Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 3,075 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 3,075 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
Cowgate Tourist Hostel Located at 96 Cowgate, , Edinburgh.
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JN 96 Cowgate
75% 3075
55.9485029 -3.1907129
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.9

Great hostel, only detail to fix please is squeaky bed :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
6.6

All facilities and furniture were very basic. Aggressive cleaning staff (who didn't speak English) barged into my room at 10:30 every morning, regardless of whether I was asleep, to look at my empty bin.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
7.7

The staff are friendly and the facilities are clean and well kept. It's in a great area of the city if you want to be in the middle of everything!! The rooms are basic which is fine for a hostel stay. I had a pleasant experience overall however it would have been great to have the assurance of security lockers for personal items.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
8.3

Really central location which was brilliant because everywhere was within walking distance. This did mean that it was quite loud quite late so that might be a problem if you have kids! Kitchen facilities were great, the staff were really helpful, we had an enjoyable stay. Value for money wasn't great because we went during the fringe so that made everything more expensive than it should be but still had a great time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
4.9

Though the stay was well worth it, the communication with the hostel before our arrival was a nightmare. I have tried calling at several times of the day, I have never been answered to. Even leaving several voicemail messages did not get any response. Emailing didn't get any response either until I emailed to almost every email address I could possibly find, only to be helped by the manager of the group of hostels... On arrival, they referred to this website for any concerns!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
6.6

Staff were welcoming and the location was excellent .The kitchen was clean with all necessary facilities such as microwave .fridge etc. However. the bathroom and showers were full of black mould and smelt bad.also. the general decor was depressing and poorly maintained. we will not be using this hostel again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
9.4

In the heart or the city, close to the city and very clean! Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jul 2016
5.4

Do not recommend this hostel! Most of the wooden boards on the bed "supporting" the mattress were broken. We had to pull the mattress off the bed and place it on the ground. The only upside was the room was big enough for us to do this.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
9.1

just what we needed, a base to leave our things and explore. it is very noisy, but for people exploring day and evening it is not too much of a problem. The staff were very helpful, sorting out some printing we needed for flights back, and the atmosphere was very friendly. Cheap , cheerful and it did the job, thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
4.3

Very basic hostel. Location is fine BUT there is a open-air bar/pub/concert thing 5 metres opposite the hostel. EXTREMELY LOUD or, more precisely deafening music was played (and hundreds of people singing in chorus all the way til 2am the next morning). Didn't sleep a wink at all. Not worth the money at all. Even sleeping on the streets would have been way quiter and nicer in comparison.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.