X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cowgate Tourist Hostel Reviews

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2487 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The hostel has very good location-close to the city, but the standards of cleaning very poor. On the bedsheet lots of hair -looks like wasn't changed and cleaned at all. Dirty floor in the room. Sp we asked the reception to have new bed linen and than she came to do that bot unfortunatelly forgott one pillow case or somethiong. Tooks her ages to come back , I phoned her again but she had another tasks to do ...so left me for another 30 min. Very laud music from outside that you can't sleep .

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I can assure any reviews that the bed sheets are clean and bedding is recently new in the whole hostel. Hair just seems to be impossible to get rid off sometimes but this does not mean the sheets are not fresh back from laundry. If new sheets are requested they are given with no hesitation. The receptionist changed all your beds while trying to run the front desk and missed 1 pillow case.You called her from your room when she had check-ins to deal with and she was with you as soon as possible.

91%

Very nice and friendly staff, great location, nice place in general! Facilities in kitchen available, wifi on place - great.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us :) Hope to see you again one day!

89%

Overall the hostel is really good when u compare it against value for money and location. Though cleanliness can be improved to make it better option.

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is great value for money and different to other hostels with the option of apartment stye living. We do take pride in cleaning the hostel everyday, every apartment, every kitchen, every shower, toilet, floors, hallways!!! However living in communal areas with other guests you will find we can not keep the hostel tidy 24/7 as facilities are being used all day every day.

74%

Spent a night there. Noisiness came from the inside rather than the outside, even though there are two great bars in close proximity — this could have been avoided if the automatic door-closer actually closed the door, rather than keep it half-closed. One bathroom shower did not work, hence there was quite a lineup as this was half of the showers for the floor (~12 people). Shower had lots of humidity mold, leading to a typical smell in the whole floor. Friendly staff.


46%

The Hostel it's in the middle of the night life. There isn't really security to enter at night, only a code, but the door was opened a lot of time for people. I booked a twin privet room for two nights and when we arrived (at 1:00h) the room was ocupated for 4 more people to two beds.. Finally we found a room with 4 free individual beds and we could sleep. In the morning, we spoke with the main staff and she was very worried about that we could find another hostel for that night and we left.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The security of the hotel consists of a door code to enter the building, a flat key and a room key plus CCTV so there is not much more we can do to make it safer than this. There was a large group staying with hostel this day and they were staying in the wrong room. We made arrangements for you at 1am arrival. In the morning I spoke with you and gave you £50 towards a new hotel for the 2nd night which we felt was very helpful to you and covered any confusion with the group.

77%

Good hostel in a good position in the city center. Organized in flat and with fully furnished kitchens. Free luggage deposit also after your leaving. Final evaluation 7.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Almost in the centre of Edinburgh. Hostel has several street entrances beside the reception. And inside is divided into "flats". I stayed on the 1st floor in the 112 entrance. The "flat" had, if I do not mistake, 5 rooms. My one had 6 beds (3 bunks). The "flat" had 2 showers and 2 WC and 1 well equipped kitchen, where every evening met several people to eat and to discuss. I enjoyed my stay there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have some great guests and long term guests staying in the hostel and it was great you made friends and used the kitchen area for social gatherings, because that's what they are for :)

54%

Hi! The hostel was ok, but I have NEVER slept in such a load place. It felt like sleeping on a high-way plus the (expected) background screaming of the drunks... Wouldn't book it again, though the price is great and staff was nice.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry you experienced such a loud night in the hostel. It is on a road and in the heart of the night life so noise is to be expected. It is a shame you felt you had to leave such a low rating for us due the fact your only complaint was noise. This is not something we can control, however we can control a great price and great staff which is what we do! :)

86%

Great for young folk, not so great for families who need sleep. Pub right across the road from our room.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

Mold in the rooms and the facilities, one couldn't open any window which is probably the reason for the mold. It was sticky and humid in the room. After two nights, a girl of our group suffered from allergy.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The apartment you speak of does have some humidity. We are now having all fans fixed and the rooms and bathrooms cleaned up and re-painted. This is something we do two or three times a year so I am sorry this was not done on your stay with us. This is being corrected now.

71%

The location is very good. But It's noisy.. That's becasue there are a lot of pubs next the domitory room. But. Staffs are so kind and very nice

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Not clean. Mold everywhere. Bring your own sheets for sure. Bleach smell permeates every room. Awesome location with great bars near by. Noise not a big issue other than usual sounds from sharing close quarters. Staff was pleasant but seemed over extended and therefore slow to respond.


83%

- The Internet is to slow it took very long time to get connected, that must be corrected to one much faster and . be checked up now and then for virus. - The kitchen have to little with utensils, must be at least 8 plates, soup bowls and glasses, More pans and not to big , 1 litres and 1,5 litres and the frying pan tend to be bad though the guest use a sharp sponge in a tefal pan, a dish brush is better. + The Staff is very helpful and kindly +++++++

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The flats are stocked up with all that is needed. The flats sleep 14-20 people and generally no more than 8-10 people are eating at more than one time. If we have groups in the flats we make sure they are fully stocked. If we over stock we find that items from the kitchen 'go missing' so if any guests feels they need anything extra for there kitchen they can come and get this from Reception. I will make sure the internet is rebooted. For a FREE WIFI service we normally have no problems!

71%

Reception did wait for us despite our late arrival. Appartement with four rooms, two toilets, one shower, kitchen is ok, lots of half empty shampoos, used razors, tooth brushes laying around, perhaps belong to the long time residents.. We hv hd one room at the streetside, à Little noisy.. But you dont come here for the forest sounds... Our other friends occupied rooms on the back Side... It was quiet. rooms are basic, but clean and not. too small , towels were provided. Location is super.


66%

Cowgate Hostel is a good place to stay if you want it central and cheap. We were a rather lare group and split up in several appartments - not all had enough showers and toilets. One room was extremeley mouldy but the staff was very helpful finding a solution.

Owner Comment (Hide)
For groups it is best to make your booking and then call us so can get the best group option for you or call us before you book so we can check if we space to keep you all in one apartment. I am sorry for the trouble you had with one of the rooms but this has now been fixed and your refund was done and I like you say, the staff helped all they could to make it better for you and a solution was found. It was nice to have you stay with us :)

60%

Too Old too loud! Nice staff! Not that clean bedding. Cheap hostel. Good for a sleep.


74%

Strange Hostel which consisted of flats. People were very friendly and there was a nice kitchen where you can cook. However, there was no tv room or other facilities and it was a pain trying to get into the shower in the morning. The location is good for the city. However, there were hundreds or very loud young drinkers outside as its in the middle of a range of big nightclubs. People were screaming and fighting at 3am in the morning. All could be heard in the room. The staff were very friendly.


89%

There are friendly staff but the entrance and stairs need cleaning for the rest excellent.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Cleanliness of toilets and showers could improve. That aside, the hostel has great value as it has a perfect location, is cheap and has helpful staff. Be aware that there's an outdoor's pub just across the street that closes around 2 am, so earplugs are advised.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We definitely clean the hostel every day and have a great cleaning team. If you did cleaning checks with me you would see how clean it is. However....it is a hostel and all facilities are used all day so during the day the guests will make some mess after the cleaners have been. The hostel can not be cleaned 24/7 and this should be taken in to consideration when staying in hostels where facilities are shared with others that may have different standards to others.

71%

Staff was always helpful, but seemed bored and annoyed most of the time. I stayed away from the reception. I was there for two weeks, facilities are very clean but a bit worn down. Furniture in shared kitchen area broken. My room smelled really bad. Amazing location, quiet hostel, very good value for money. You get what you pay for, nothing more.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(135 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback