X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Costa Rica Love Hostel 2 Reviews

sobre ruta 5,tibas neon nieto, 1km norte hasta el poli y 100 metros mas al este, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
62 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 63%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

All in all our experience is about what I expected for the price. This is a budget hostel, not a luxury hotel. If we need to stay for an extended time in the San Jose area again, we might return and book one of the larger rooms.


49%

odd place, very cheap, secure areas, fare outside, but bus connection to the city, thats whats expected, what ruins it is the hostel owner who just tries to sell his self-made overprized tours and so much other stuff that is useless, not welcoming at all, breakfast is poor ( two mini pancakes), better stay somewhere else

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello sr you are right we are the cheapest hostel in costa rica you paid only $6 !! so how can you ask for a buffet breakfast??? do you want free transportation or free tours too?? any tour in costa rica is $100 ...am a tour guide , here we help people that really want to see the contry, if yu are just passs in on in the contry is your style of tourism but if you read in our facebok or the reviwes, pople love our cheap activities, other thing... i give to every one the information of activitie

60%

Average cheap hostel, in suberb of San Jose. Location is relaticely safe, but not much around. There are buses every few minutes to San Jose and neighbouring towns. For $6 its Ok place. Its kind of hard to find, directions are not the best, its only really house.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the comment things around to do, restaurant,bars,rivers,forest,shops,fast food,tipical food,rack and sport areas so what ealse you need?

74%

The place is small and the owners are really nice, but the kitchen needs to be cleaned. Real cheap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the review! and remamber we clean the communal kitchen every morning and night with housekeeping time thats why we tell the ruls to the people if youi use it, you wash it and keep cleaned the area you used any way if we see something to clean we do it too

91%

Absolutely loved the home like environment. Staff was extremely nice and accommodating. The home cooked meals are delicious.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello !! Thank you so much for the presents we really appreciate and the letter!! we are happy people enjoy our please and our food...better than any typical restaurant right ? ;)

100%

Manfred was great! Definitely enjoyed my stay.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you so much my friend !! was a nice time with all you !!! nice tour too

69%

It was $6 a night. You get what you pay for. The staff was friendly and helped me get around. The hostel is in heredia which is about 15 min drive from san jose. The dorm room i shared was like any other dorm room. Was a good place for the price, but the kitchen was a place to be avoided, not the cleanest.

Owner Comment (Hide)
security? we are located in the best place of the metropolitan area, there is not a safe place than here. location? just 10- 15 min form the shopping area, and Heredia is located 10-15 min after us. cleanliness? every day at 11am with the check out, the communal kitchen we try to keep it clean after you used it but we have the rule: what you used, you clean ... and not all have the habit. also was nice too see you again here in your departure too ;) was a pleasure to help you

80%

This place was great for us. We flew into San Jose around 7pm and had the hostel shuttle pick us up. The room was very simple with just a mattress on the floor and a desk in the corner. We were only at this hostel for 9 hours because we took the first public bus to Monteverde the next morning. The start of our trip went so smoothly because of this hostel. I recommend them if you are just needing a place to crash in between your flight and first bus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment! we have basic rooms with a base for the mattres...2 peaces a not one jut at the floor. as you said we are one of the best options also, you miss our tour services..the secret river of the hostels and many other thing people can do here with us...totally nature or the bars around ;)

66%

i was really satisfied with this hostel! Most of all, it was really cheap, and the staff were kind. i paid 30$ including 1 night in a private room, air port pick up (shared), and terminal drop off! The room was simple, but had a spacious bed, and a nice tv !! They even have free breakfast~! Unless you have a plan to visit downtown in San Jose, you will like it : )


89%

The hosts were awesome! Especially meylinge was super friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The hostel has a nice, quiet, relaxed feel, not a party hostel. Having the driver from place to place was useful. Its far out of san Jose but for that the area feels much safer. Breakfast is quite scarce but there is a fantastic soda and little supermarket so pick up whatever it is you need. I recommend this place a lot. And most importantly, its clean! No bedbugs was a huge relief :) very happy with my stay.

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for the review the hostel is just 10 - 15 min form the shoping area...in a very safe and clean area just 300 colones less than $1 for the bus. the breakfast for the $6 charge for the bed with complementary breakfast is 2 panckecks per person + free coffe +free tee or tipical breakfast for $4 rice +beans+chees+plantain+coffe+tee cleand and safe...and cheap thanks for all julia



View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback