X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Couple O' Days Backpackers Reviews

18 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Surfers Paradise, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
278 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Very basic hostel - 'swimming pool' more of a paddling pool and never saw it cleaned. Hostel did not put on any events to help socialise. Fairly quiet except the neighbours who were very loud. The staff were great,friendly and helpful. Excellent location - 10mins from centre of surfers.


66%

It's an ok stay. No lockers. Atmosphere was a little dead while we were there. Wifi only works in the common area. Clean kitchen and bathroom, and Belinda is lovely. Great location.


74%

Really friendly staff. Basic hostel.


74%

A small hostel with friendly staff and all basic facilities. About 1km from Surfers Paradise beach. Dorm has paid locker facilities but WiFi is free.


80%

Nice, small hostel near to the coach station. Staff were welcoming. The dorm we stayed in was old but characterful, and comfortable. Decent cooking facilities and free internet.


89%

Be careful booking, we booked a private twin and only found out on arrival it was accessed through a dorm, apparently this normally shows up in the app but hadn't, so we ended up paying more for a private double on arrival. The lady behind the desk was very nice about it though and friendly our whole stay. The rooms are basic, with a saggy bed and a fan provided in the room, the bathroom is old but clean. However this hostel is great value compared to other hostels in the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We have passed this on to Hostelworld for them to look at.

80%

Nice clean hostel set away from th main strip. Only one hob for whole hostel.


57%

Stay was alright. Was in an all girl 8 bed dorm and it was nice to have a bathroom in the room. Beds were really comfy and having a working fan was nice. Location is really great, short walk to the main street. Wouldn't want to spend much time just hanging in the hostel though, grounds felt pretty run down. Wouldn't swim in the pool. Overall it was a fine stay for a few nights but wouldn't bank on it for a long stay.


77%

This hostel was nice but nothing special about it. The double room was not couple friendly since it was two single beds and not possible to put them together. You also had to go through the dorm to enter the room and only one bath room for all these people. But otherwise staff was cool and overall pretty clean. Kitchen was okay too. Swimming pool available if you get bored of the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. I checked and you booked a twin only room which does have two single beds and you have to walk through the 12 bed dormitory to get to it. This is in the room description. There is a bathroom in the dormitory and another two bathrooms that you have access to. The double/twin rooms have a bunk bed with a double on the bottom and a single bed on top for a maximum of two people in the room ie. this can be used as a double or a twin share. Enjoy your travels.

86%

A good stay here, situated close to the beach and shops just a 5-10 minute walk. Lovely lady on reception and in charge of the hostel. Good spacious rooms. If you're looking for a party hostel this isn't the one, but somewhere chilled then I highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. Enjoy the rest of your stay here.

89%

As a travelling couple it was perfect: a nice chilled hostel with the cheapest private double room I've seen! The staff were really informative and friendly and the location was perfect. Only complaint is the kitchen is quite small but still manageable as long as everyone isn't cooking at the same time!


91%

Awesome hostel. Belinda behind reception really looked after us, what a nice lady.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. It was nice to meet you both.

74%

Quiet, small hostel in party Surfers. The owner/workers are really and helpful. Sadly, someone tried to break in while I was there which didn't instill a huge feeling of safety for me. But I can't really blame the hostel -- these things do happen. A lot of folks here are long term workers, so keep that in mind if staying. Overall nice facilities and places to hang out outside and BBQ. But you have to be quite by 10pm because of neighbors. Only major bummer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. Just to clarify your comments about someone 'trying to break in'. Nobody broke into anything. A person was seen by our staff and immediately told to leave the property as they were not a registered guest. Our staff are very vigilant with this and nobody is allowed into rooms unless they are checked in.

100%

The hostel is so quiet and quaint, the lady on reception was so so lovely and have us information about the area and things to do, the hostel had a little pool and an area where you could sit outside and enjoy the sun! The room was basic but for the price we paid, it was perfect!! Everywhere was spotless and it's a 10 minute walk to the beach! 10/10 for value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you ladies! That's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

86%

Really enjoyed our stay, staff were very friendly and helpful, hostel was clean and well equipped. Only a short walk from the beach etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback.

83%

5 minute walk from the bus station, then 10 minute walk to the main area! Very friendly staff and very helpful. Room was fine, a lot of space and very clean. Bathroom was always clean as was the kitchen. Quite a small hostel, so if looking for party's it's not the place. But very pleasant stay, would recommend it.


74%

Cameral, small hostel with nice atmosphere but with creaking beds, which was very annoying...

  • 13th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a lovely hostel. I initially booked for only one week, but ended up staying for a whole month while I was working in the Gold Coast. This hostel is cosy, and quiet, and feels like home. It's perfect for people who are looking to get a good nights sleep, whether you are working or want to get up early to go sightseeing. I stayed in the 8 bed female dorm, which is almost more like two 4 bed dorms, with a lovely kitchen are. It is cleaned on a daily basis. The staff are exceptionally helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We loved having you to stay and look forward to seeing you when you are back up this way. Good luck with your job:-)

94%

The Couple O'Days is a great hostel to stay! The price is absolutely legitimate for what you get. The hostel is cleaner than you'd expect from a hostel, the staff is very friendly and helpful and generally a calm and cosy atmosphere is present.

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

It was great to stay there

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Surfers Paradise Hostels

Please give us your feedback