Hostelworld.com

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 3,000 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 3,000 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
Cowgate Tourist Hostel Located at 96 Cowgate, , Edinburgh.
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JN 96 Cowgate
74% 3000
55.9485029 -3.1907129
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Mar 2016
9.1

good hostel, very comfortable rooms, set within several apartments, with several shower rooms, toilets and kitchens. One of the best hostels I have stayed in. The only thing I suggest the hostel is to put hooks on the wall in the rooms and bathrooms. Location central Edinburgh. After a Airbnb nightmare I had the day before in Dunfermline, where I had to deal with a psychotic woman , this felt like heaven!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us! We always welcome guest feedback and are thrilled to hear you had a great time staying with us. We hope you come back again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
10.0

I really cannot fault this place excellent value service and location Staff where great showing us to our room and even giving local area advice. I would say give them a call and book.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gisela21
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Mar 2016
5.1

Dissappointed about this place, we were 7 in a room intended for 6 people.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We only ever increase numbers in a dorm for particular circumstances, such as keeping families together in one dorm room. This should not have affected your stay with us in anyway but we appreciate feedback from all our guests and try our best to make it pleasant for everyone who stays with us. Should there have been any issues raised with our staff they would have been more than happy to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

21st Mar 2016
7.7

Great location & really good wifi in the rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us! We appreciate all guests feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
8.6

Great location and good value. I had booked this a couple of months ago and having contacted the hostel I was under the impression that we would all be in the one apartment. Was very disappointed that each of the three rooms booked were in different apartments.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Jonathan, we are glad to hear that you find our hostel good value and you like the location. We have double checked your booking and see that the rooms you booked were not in the same apartment. If you contacted the hostel and they told you otherwise we can only apologise for the error. Our staff are always willing to help and are very friendly, and I'm sure this has been a genuine mistake. We hope it hasn't put you off visiting us again in the future!

20th Feb 2016
7.7

A good hostel. Great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for spending time to leave us a positive review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of our hostel ideal for your visit. We hope to see you again next time you visit!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Feb 2016
9.7

Chris, originally from Manchester the receptionist at the time was extremely friendly and welcoming, he also plays "Civilization". The room was clean, warm and , no funky smell. Bring your own towel, as with any standard hostel. No locker. Overall a very comfortable stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking time to leave such a positive review of your stay with us! It's great to hear our staff are welcoming and friendly with all our guests and we will ensure this is passed onto Chris! We hope you come back and stay with us again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2016
6.6

Would be good to have a secure place in the room to store luggage (ie a locker)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us! We are looking into having secure lockers in our dorm rooms as this is feedback we have received from our guests. In the meantime our friendly staff are more than happy to keep valuables secure at reception for guests during their stay. We hope to improve our secure space for our guests in the near future and hope you come back to visit us again!

6th Feb 2016
9.4

This hostel has a great location just one road over from the Royal Mile. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. I was very happy with the security thy had with the code for the first door and then a key for the second and another key for your room. The facilities in the hostel were great. Very clean. Overall I had a great experience and would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found are staff to be helpful! We hope you come back again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2016
8.6

The staff were really friendly and helpful. It was easy to find and located across the road from a pub so it made getting home easy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you very much for taking time out to review your stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope that we are able to impress you again in the future! Linzi - Customer Services

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.