X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Costa Rica Backpackers Reviews

Avenida 6, calle 21/23, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
414 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

In the kitchen were too few things to cook and it was kind of dirty. Facilities like a lighter or matches weren't available, but would be an easy abd cheap thing to add!

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! The kitchen is busy almost 21 hours a day and we have 4 cleaning ladies all day long that clean it every 1.30 h. We keep it fully equiped with all the things you need to cook. Matches and lighters can be found at the front desk if there are not in the kitchen. Yesterday, for example we bought a brand new oven and lots of pans and items people need. We are constantly bringing new stuff to the kitchen. Thank you for your comments and hope to see you soon again!

74%

It's close to the airport but not a great base location for doing Eco tourism. The hostel is decent but the city isn't very nice.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We would like to receive comments about the property not the city. Even though San José has bad things it also has great things to do and see! We invite you next time to stop by our info center so we can advise some great places downtown!

91%

I have stayed here several times while on route through San Jose to somewhere in Costa Rica. It suits the purpose perfectly. The rooms are basic but clean and the atmosphere around the pool and bar is great. There is an info desk with everything you need to know about what to do and how to get around Costa Rica. Pura vida!

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your comments! Hope to see you again soon!

91%

Coral reef is the place to stay if you are going to Tamarindo! Good location, nice atmosphere, cheap beer just next door, close to the beach - what is not to love? Jeef, the owner, is such a cool guy. The staff is so nice and helpful. Was only going to stay there for a couple of days, but ended up staying there for 11 days.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

solid choice. I stayed twice and would stay there again. very social. a bit of a long walk to a lot of the bus stops but near the city centre

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your comments Lucy! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you soon again!

66%

Clean toilets and kitchen!!! Only 2/5 computers worked & internet was really slow! Dorm 6 is way too close to pool area at night - really noisy!

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Caroline! Thank you for taking time to give us some feedback. We were definitely having problems with the Internet. We changed the Company 2 weeks ago and now is really fast! We have quite dorms too, you just have to ask for those at the front desk because we also have areas like bar that can be a little noisy but the bar closes at 11 p.m. so after that time there is no noise in the hostel. Thank you and we hope you enjoyed your time in Costa Rica!

69%

The best thing about the hostel ist the garden with its hammocks and the pool. The Rooms are simple not very dirty not very clean. The Bathrooms are ok. The kitchen is a bit dirty. Even though the cleaning staff is always around. The worst is the train that began to drive about 4 am and you have the feeling that it drives and honks through your bedroom. Its soo loud.


77%

Big hostel, but not very clean: that was actually the worst hostel we did in central America... The dorms in the basement are dark and smelly, the pool is a joke, but the staff was really helpful!


100%

Super friendly, knowledgable, and chill staff. Clean pool, great happy hour drinks.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Located within 10 minutes walk to city centre. Shared bathroom & toilets were cleaned regularly throughout the day and private room was clean and of a good size. Although a train passes very close by it did not interrupt sleeping.


100%

Very clean and comfortable Backpackers hostel, Steve at the reception desk he's super helpfull, nice outdoor kitchen and bar, the best part is that big garden with hammocks and loungers perfect for a tan and chat with fellow travellers ;)) I'll be back !!!

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Common areas are outstanding. The staff did their jobs well.


80%

Stopped here for a night after landing in San Jose. Cheap, safe, nice staff. There is a train or just an a-hole with a super loud horn that blasts constantly, but what do you expect from downtown SJ!?


83%

Had a great stay and a good niht out, it´s really close to some discos but still quiet at night. Doorm 7 ist beautiful and really big so 10 out of 1o :)


83%

We our first night at the Costa Rica Backpackers Hostel. My husband and I booked a private double room. The room was as basic as you can get. The setting was comfortable with a pool and nice landscaping. Good location if you want to check out San Jose. The best part about this Hostel was Justin. He helped up plan our whole 16 day trip in Costa Rica. The beaches & towns he sent us to were just what we were looking for. He recommended some wonderful places to stay also. Huge thanks to Justin!

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Bed bugs. Earlier in the month when I came at the airport the shuttle dude made me take a taxi that cost $30.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We brought someone that specializes in plagues to check what was wrong with the room we were having problems with.Turns out that the things in the room were not bed bugs but "chinchas".These things are originally from the mountains but they stick into people´s clothing or bags.Someone brought those here. We already fumigate and we can assure you that those annoying bugs are no longer in our property.We are very sorry for all the trouble this might have caused you.We offer shuttles for $24

86%

Great stop over hostel. Great place in city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! We hope to see you again! Pura vida!

100%

I loved my time at Costa Rica Backpackers! I met a bunch of really awesome people, ate some super tasty food, and slept great every night.The room was only $12/night and the location is great. Its not located in the heart of downtown San Jose, so its feels a little more relaxed and safer at night. Lots of hammocks/loungers around the pool so you can chill out and take a nap during the day. I also thought the staff was great! They are friendly & will do whatever they can to help fix any problems.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for your comments. Hope to see you again! Pura vida!

69%

This is a nice place to relax for a day or two. I did have problems with bed bugs. When I reported the bed bugs I was given new linen and moved to a new dorm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We brought someone that specializes in plagues to check what was wrong with the single room we were having problems with. Turns out that the things in the room were not bed bugs but "chinchas". These things are originally from the mountains but they stick into people´s clothing or bags. Someone brought those here. We already fumigate and we can assure you that those annoying bugs are no longer in our property. We are very sorry for all the trouble this might have caused you. Pura vida!

66%

The main reason to stay at this hostel is for the beautiful pool/yard/common area. As others mentioned, there are some serious noise issues with staying here - namely the obnoxious train, which literally passes by every 10 minute and honks its horn. Now, obviously this is no fault of the hostel, but it is extremely annoying at night. I don't think the train stopped running until around 10pm and it started again around 5am, which is how I woke up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello ! The train passes by at 5 a.m., 12 noon, 5 p.m. 8 p.m. and 10 p.m. For next month the Government will start putting lights and everything else (as it should be) so they won't honk its horn again. We have been complaining about it and they finally listened! Thank you for the feedback, it´s really important for us!

(234 results)


View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback