X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cowgate Tourist Hostel Reviews

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2820 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Way too much noise for these prices at this time of year! Parties in the kitchen at night with loud music the other side of the road and people screaming and shouting outside our window until 5am every night. Not important if your out drunking all night but not good if like us you wanted to go on tours early in the morning. The front rooms shouldnt be available in august or atleast offer quieter rooms to those who arent there to party all night every night i definetely wont be back.


83%

I've had a really great time in Edinburgh, that hostel is really well located, the staff was really kind and all building was really clean, I missed locker and I think it could have more toilets.


66%

It would have helped if the room has been a little more welcoming (e.g., nicer lighting, some decoration, a table and extra chair), the high ceiling did not help.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

Dirty, smelly, no facilities, noisy, shower not working, no breakfast. A horrible place. Avoid at all costs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sad to get such a bad review after all our staff was so patient and kind with you and tried to help with all your questions and demands as much as possible every day of your stay. Our hostel is cheap and basic, so breakfast is not included. We keep the hostel clean. You haven't reported any broken shower to us so we would fix it ASAP. We have fully equipped kitchens and free wi-fi. We are situated on one of the busiest Old Town streets, so in the rooms facing the street can be noisy.

69%

Need to have a system for marking food especially in the fridge & a system for disposing of out of date food. Also, the dorm needs to have hooks for putting clothes on. Especially when it's wet outside & your clothes are damp.


91%

Colgate Tourist Hostel is an a great location with good facilities. The self-catering is very handy and the flats are a really good arrangement. Everything was well maintained and clean and the stay was effortless and comfortable. I wasn't a fan of the orange walls which made the kitchen feel very dark, but that's hardly a cause for concern. Overall I was very pleased with my time there.


37%

Attention, please. This hostel could make you pay up to 7% extra charge without your notice! Firstly, they charge 1 pound credit card fee without any notice in advance for 26 pounds per night, which makes 3.85% extra cost. Secondly, they will use by default a DCC/CPC (Dynamic Currency Conversion/Cardholder Preferred Currency) function which allows you to pay in your own currency plus 3.5% mark-up on the market exchange rate without asking for your permission. Together you will pay 7.35% more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We advise everyone about the £1.00 transaction fee and you have a choice to pay cash. The Evalon machine will give you a choice of pounds or your own local currency......there is no mark up for this it is just an exchange rate that you get any time you withdraw or pay money abroad. If you want in either currency you can tell them when they take the payment what you would rather pay.

66%

In an extremely noisy street, obviously can't be helped! Felt quite dirty in places and didn't enjoy the little visitor of a mouse popping out to me in the kitchen at night! Also wasn't impressed to be moved rooms after only one night l, interrupting my plans as I had to check out and then wait until 2pm to check back in!


74%

Private twin room was very basic; literally only beds and a chair. Overall reasonably clean and comfortable however bedding and towels could use freshening up. For somewhere that is centrally located with easy access to city centre but isn't ridiculously expensive, this is a good option.


69%

Good bed. Not very clean.


83%

Nice place, great location!


60%

Ive stayed in many hostels around the world. None of which I have felt strong enough to write a bad review for. Pros: Location amazing. Beds ok. Cons: NO LOCKERS!? NO FREAKING LOCKERS!? ONE KEY BETWEEN 4!? ONE BATHROOM BETWEEN 18!? NO TOWELS HIRE (For Europe this is pretty bad.) I guess the frustrating thing is that this could be a really good hostel. Its generally poor and you don't get a lot for your money. The rooms are worn as well as lacking basic features. Never again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are right we do not have lockers and we are sorry about this, however we do not state on hostel world that we do have lockers. You can get as many keys as you want and we do have towel hire for £1.00 which is stated on your check-in card and a sign in reception. The apartment sleeps 14. I appreciate all comments but if you please read the website and get all the information correct before you leave your review as it is only fair to us and unfair to post incorrect information.

63%

We arrived for our 2-night-stay and were told we had booked two separate rooms. We had to checkout at 10am and then wait until 2pm to check in again. Nowhere in my booking did we get information about that. Sure, mistakes in the bookings happen but when we spoke to the manager there was no sign of apology. No, it was our fault that we had not called the hostel before to make sure we didn't have to change rooms?! Also, this child-friendly hostels food serving area did not allow kids under 5years.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The place was really clean, the staff was friendly and helpfull, the location is amazing just right in city center.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you guys! :) great review :)

71%

It's central but noisy at night. Didn't see much of the staff and the way the hostel is built the rooms are like seperate appartments. However if travelling as a group I imagine it would be perfect.


83%

It is more like a student accommodation, very spacious, especially the kitchen. A very good place to stay for a longer time as it is very convenient. The staff is very helpful. The only thing that I would complain is the noise since our room is just across a Fringe venue where people party till very late when we have to catch an early train on the second day.


66%

dorm room was stark and lifeless and no lockers in the room ...Reception area and adjoining room where you could have free tea and coffee was nice,that was also the area you could put your bags for security and safety all held together with a long wire going through every bag...not the most ideal solution,that doesn't stop anyone rifling through your bags if they wanted to but on the whole it was more than an adequate hostel. Kitchen was fully fitted but again stark and clinical...


77%

excellent location some coffee and cereals as breakfast - better than the average hostel


66%

The staff were really polite and the location was very good for the Edinburgh Fringe as it is based where a lot of the venues are. Also the security there is really good as they have a place to lock up your bags Although we booked for five days in one room, they changed it to change rooms every day. We luckily managed to keep one room for four days but this took a lot of effort. Also the plugs in the rooms were faulty and the showers were temperamental. So it was ok but could of been better.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Although the location of this hostel was perfect for what we needed it was severely lacking in facilities. We stayed in apartment 104 flat 1 room 3 and there were 8 people in our room as well as 6 other dormitory style rooms. There were approximately 30 other people staying at the same time as us, however there are only 2 toilets and 2 showers. Only one toilet room had a mirror and there were no mirrors in any of the bedrooms. One of the showers only ran cold water. Would not recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
There were 20 people in your apartment not 30. Did you have a problem with using the showers? Ratio for hostels this is not bad and you do have the added bonus of a nice apartment with a great kitchen for just 20 people rather than sharing 1 kitchen for an entire hostel which is normal in other places. We have 10 kitchens. Of course more showers would be great but we can look at the positives of private apartments and great kitchens. We do need more mirrors and hope to get them soon.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(88 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback