Hostelworld.com

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 3,021 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 3,021 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3
Cowgate Tourist Hostel Located at 96 Cowgate, , Edinburgh.
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JN 96 Cowgate
76% 3021
55.9485029 -3.1907129
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
7.1

My suggested improvement is that, customers going in groups should be given more keys to open the door. Therefore they will not have to wait for others to help them. Free coffee is alright. Kitchen is unexpectedly good, well equipped. The bed however causes a lot of noise when you move around on it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th May 2016
8.3

Very squeaky beds, otherwise the rooms are nice enough

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
8.3

Great accommodation. Great staff. Great city. Thank you!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
6.0

1st time in a hostel... I did not like how the room smelled.. just smelled musty...the sheet was clean?.. I am sure it was.. the shower room.. well I get its a cheap place to sleep.. but like no water pressure.. it just was not well lit in the bathrooom or toliet. The beds.. super squeaky.. nut a bargain to lay your head down.. be aware. A very loud club or whatever its called is across the street and its LOUD...bring ear plugs.. will I go back.. probably not.. but the price was good....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear you didn't fully enjoy your stay and we will use your feedback along with our other guests to make improvements where necessary. Thank you again for giving us your feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2016
10.0

Very nice place to spend a night or two in Edinburgh Very friendly staff and well located Clean beds, exceeds expectations for price paid

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
9.1

good hostel, very comfortable rooms, set within several apartments, with several shower rooms, toilets and kitchens. One of the best hostels I have stayed in. The only thing I suggest the hostel is to put hooks on the wall in the rooms and bathrooms. Location central Edinburgh. After a Airbnb nightmare I had the day before in Dunfermline, where I had to deal with a psychotic woman , this felt like heaven!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us! We always welcome guest feedback and are thrilled to hear you had a great time staying with us. We hope you come back again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
10.0

I really cannot fault this place excellent value service and location Staff where great showing us to our room and even giving local area advice. I would say give them a call and book.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gisela21
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Mar 2016
5.1

Dissappointed about this place, we were 7 in a room intended for 6 people.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We only ever increase numbers in a dorm for particular circumstances, such as keeping families together in one dorm room. This should not have affected your stay with us in anyway but we appreciate feedback from all our guests and try our best to make it pleasant for everyone who stays with us. Should there have been any issues raised with our staff they would have been more than happy to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

21st Mar 2016
7.7

Great location & really good wifi in the rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us! We appreciate all guests feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
8.6

Great location and good value. I had booked this a couple of months ago and having contacted the hostel I was under the impression that we would all be in the one apartment. Was very disappointed that each of the three rooms booked were in different apartments.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Jonathan, we are glad to hear that you find our hostel good value and you like the location. We have double checked your booking and see that the rooms you booked were not in the same apartment. If you contacted the hostel and they told you otherwise we can only apologise for the error. Our staff are always willing to help and are very friendly, and I'm sure this has been a genuine mistake. We hope it hasn't put you off visiting us again in the future!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.