X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cowgate Tourist Hostel Reviews

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2451 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The location is very good. But It's noisy.. That's becasue there are a lot of pubs next the domitory room. But. Staffs are so kind and very nice

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Not clean. Mold everywhere. Bring your own sheets for sure. Bleach smell permeates every room. Awesome location with great bars near by. Noise not a big issue other than usual sounds from sharing close quarters. Staff was pleasant but seemed over extended and therefore slow to respond.


71%

Reception did wait for us despite our late arrival. Appartement with four rooms, two toilets, one shower, kitchen is ok, lots of half empty shampoos, used razors, tooth brushes laying around, perhaps belong to the long time residents.. We hv hd one room at the streetside, à Little noisy.. But you dont come here for the forest sounds... Our other friends occupied rooms on the back Side... It was quiet. rooms are basic, but clean and not. too small , towels were provided. Location is super.


60%

Too Old too loud! Nice staff! Not that clean bedding. Cheap hostel. Good for a sleep.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

There are friendly staff but the entrance and stairs need cleaning for the rest excellent.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Cleanliness of toilets and showers could improve. That aside, the hostel has great value as it has a perfect location, is cheap and has helpful staff. Be aware that there's an outdoor's pub just across the street that closes around 2 am, so earplugs are advised.


74%

Facilities were good, but there weren't many toilets for the number of people staying in each flat

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The best thing about this hostel was, that they gave us back the money as we decided to book a hotel instead. The laundry was full with hair of other people. We asked the staff to change it and they did, but it was still dirty! After complaining again they explained us, that it is a problem caused by their laundry-service... So we asked to check out and we got back the money except of the booking-amount (but that was totaly ok). Wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I stayed with my partner in one room in a shared flat, I am very happy and would go back again, the location is great the room nice, big kitchen with all necessary appliances and tools, 2 showers and 2 wc. The staff were friendly and helpful.


63%

Very friendly staff. The facilities weren't very clean though and you wouldn't want to look up at the mold in the showers. Location wasn't bad but it was in the rougher area. But they did have triple locks to get into your room. Plus there was a party going on across the street both nights we stayed. The price was very cheap though.


86%

The Cowgate Tourist Hostel is a very good accomodation. The facilities and cleanliness are fine and better than many other hostels. I would suggest to find an accomodation there. Very good central location. The price are not high.


83%

The location is very convenient, especially if you're planning on visiting bars, pubs and clubs. In general I enjoyed my stay, although beat in mind that there are no safety lockers, not in the rooms or the reception. Also, if you're in a rush in the morning and you want to take a shower, get up fast because one shower for the whole flat is not much.


60%

the guy living next room has key to our door and entered my room in the 3o'clock in the morning


77%

The hostel was great and the location perfect. It was close to the Royal Mile (main street in the Old Town) and in the best street to go out, there is a pub just in front of the hostel, so if you are looking for a quiet place... maybe it's not the best!

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

very friendly staff. very nice bathroom and kitchen. Some noise from pubs nearby, but I think this is a characteristic of this city.


83%

The staff were great, really friendly and helpful. The hostel is structured like separate apartments, rather than a big communal building which meant that within the hostel itself was quite quiet and calm (not lots of people running around the halls!). Outside of the hostel was another story, however, as it is opposite a pub with a busy beer garden and there was a guy busking (on a trumpet!) til the wee hours. Friends have told me that rooms at the back of the building are quieter tho.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I really enjoyed my stay here, the location is spot on, very close to the city centre, exactly what you want. Staff was friendly, the cost was very affordable, ideal for students. Well done Cowgate!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Hostel is average. Nothing special but for young people OK.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

There was two showers for a floor full of people, one didn't work so the wait for a shower was painful. Was alright for a quick one night stop, but wouldn't recommend for longer stays. Wifi was painfully bad as well.


74%

There should be a room in each flat where everyone could relax and talk and simply meet.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(138 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback