Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Costa Rica Guesthouse

  • Avenida 6 Calle 21, de la esquina noreste de la corte suprema,100 metr, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 9.2
Costa Rica Guesthouse Located at Avenida 6 Calle 21, de la esquina noreste de la corte suprema,100 metr, San Jose.
Costa Rica Guesthouse
Costa Rica
San Jose San Jose 12900 Avenida 6 Calle 21, de la esquina noreste de la corte suprema,100 metr
89% 148
9.9307865 -84.0683484
Costa Rica Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th May 2016
8.3

Due to all the positives I did not mind staying at the Costa Rica guesthouse, however it is very noisy. Any sound within the building seems to echo. I had a room close to the communal area so was woken early by staff and residents. It's also by the train tracks and the engines honk very loudly and repeatedly at all hours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th May 2016
7.7

Hostel was super clean and quiet and breakfast was very good. However, no kitchen facilities and no lockers for extra security in room but we had a private so may be different in dorms. Its in the business district so lots of options for restaurants at lunch but not so much for dinner - super quiet and safe though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kevinjefferson7967
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd May 2016
8.9

Pretty decent hostel. Extremely friendly staff. The common area is a really nice spot to chill and socialize with other guests. Breakfast is pretty good. Only drawback is the location, take caution when walking in that part of town after dark as the streets are not well lit. Also it is really close to the trolley/train track, depending on the room you´re in you´ll hear it every morning blowing its horn at 0-dark thirty hours. Didn´t need an alarm clock with the train.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
8.3

Nixe and clean Place , very good Breakdance only a Little cit

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2016
8.9

This was a pretty nice place. Some of the staff were quite helpful, some were not. Breakfast was good, and the common rooms were quite nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Apr 2016
9.1

Very good value for money, delicious and varied breakfast, large and comfortable bed, friendly staff. I especially enjoyed the seating areas in the reception and TV room and the free tea and coffee available

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
9.4

Cleanest experience in a hostel in San Jose. I paid a bit more, but this is because the rooms are private. The facilities were very well kept. Breakfast included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • soledadrm
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
27th Feb 2016
8.6

Beautiful place, staff, spacious room, delightful shower, everything well until...we found TWO HUGE COCHROACHES inside the closet. There might have been more but we didn't wanna check anymore and went to bed with our minds terrified.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2016
8.6

Only so-so thing I can add, and maybe because I live in the US, but the water temperatures for a 'hot' shower are near non-existent!!! Pretty darn luke warm at best so be prepared.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • drinkvinyl
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2016
8.9

I booked a private room with shared bathroom. They were all out and upgraded us to a private bathroom as well for no extra charge. They have breakfast that's no charge which was a huge bonus! They have an airport shuttle which was convenient and a really good Chinese restaurant that's walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.