X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Costa Rica Backpackers Reviews

Avenida 6, calle 21/23, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
440 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

BUYER BEWARE** Reserved a room 6 weeks in advance for myself and two others. Arrived in San Jose at 9pm and arrived at the hostel for them to tell us "the hostel is booked we don't have a room for you." When I said I'd paid a deposit and reserved weeks ago they said "sorry, it's our busy season." They did arrange for us to stay somewhere else that was nothing like Costa Rica backpackers and had no amenities at all. DONT BOOK THIS UNLESS DOWN SEASON.

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Shaunna! We are very sorry about that. The 29/3 a group of more that 60 people had an emergency and they all had to stay in the hostel for one more no reserved night. We have tried to accomodate everybody in the hostel but unfortunately we missed few beds. For the people we couldn t stay with us we have sent them to more expensive places paying you the cost of transportation and the difference of the cost of the room. Remember that we are the spot that offer the more amenities in CR.

74%

The pool area and the rooms were nice and cleanly. However, the staff was not very helpful. The restaurant would take extremely long for anyone to come and help you. Some of the front desk staff didn't seem to know/understand very much English which made it hard for them to properly answer questions. Lastly, we were completely ripped off by the shuttle situation. The shuttle driver made us take a taxi and charged us extra for it, but then we were not reimbursed for it. Very unprofessional.


94%

Great vibes, though the crowds changed everynight it was quite pleasant and I stayed an extra night. Great kitchen area too. Don't plan to swim in the pool though, it is cold, refreshing for a quick dunk though.


71%

Had a disagreement about airport pick up (friend didn't see his name on the sign and had to pay anyways). Other than that, good stay.


57%

The staff seemed to want my money rather than assist me in enjoying my stay in Costa Rica. They ordered over charged taxis.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We offer you free call to taxis companies. W e don t work with any of them. YOU have to be awared of the taxi meters (la maria) and don t get overcharged by the driver. We are an hostel, we are not a taxi company.

37%

For such a big hostel I expected more than 3 bathrooms and 2 showers. Also, the only time i have had a problem with people in the room the staff didn't care, the other 4 people had the same problem and were treated bad also. I was never given info about the hostel besides where my room was. I was super excited to stay here and was so disappointed.


97%

Had an unreal time here!

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Solid place to crash in San Jose. Relatively decent prices on beer and food in the bar. The staff was very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your comments!

69%

This is a great place to rest a for a night or two. It has a pool which is great and refreshing. The rooms are small but adequate. However the budget dorms can get noisey. Also, most of the staff (not all) are incredibly rude. You work at a hostel, and in a place like San Jose where everyone is in transit and tired and just needs help, you should learn to be a heck of a lot nicer. Wouldn't stay here again just because of the staff.


83%

Great atmosphere with great staff. Definitely the hostel I would recommend in San Jose. Only downside is the noise from the train and music comes on at 9am - Too early to be hearing Nirvana lol.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Outside of the grit of the main part of San Jose but a little bit of a hike to get to from any bus terminal and a taxi away from the airport. Very pleasant grounds though and a very pleasant stay. Good place to meet fellow travelers.


86%

Pretty clean hostel other than the cockroaches in the lockers. Beds are pretty decent. Room gets pretty cold so no need for AC. Rooms are pretty loud in the morning. The pool and restaurant are nice and set up a good atmosphere to meet people.


60%

We left a night early because they came and wanted to exterminate our room while we were sleeping. We were not to comfortable with that. They could use some improvement in the restroom/shower area. Price was good. There was quite a bit of noise at night just because it was right down town. They would not refund our deposit and they probably should have under the circumstances.


80%

The bed was comfortable but my room was right by the main hang out area so if you wanted to rest early the music was quite loud and the voices of those who stayed up real late carried over. Also, in the early morning you can hear honking and trains passing by in the city. Otherwise, the grounds were nice and provided nice tropical feel while still in the city.


97%

Great sociable hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for comments!

71%

Nice hostel and cool pool bar area. A shame that the rooms weren't very nice and showers etc not very clean also had cold showers. The guy on reception was helpful but seemed under staffed! Was ok for 1 night though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for your comments, they push us to be better! We have cleaning staff all day 24/7 and the rooms go from privates to the cheapest dorms. They are basic but clean and organized.

86%

Great location and great space. A larger hostel that is great for meeting people. .The kitchen could definitely use an upgrade but otherwise, the space was fantastic and the free coffee good. There was also an issue with the wifi the duration of our stay but not all that important given the fact that we spent a lot of time away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for your comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. There were some problems with the company that provides Internet during those dates because they were making changes on their network system.

74%

Spent 4 nights here, not much to do in San Jose as such, the place felt like a terminal for travelers. Had a fun last night though met some good people. Good restaurant. (Very quiet, good food, nice lady)


57%

pretty old place and therefore in the according condition. serves the purpose though. wifi wasn't working while we were there.


74%

The common areas were great but some people didn't respect the 10 PM quiet hours and it didn't seem like they were enforced. Wasn't able to sleep very well (I was in the 8 female dorm) due to inconsiderate roommates and staff were noisy in the early hours of the morning. Sound carries very far in the hostel. Bathrooms were also not the best in terms of cleanliness but I did see that staff check in on them several times a day, so it was probably due to messy guests.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback