Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 3,049 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 3,049 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
Cowgate Tourist Hostel Located at 96 Cowgate, , Edinburgh.
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JN 96 Cowgate
77% 3049
55.9485029 -3.1907129
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jul 2016
7.4

Great hostel, if you are going out until the early hours. Opposite The Three Sisters pub which doesn't close til at least 1.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
6.3

Very basic hostel, clean but not really comfy. My bed frame was pretty sagged and at least on weekends the neighborhood can be noisy throughout the night. We didn't pay much, so it was ok for the price and the staff was very friendly. If you plan to stay longer I would recommend to look for a more comfy hostel though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
2.0

I strongly suggest you read my 2 emails that I sent to customer services yesterday about the stay that NEVER happened at your hostel as I had to remove my group of 49 Primary and Secondary students and rehouse them in different accommodation! I am going to the police in Shropshire to report an incident that happened in your hostel regarding an adult and one of my 14 yr girls! I intend to sue and get you closed down today. I suggest you read my emails and call me on 07949162289.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.9

A good hostel in the center of Edinburgh and i would certainly recommend for the location facilities and price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
2.3

Very dirty and smelly! Would not go back near it in a million years even though it is cheap! Not worth it!!! It's mouldy and is not clean at all. Steer well clear from it!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

Cowgate hostel was excellent I was in a group of 5 for the royal highland show for 5 nights our stay could not be faulted will recommend to anyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
6.0

Good location. Kind of dingy inside though. Not enough bathrooms for the amount of people in one flat. Also no lockers in communal rooms to lock up belongings. Decent for the price though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
4.6

I'm the wrong demographic for this hostel - purchased online for it's proximity to a venue I would be coming away from late that night. However I wouldn't want my 17 yr old staying there. The road it's on looks worryingly deserted for a late night return, & the entrance to the block ( its a row of tenement buildings with individual doors) leads you into the most depressing environment before you've climb the stairs to your 'flat'. I checked out & lost my £ rather than stay. Ch

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
10.0

Stayed there on my stag weekend,the staff were friendly and helpful and the hostle was clean and tidy. Would stay here again. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to give us your kind review as it is very much appreciated. We are happy to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we really hope to see you back at the Cowgate very soon! Best Wishes to you all

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th May 2016
7.4

Wasn't the nicest of rooms but bed was comfy enough. Not enough power points for every person in the room to have something plugged in. Kitchen area was great but had to walk through it from dorm to get to showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. In regards to the rooms not being "nice" - we are currently looking into a refurbishment so hopefully this will be up to a higher standard soon. As for the walking through the kitchen to get to the showers - this is only applicable to some of the dorms, others are situated right next to showers or bathrooms but I am afraid that there is nothing we can do about the inside layout of things like the kitchen and bathrooms - they tend to be un-movable! Thanks again - hopefully we will see you again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.