Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 3184 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 3184 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Apr 2017
7.4

Good enough! The area is great, the bar across the street is pumping until all hours, the staff were nice and the price was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
8.0

Cowgate is in a very busy downtown location. We had no complaints what so ever.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you very much for your kind review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

  • rredshaw
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
5.7

Several different doors with different locks made me feel safer. However nobody was very friendly in particular, common spaces were mediocre. Quiet places, not dirty but i wouldnt say clean either. Location was incrediblu convenient, very close to Tesco and tourist attractions.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are really fortunate in having such a great location but limited with common areas due to the layout of the building. Feedback will be passed onto the staff and hope that you still enjoyed your time in Edinburgh. Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
3.7

Very dirty and unsafe. Would not recommend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your review, rooms are cleaned every single morning and with the setup of the hostel we have always received good feedback from our guests regarding safety so apologies that you have felt this way. Feedback will be taken on board so thanks again. Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.1

The facilities were nice and clean, kitchen and bathroom on the same level, which i really liked. Staff was super friendly, especially Matĕj was awesome & super funny! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you very much for your kind review, great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and feedback has been passed onto the staff. Hope to welcome you again in the near future! Kind regards, Dylan Weldon Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
6.6

It was far too dirty, but except for that our stay was very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
4.6

Stayed here with a tour and it was fine bedsides having 1 shower pwr floor. Had to extend my stay one night after the tour finished as I couldn't get flights to my next destination. Had to check out at 11am and then had to wait until 5pm to check in again when check in was 2pm!!! The cleaners were very slow and there was a hue line of people waiting to check in when I was waiting for 6 hours! Wasn't happy as I could have stayed in my original room for one more night! Poor organization

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
9.1

My friends and I stayed at the Cowgate tourists hostel for a couple of days after New Year. The hostel is right in the city centre, you can reach everything in a 15 minutes walk. No need to take any public transports, which makes the stay even more convenient. The room as the duvets free provided were really warm, so don't worry of freezing at night. Both room and toilets/showers were really clean, taking into consideration the accomodation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.0

Best location to be in Edinburgh. Weird toilet facilities but every dorm has its own kitchen which is awesome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.1

This was a very convenient location because it was easy to walk to the castle, Grassmarket, and to the tours we went on. We also were able to walk from the hostel to Arthur's Seat. It was a great stay, and the only improvement I would make would be to have access to more showers. Our floor shared a single shower so sometimes we had to wait until others finished.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.