X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cowgate Tourist Hostel Reviews

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2969 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Cowgate was great considering what we paid and its in walking distance of most attractions!

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Myself and a few others girls were traveling for the weekend and cowgate was the perfect place to stay! It was in the middle of everything so you could walk anywhere you wanted! The room was very clean! I would definitely stay here again!

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Showers were awful. Temperature was either scorching hot or ice cold. Could've caused someone actual burns.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, very clean, friendly staff, great location.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Staff is okay, a wee bit unorganised but still kind. Flats smelly, beds too old and noisy, heating wasn't working properly , keys not working, atmosphere very poor


86%

I've read many bad reviews for this hostel. But I guess people were just being mean. It's a very nice place to stay, indeed. The kitchen facilities are wonderful, as well as the location. You gotta keep in mind you're not spending much money, so there'll be a few problems but nothing you can't deal with. The people that were with me all loved the place.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • ed_levy19
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

A bit lacking in atmosphere but otherwise nice rooms with self-catering kitchen. Was able to store bags at reception for a few hours before being able to check in.


31%

Wow, you've done it! I've been looking for somewhere to reenact Trainspotting, and this is just the place! The dismal look & urine smell of the stairwell will add to the feel. And the dirty toilet will really make "that" scene really stand out. The bare look of the bedroom, and the old rickety beds, everything works. I just need to get Ewan McGregor on the project, & the drugs, of course. That shouldn't be a problem due to the lack of proper security & the rough neighbourhood! Edinburgh's best!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate all the comments that our guests wish to leave, on this occasion i must strongly disagree with you. We take great pride in our Hostel and care for all our guests that choose to stay with us. Firstly the apartment you were in does not come any where close to your description and feel it is very sad that you have chosen to leave this feedback.Hostels are not HOTELS hence the cost is much lower but the quality is still there, we have improved our services year in year out

57%

The place is terrible at night as its located in a nightclub area, people scream n yell until 5am, it's impossible to sleep.

  • 17th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

We had booked for 2 beds in a 4 bedroom, but, instead, we were given 2 beds in 2 separate rooms (APPARENTLY, the other beds were "already booked") and we had to accept it as the receptionist did not give us any other choice. When we arrived at one of the bedrooms, a drunk girl had left her drinking stuff spread all over the room, so I slept with my girlfriend in the other room. NO ONE SLEPT IN THAT ROOM APART FROM US, no one went into the room, in fact. Remarkable lack of customer service.

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, we are very sorry that you feel this way about your stay with us. However, the receptionist didn't lie, the hostel was really fully booked during your stay, and according to out system, it was impossible to allocate you both in the same room. We couldn't have known that some people will not show up that night as we must keep beds for them if they book online in advance and don't notify us of not coming. Thank you for understanding.

60%

Great location and nice staff. Very uncomfortable bed in a tiny room


89%

Very friendly and helpful staff! The hostel is conveniently located in the Old Town.


69%

I was in flat 6, a very inadequate shower situation. Only showered once in was so unbearable. The heating was also very weak, but the whole building was stone so it was just cold. It was clean, location was excellent and the staff friendly. I would probably try another place before staying here again. Just love a good, consistent, hot shower too much. :-)

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The location was great, so that made it a little better. But the 1 shower room was completely covered in mold. It was disgusting. That needs to be dealt with ASAP.

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The rooms are good, the only problem is the smelling of sleeping people, which can not be eliminated because you cannot open the window completely. Every room has an own bathroom which is very good! And there are huge kitchens on every floor, perfect to start a party night. The hostel is very close to the royal mile and therefore perfect for a weekend in edin.


49%

The beds are very damaged and I can feel it shakes when I am on it. And worst of all, it's obvious that they don't change the clean bedding for the new guests which is terrible and gross.

  • 9th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, we can assure You that we change the bedding for every new guest every day. We are sorry that You had such impression, but saying that we don't change bedding for every new guest is absolutely not true.

34%

This place was horribly run down, the bunk beds broken, guard rails missing, pieces of metal jutting out and duct tape being used to hold some of the beds together. The kitchen facilities were a saving grace, but the hostel in general, the walls, the bathrooms etc. are in desperate need of maintenance. Photos were taken of the beds for reporting. Females should also ensure if they stay here, they are in a group, as the rooms are in another building separate from the reception without easy exit.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we are currently in the process of renewing all our beds in the hostel and painting all rooms. This also includes a complete maintenance programme. we take the comments from our guests seriously and can assure you that our aim to have happy customers. All rooms in the hostel are completely safe as they are all located in self contained apartments, the main door is always locked and each individual dorm locked also.

83%

I saw a mouse run across the kitchen which was kinda cute- I sat and read a book in there watching it scurry around the table legs Showers were lovely, but the ceiling could do with a good scrub (black mould).


83%

Brilliant place to stay and cheap, only problem is parking.

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Ideal placement with Brew Dog across the road from the hostel. One of the best bars in Edinburgh. Royal Mile a few mins walk. Excellent friendly staff. Clean rooms/beds. Hot shower and good sized kitchen. Will definitely stay again.

  • 24th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(85 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback