Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 3298 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 3298 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Aug 2017
8.0

Well-located hostel on Cowgate street, staff very friendly. Maybe a little noisy at times just across the road from The Three Sisters pub, but I had earplugs so slept right through it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Aug 2017
8.6

Great hostel! Stayed hear during the fringe festival and it was a great location close to pubs and bars. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2017
9.1

The bathrooms and showers are set up well. Very secure. Good location in Old Town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
4.3

Only good thing about the hostel is the location which in my guess is why they have any guests. Rooms and facilities awful and unclean, springs were coming through the mattress though. Do not stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2017
4.3

Not sure how this hostel got high ratings on Hostel world... Location was about the only upside. Bunk beds rattled and squeaked every time someone moved, windows were old and didn't block out any of the nightclub noise coming from across the road. One shower between 15-20 people wasn't ideal either. Building old and run down, entrance to the flat part smelt of stale urine. Think it's safe to say my days of roughing it in a hostel are done.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
6.3

Staff weren't welcoming or informative at all, very blunt. Room was in a seperate apartment down the street and no common areas/lounges (that we were told about) so it didn't really feel like a hostel to me. The room was clean though but very simple. The location was good and central to Edinburgh, although it was very rowdy and noisy outside which we could hear in our room most of the night. If you are looking for the nightlife type scene, it would be in a great location though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
9.4

cheep and cheerful great time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
10.0

We stayed here during Fringe Festival and it was very well located

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • saralyn624
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Aug 2017
9.4

Great hostel and very central to everything! I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2017
9.7

There was no where to keep your luggage but it's a great location and everything else was good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.