X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Costa Rica Backpackers Reviews

Avenida 6, calle 21/25, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
497 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Great location with pool and chill out area! Unfortunately the staff was a bit unfriendly and not really helpful + the restaurant is not recommended (high prices for oven-ready meals)

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I was desapointed that there were no place left in the parking for my car when I arrived and the staff didn't care about it. Otherwise it's an okay place, the swimming pool is nice.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice place, especially the pool/garden area. The staff all seem miserable though. Must be a terrible place to work.


74%

Lovely garden area with pool. The police were called when I stayed though -something about a robbery. Toilets and showers were shabby and not enough of them. Dormitory doors rely on the guests to lock and invariably they didn't so not as secure as it could be. Unfriendly staff in the restaurant. The lovely outdoor area sells it though - would stay again for convenience if passing through


63%

It is easy to meet people here, which I really liked. However, I feel like they may be a bit understaffed. There was never any toilet paper, which I told them about. And I also had to wait nearly 20 minutes to get someone to call me taxi. They are friendly, they just need more staff for a busy connecting hostel. They also don't have large lockers for your pack, which is a basic and necessary amenity for me.


97%

The staff is wonderful and very helpful!


69%

Bathroom was far from room and not clean.

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The facilities really are quite pathetic, especially after staying at other hostels within a close vicinity of this one. The bathrooms are falling apart, there are exposed live wires in the showers which is extremely dangerous, the linens are so old that you can see through what's left of them, the mattresses and beds are completely falling apart. There are better places in San Jose. Amazing outdoor area and good food were good, but without updated facilities, I would not return.

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Does what it says on the box really. Good location, nice pool, cheap. San Jose isn't great, i would suggest getting to the rainforest or beaches!

  • 9th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hang-out area with pool, chairs, hammocks and tables. Very meager book exchange, clean showers, great/spacious rooms. Each room had an area for bags and individual lockers. Very reasonable airport transfer. The food in the restaurant was pretty mediocre and bland, go out and find real Tico food if you can.


71%

The pool is amazing, rooms are clean, bathrooms only kind of, a second person at the reception would be great although they were all really trying, kitchen is poorly equipped.


57%

When I arrived at the hostel it was really dirty everywhere.There was people sleeping everywhere even in the communal spaces.


89%

great times over there. Mosquito nets were missing and bathrooms and toilets need to be more clean.

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Gerald went out of his way to arrange and pay for a pick up from the bus station when the regular driver was held up at the airport.

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

One of my favorite hostels , all they need is included breakfast .


91%

Spent most of my time outside the hostel, but the time that I was there I was super comfortable! The wifi was good and the location is right near some amazing bars.

  • 16th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay for a couple of nights. Staff were very helpful in planning trips for the time we had left. Very social backpackers but not too loud


91%

It's great to have a comfortable, lower cost place to stay like this in the middle of a big city. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They had good wifi, a great pool, cozy lounges with very warm decorations, great food, reasonable happy hour bar and free locked up parking for rental cars. They also help you plan bus routes. The people who were staying here were so mellow. It felt like a safe haven and retreat to unwind and plan one's adventures in the other parts of Costa Rica.


100%

Spending our first night at Costa Rica Backpackers set the course of our entire vacation. We were able to arrange transportation, accommodations, and adventures throughout the country from this one hostel!

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This was my first experience staying in a hostel and it was excellent!! As an 18 yr old girl I was a little nervous about living with all these strangers but everyone there was extremely friendly and nice and wanted to talk and share experiences... it was really cool! Staff was very accommodating, food was good, clean and an awesome set up. Definitely recommend this hostel!!

  • 1st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback