Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 3,141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 3,141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.5
Cowgate Tourist Hostel Located at 96 Cowgate, , Edinburgh.
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JN 96 Cowgate
73% 3141
55.9485029 -3.1907129
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • willowlimbach
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.3

Bare minimum hostel but not bad. Security was a bit lacking as there were no lockers and a drunk man who was not a guest somehow had key to my room (10 bed dorm). He came in and fell asleep on the floor during the night but when I told the staff the next morning they seemed very concerned and went to check it out (he was still passed out on the floor so I'm sure they sorted it out). Kitchen was decent but there was no salt or oil or free shelf or anything like that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
9.1

Great location, clean room and beds, friendly staff and lively atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
8.3

We moved from a more expensive hostel to here, and it was much better value - great kitchen facilities, good shower, good security, friendly and helpful staff - can't remember his name, but the guy with dreadlocks and the girl he was working with looked after us and were really friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Oct 2016
5.1

This hostel was ok, it was a bit souless, there were no lockers in the rooms, but I am glad they had recycling!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
9.1

Nice clean hostel, friendly staff centrally located, our only negative was the group in the next room being so loud early on a Sunday morning and lack of tea...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Oct 2016
3.7

Was the worst place where I ever slept...No security at all there isn't lockers...The door as password that can be share by everyone...The room was dirty day after day..Ok, it is cheaper than other hostels in Edinburgh but for a little bit more per night you can have other kind of experience..The staff was nice especially the Canadian Girl..£20 quid as deposit for the keys is ridiculous should be operating by car as the majority of the hostels nowadays..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Sep 2016
9.1

Really great hostel, you're basically staying in a room in an appartment with it's own kitchen (fully equiped), it's in the city centre... housekeeping staff is really great - room and bathrooms and kitchen were perfectly cleaned every day. The only thing which was bit annoying are sqeeking beds - especially when you're on the top bunk, but honestly, that's just one small bit, oltherwise it was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
8.9

Keep it real -.- \m/

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Sep 2016
7.1

Basic but fairly priced. Great location for walking around the city! Very noisy at night as theres pubs across the road that are open until early hours of the morning & theres only single glazed windows, but a set of ear plugs & your fine! Standard Hostel Bunk beds & cleanish bathrooms. Separated areas gave it little atmosphere. We had a car & the closet parking building was 20pounds per night so we parked at St James Mall Parking building & it was on 17ponuds for 2nights. (10-15min walk).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Sep 2016
10.0

accomodation was well classed, everything was clean, looked nice, location is practically next to the Royal Mile, silence during night is fine as well as comfortable beds

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.