X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cowgate Tourist Hostel Reviews

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2754 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

We were expecting cheap and cheerful we got cheap and dank. Our room only had a bed (held together with what looked like a show lace!) and a broken wardrobe. The decor had a lot to be desired but it was clean. I have stayed in many hostels around Europe and was disappointed as there was no communal area. The location was good for the city centre but there was a loud bar outside.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Of course it was quite basic accommodation (not even small table to put things on), but generally fine. Everything clean, nice kitchen, clean showers. It's a GREAT value for money, and definitely recommend.


86%

It must be some chairs in the room and shelves or hooks in bathroom.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

It was loud next door to the club. No lockers.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Not far from the centre or Holyrood Hill Park. Helpfull staff... only beds are squeking and in a front of the hostel is loudy bar (if you are going for a Friday and want to sleep It's not a good place).


97%

showers were a bit crud. one was cold only then next day non worked at all but prob just got unlucky


83%

I was a bit worries with all the negative reviews, but gladly we had a really great time. We stayed for 4 nights in a 4 bed dorm. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is very good to explore the city by foot. A Tesco and Lidl are close if you want to do some cooking. The kitchen is clean and has sufficient kitchen items. On our floor were 2 showers with hot water and 2 toilets, which was more than enough. It can be a bit noisy, but with earplugs it is no problem.


100%

I don't understand all the bad reviews on here. I found the Cowgate Hostel to be simple, clean and good value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bed was comfy, everything worked. My friends and I were out all day so only really needed a place to sleep and shower and it was perfect for us. Great location, I'd recommend to others! Free WIFI too! Pick a room at the back of the hostel for a quieter stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and rightly said we are 'simple, clean and good'. A budget hostel in a busy part of the city (back rooms are better for less noise) and a great location for sightseeing and bars. Hope to see you again one day! :)

57%

The staff is the strong point of this hostel. Each staff member was friendly and eager to help and to answer questions. There was a very musty smell in the room and no hot water in the taps, both in the kitchen and in the washrooms, which made shaving and washing up rather unpleasant. The street noise was horrific, especially on nights when the club across the street was hosting special events. The location was great concerning the proximity of the main attractions in Edinburgh.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

After reading reviews I wasn't surprised that there was loud music across the st, horrible bathrooms, and mold on bathroom ceiling. Don't care but it looked like the floor would cave in soon. Each floor has 3 locked doorways. Thru each door is 3/4 rooms/dorms, a kitchen & 1 1/2 bath. Shower room sink was clogged. 1/2 bath toilet was clogged. Hostel is not very communal as everything is spread out. More like a college dorm. Patio wasn't open though they really advertise it. I was with gf so watev


97%

Too many door keys for door opening each time.


74%

The Cowgate Hostel was pretty good value overall. The location is good in terms of proximity to the centre of Old Edinburgh, but the downside is that it can be very noisy outside late into the evenings due to nearby pubs, and construction work began outside our window early in the mornings. Our kitchen and bathroom were pretty clean and were shared only between a few small dorms. Some of the other guests were relatively long-term and friendly, so there was a good small community vibe.


83%

We stayed six nights, in a standard twin room ( shared bathroom). It was clean and the location good (somel good restaurants in George IV street close by, I recommend The Cellar Door and Outsider. Also The Jazz Bar at Chamber street if you're into jazz). It was rather noisy though, as there was an outside pub across the street, so earplugs is probably a good idea. The bunk bed was somewhat horrible, as it creaked and moved at every little movement.


71%

Good hostel. 1 shower to shear between 24 people

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am not sure where you got your numbers from but we are 16 people in the apartment (maximum 16) not 24!

74%

No lockers in the rooms

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The Cowgate hostel was disappointing. We had stayed at St Christopher's Hostel just a few blocks away which was not only cheaper and a nicer location but a much, much better room and overall place to stay. The Cowgate was budget. It looked a bit like a seedy back alleyway to get to the room and the room itself was very uninspiring. It was a larger room but basic. We had to share a bathroom facility as well, once again for a more expensive price than the competitor that had a private ensuite.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our hostel is very different to St Christophers Inn as we are unique to having apartment style living. None of our rooms are en-suite but we do have much better kitchen facilities and very large bedrooms. Every hostel is different and unique to itself and you may prefer one to another. We advertise as basic hostel with no en-suite so i think this is clear for when you make the booking and it is unfair to compare a small business with a world wide corporation hostel

74%

Our window wouldnt close which caused the room to be quite chilly and loud

Owner Comment (Hide)
All windows close. Please ask reception if you can not close or open windows and we can show you how to do this.

71%

Amazing location, right in the middle of the nightlife area! The room was clean and the bathrooms as well, I'd definitely recommend it!

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Too few showers for too many people. Of the two showers that were available in our floor one was broken and the other one could not be locked. Also the kitchen was very poorly equipped. There weren't even enough cups. The kitchen was not really taken care of and was quite dirty. The floor in our room looked like it hasn't been wiped for some time.


74%

We only stayed one night so we basically only slept in the room. We arrived after the reception closes at 11pm (had no idea that meant nobody would be able to open the door and check us in), but they did have an emergency phone number that we could call. A staff member came down within 5 min to let us in, but I did have a mini heart attack that we would not have somewhere to stay that night. Everyone was friendly that we talked to though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes as you mentioned we close at 11pm which means we close the reception :) For after hours arrivals or emergencies there is a number to call which you did and the staff come and let you in. This is our out of hours service. Please do not have heart attack...its very normal :)

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(71 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback