X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Cowgate Tourist Hostel Reviews

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2280 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great nights stay. Exactly what we wanted. Perfect location for a city pub crawl. Good clean facilities. Only one problem, cups. There was 12 of us staying plus more from other groups and only 4 mugs for the morning coffee. Very important if you've been on a night out. Great place thanks.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

They need to install lockers for people's luggage, too risky just leaving it in the room if you don't know the people you're staying with.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good place , but it was REALLY loud at night. There was a big pub across the street. The windows seems to let in far more noise than cool air.


66%

The hostel is situated very near to everything, which is great. It is nice and colourful and there is quite a lot of space. There were no lockers so the security is quite poor. The kitchen is nice and spacious and there is a good amount of dishes. In our kitchen there was a nice leather sofa, not for sitting, as it was broken. The beds were sqeaky and felt very unstable; the whole bed was shaking, if the one sleeping in upper bed moved his feet. Showers smelled a bit like mold.


74%

I was just for one night, and i can not sleep at all, because of the bar which is next and open untill 3. am. it was very noisy.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very clean apartments with nice shower and toilets, and also kitchen/living area!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place! Flats with 6 beds and separate kitchen, lounge to hang out and meet people and close to all attractions. I would stay here again.


89%

Thank you for everything. I am very satisfied for all of service you did for me.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure to have you :)

74%

Super friendly staff and great location. A bit of a shortage of bathroom facilities on each floor considering the number of people, but otherwise no problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes we are super friendly, thank you for noticing :) You have 2 showers in your apartment and at the weekend when we are full you will share with upto 20 people. The ratio is pretty normal for hostels in Edinburgh and not everyone will shower at once. When the apartments are not full this is a bonus for you, more shower time :)

86%

I'd recommend the place. The hostel is in a really convenient location and the flats and rooms are quite private (at least comparing to the other hostel I once stayed in). The bar outside the window may be a problem for light sleepers, but it didn't bother us at all - we were too tired and happy to care about the noise. Besides, it was easy to kill it by closing the window. The staff was super-nice and helpful, even though they weren't much familiar with the attractions outside the city:P

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the staff super friendly :) :)

74%

Staff really friendly. Good location. They need to improve cleanliness. General speaking good value for money

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for commenting on the Hostel :) The cleaners do take pride in the job and cleana every flat every day! However, this is a hostel so people will use the facilities of kitchen and showers during the day so at some point it will not be perfect. However the next day, they come and clean it all again :) We also do morning checks and clear any mess we can before the cleaners arrive to make you sparkle!

94%

There aren't any personal lockers so if you want to lock your stuff up you have to use this weird communal lock up that reception has a key for. None of my stuff got stolen but it's not the piece of mind you want when you leave

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments on the luggage area. After check out you are not obliged to leave your bags in reception however if you are happy to use the lock system we have we are happy to keep them for you. You would need to have a lock on your bag as this is much better security and any small bags that do not lock can be left behind the reception desk.

83%

Awesome location and very easy to find. Overall great hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your awesome! :)

71%

We stayed 4 nights in the hostel, in a 4-bed room. Everything was good but, we think that it would improve a little bit, if in the room it were some lockers, or little wardroves, hangers, chairs... a little bit of stuff to make the stay better. About the showers, in a couple of times it happened that it was just one working, so it was quite slow to have a shower in the appartment. The staff was great, and we have no problems at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. W e also hope to have these luittle extras in the future. The showers do work. There is a red switch outside which must be turned on for the electric. Im glad you had a good time here :)

80%

The location was fantastic! Didnt really use the kitchen, but it looks decent. The only inconvenience is that there were only two sockets in the dorm that I was assigned to. I was not able to charge my phone unless I used the one at the corridor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do have sockets in rooms, hallways and kitchens. Im sorry if you found the one in your room to be busy and if you check behind beds you normally will find some more :)

66%

Stayed here monday-tuesday after a late arrival to the airport and to continue to Glasgow the next day. Very loud location. Not because of partying people, but because the road is actually quite busy, as hotels and bars along the road get deliveries and decide to recycle empty bottles at crazy hours. In addition road works started in the morning right in front our window. Never slept so little in a hotel.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry you expereinced this noise during your stay! It is not nice that the council did this at an early hour!!! I must state that this is not the case everyday and the road works are no longer in front of the hostel. It is a busy street in general but a fine location for the old town. I hope if you stay again you will not have this problem and we can always try and book you a room at the back of the hostel.

91%

We stayed one night. The girl at reception helped a lot about what to visit around Edinburgh. The hostel was really clean, had a great atmosphere and the location is pretty good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review :)

89%

Excellent location, just on the reverse side of the block from the main street. The bathrooms were not the cleanest, but tolerable, and it got a bit noisy, otherwise it was a good place to stay considering the price.


49%

The toilet was dirty and because there was public viewing on the opposite of the hostel room we could not open the window at night, so we smelled our room partners very strong...

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The toilet became blocked and was unblocked for you straight away. There was no reason for you not to open the window. The window pushes open and there are curtains to block any views you didn't want.

71%

May seem like a small point, but it would definitely be worth asking people when they make a reservation at the hostel whether they snore or not. Although the hostel was lovely and the bed was comfortable, I did not appreciate being frequently woken up by a number of snorers, it then taking a while to get back to sleep. If possible it is certainly a wise idea to separate the snorers and non-snorers to make it easier to sleep!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you found the hostel lovely. We are however not able to ask people if they snore and allocate rooms this way. This is not something any hostel is allowed to do. We do sell ear plugs for £1 in reception if they are ever needed.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(85 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback