Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 3223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 3223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jun 2017
3.1

I had really bad experience in that hostel. The only positive things were the location and one guy of the stuff, but just one, cause the other girl with a Spanish accent and another guy with an accent from East Europe were really rude with me and my friends and also with her nice colleague. They also couldn't find my ID card and they answered of my emergency calling just after 10 times that I was trying. So, I am sorry, but I don't recommend this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
6.0

Fine hostel overall for low-budget travelers. The room we stayed in, however, was quite musty and smelled damp. Allergies went haywire staying there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
7.1

Positives- location, vibe is OK. Negative- no lockers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
4.0

Super basic. Based opposite one of Edinburghs most popular outdoor bars. Little to no hostel atmosphere - communal space. Showers are plentiful, modern and clean. Stayed in 6 bed dorm. Cramped.No cages, lockers to secure belongings. Beds are creepy, and noisy. Linen is old,damp and moody. In my opinion, this is a place to crash for a couple hours, for those on a stag/hen.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
6.3

Would not recommend. We found our stay comfortable but the room was not clean (rubbish in the bin and no towels) in a private room. There was no atmosphere and the wifi didn't reach our room. Staff weren't overly helpful either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th May 2017
6.0

Booked a twin room and stayed in a small room with one bunk bed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
7.7

Booked 4 bed dorm. Good size. Clean bathroom and kitchen. Really good location. Accept at night street outside is pretty loud. Bars and drunk people. Also no hostel atmosphere. More like a hotel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
6.0

Works well, but nothing nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd May 2017
7.7

It was really close to everything and the staff were super accomidating with my late check in. There were a number of older males who were maybe long term residents.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2017
7.7

The best thing about Cowgate is its location - everything is mere minutes away! Kitchen was good with all the necessary utensils. I stayed in a 6-bed dorm room which was good sized and had all the necessities for a short stay. However, there were 4 rooms with 6+ beds in our block and only one shower for all. There was no place to lock your belongings during your stay. The staff was helpful and kind. Good choice if location and money saving are your priorities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.