge de jeune. Bar a l'intérieur. Si vous voulez faire la fête allez la bas ! Je recommande. Personnel +/- aidant pour les déplacements tout dépendant des chiffres. Sécurité bofff. Petit cabinet en bois qui ne tien quavec un petit cadenas .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire, nous travaillons sur de nouveaux casiers plus sûrs.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
4.6

My biggest problem were the cleaning agents and insect repellents, gave me a flu, stank and were unnecessairy. I think they shoild look for healthier alternatives!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
8.3

The staff were really welcoming and the hostel was really clean. There's a nice big green garden with pool and hammocks and I made the most of this when I was pretty jet lagged. The kitchen serves simple food at a reasonable price, and there's always tea or coffee there and it's free. It's quite a party hostel which is great of you're in the middle but it's hard to find anywhere to chill out except in your room if you don't want to. Clean sheets and comfy beds - can't complain! Thanks :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so happy to hear about your good experience, thanks for your review, we can't wait to see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th May 2017
6.6

Stayed here on 2 separate occasions. The private room was good for 1 night, basic but comfy. Then we stayed in a dorm.. it was truly vile. Largely due to one of our roommates who, the hostel had allowed to move in, and hadn't showered or changed his bed sheets in months. It made our stay extremely unpleasant. The kitchen is also outside which wasn't ideal because it was quite dirty and full of insects. Pool looked nice, but rained while we were there. Tour desk was really helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
8.6

Bath was way way way too far from dorm...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We have more than 10 bathrooms in our hostel!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
9.1

Since I have stayed at Costa Rica Backpackers many times on previous trips, I was pleased to see the many changes and the financial investment that has been made. I loved the new mattresses and beds. The change in the kitchen facilities seemed to be enjoyed by several guests that were using the kitchen. The movement of the restaurant is much more conveinent. The lighting in the computer area needs some work as well as some newer equipment, but this is a lot of expense.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
8.9

Spacious hostel with lots of areas to hang out, pool looked good but didn't use it! We had private room which was fine and v comfy bed! Not many bathrooms though. Food was amaaaaazing, best bit! Staff were pretty disinterested, but tour guy was nice and very helpful! Would recommend for 1 or 2 nights, make sure you eat there though :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
6.3

The photos lie: The beds and room size is bad but the cleaning staff are on point, cleaning 24hr. Best place to stay if your a large group. Only two bathrooms and two showers. There are better/closer places.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Please don t give wrong informations : You have chosen the CHEAPEST dorm, this dorm does not featured 1st class bunk beds. Others dorms do. Then, do you really think we have 2 bathrooms for 150 people a day??? So please get informed, there are maps of the hostels or if you don t know, ask our staff. The hostel has 20 restrooms and 18 showers, for your next time with us ;-)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.