Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cowgate Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 3,107 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 3,107 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9
Cowgate Tourist Hostel Located at 96 Cowgate, , Edinburgh.
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH1 1JN 96 Cowgate
76% 3107
55.9485029 -3.1907129
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Sep 2016
7.1

Basic but fairly priced. Great location for walking around the city! Very noisy at night as theres pubs across the road that are open until early hours of the morning & theres only single glazed windows, but a set of ear plugs & your fine! Standard Hostel Bunk beds & cleanish bathrooms. Separated areas gave it little atmosphere. We had a car & the closet parking building was 20pounds per night so we parked at St James Mall Parking building & it was on 17ponuds for 2nights. (10-15min walk).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Sep 2016
10.0

accomodation was well classed, everything was clean, looked nice, location is practically next to the Royal Mile, silence during night is fine as well as comfortable beds

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Sep 2016
8.0

I was only there for one night. The staff were extremely helpful, especially the fellow Australian, who brought out my heavy bag for me at 6 am.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Really loved this hostel! Right near the center of Everything! The grass market, shopping, bars and pubs! It is right next to a lot of popular bars which is something I like in a hostel so there will be noise but that's only because you'll be staying right where the fun is! It's a basic hostel with a clean place to sleep and a clean shower right in the middle of everything. I'd stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
9.4

Excellent location! Really clean, there was always someone checking the common areas to see if everything was in order. Nice staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
5.4

We booked an 8 bed dorm to ourselves, on arrival I was told there was two more mattresses on the floor as they'd overbooked. This didn't bother me too much but there was 3/4 dorms sharing the one toilet and it would seem all dorms were 'over booked'. Made getting to the toilet on a Sunday morning after a heavy night very difficult. In general, it's dull, dirty but beds were clean. As a young person just wanting somewhere to crash after a night out its OK but a 10 am check with a sore he

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.4

I only spent 1 night here but I would have spent far longer if I could. I walked in and made a meet a friendly girl in the kitchen straight away. I spent the night hanging out with her and another girl from the hostel, however the lack of communal space made meeting others difficult. The kitchen was well equipped but the bathrooms were small and had too few showers for the whole floor. It's located right near some amazing places to drink and party.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.7

Despite its cost, we highly recommend the Cowgate Tourist Hostel. We never had to take the bus for the location was perfect and we could reach by foot pretty much anything worth seeing. The room in itself was very clean and comfortable, without limitation for the wifi, which was a nice change. The staff was super nice and friendly and the secure luggage room is a huge plus for anyone travelling with big suitcases. We will definitely be back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
8.6

Great location, okay beds, helpful and friendly staff - but the social atmosphere was lacking as their were no common areas

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
5.4

Good location, okay staff, some friendly and the room was cheap. Room was incredibly mouldy and set off my asthma. The toilets were all breaking but were mostly clean. The sheets were threadbare and so bobbly and also had someone else's hair in them. The fire alarm was faulty and beeped ALL of the last night we were there. The furniture was also all falling apart.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.