X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cowgate Tourist Hostel Reviews

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2445 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Too Old too loud! Nice staff! Not that clean bedding. Cheap hostel. Good for a sleep.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

There are friendly staff but the entrance and stairs need cleaning for the rest excellent.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Cleanliness of toilets and showers could improve. That aside, the hostel has great value as it has a perfect location, is cheap and has helpful staff. Be aware that there's an outdoor's pub just across the street that closes around 2 am, so earplugs are advised.


74%

Facilities were good, but there weren't many toilets for the number of people staying in each flat

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The best thing about this hostel was, that they gave us back the money as we decided to book a hotel instead. The laundry was full with hair of other people. We asked the staff to change it and they did, but it was still dirty! After complaining again they explained us, that it is a problem caused by their laundry-service... So we asked to check out and we got back the money except of the booking-amount (but that was totaly ok). Wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Very friendly staff. The facilities weren't very clean though and you wouldn't want to look up at the mold in the showers. Location wasn't bad but it was in the rougher area. But they did have triple locks to get into your room. Plus there was a party going on across the street both nights we stayed. The price was very cheap though.


86%

The Cowgate Tourist Hostel is a very good accomodation. The facilities and cleanliness are fine and better than many other hostels. I would suggest to find an accomodation there. Very good central location. The price are not high.


83%

The location is very convenient, especially if you're planning on visiting bars, pubs and clubs. In general I enjoyed my stay, although beat in mind that there are no safety lockers, not in the rooms or the reception. Also, if you're in a rush in the morning and you want to take a shower, get up fast because one shower for the whole flat is not much.


60%

the guy living next room has key to our door and entered my room in the 3o'clock in the morning


77%

The hostel was great and the location perfect. It was close to the Royal Mile (main street in the Old Town) and in the best street to go out, there is a pub just in front of the hostel, so if you are looking for a quiet place... maybe it's not the best!

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

very friendly staff. very nice bathroom and kitchen. Some noise from pubs nearby, but I think this is a characteristic of this city.


83%

The staff were great, really friendly and helpful. The hostel is structured like separate apartments, rather than a big communal building which meant that within the hostel itself was quite quiet and calm (not lots of people running around the halls!). Outside of the hostel was another story, however, as it is opposite a pub with a busy beer garden and there was a guy busking (on a trumpet!) til the wee hours. Friends have told me that rooms at the back of the building are quieter tho.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I really enjoyed my stay here, the location is spot on, very close to the city centre, exactly what you want. Staff was friendly, the cost was very affordable, ideal for students. Well done Cowgate!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

There was two showers for a floor full of people, one didn't work so the wait for a shower was painful. Was alright for a quick one night stop, but wouldn't recommend for longer stays. Wifi was painfully bad as well.


74%

There should be a room in each flat where everyone could relax and talk and simply meet.


60%

It smelled absolutely horrendous.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice hostel! very clean,and a perfect value for money! --the kitchen is very useful ( u can also meet people) + bathroom clean! -the noise of the pub across the street is not a problem cauz it closes at 3am and you 're usually out at this time! -Read bad comments before booking but this place is one of the best (everything's new inside)+ famous in Edinburgh (Cowgate street) where you can find all the pubs nearby+(city center 10min walk) staff very friendly they're awesome! RECOMMEND IT!!


91%

The hostel is well organized and the staff is incredibly helpful. I believe that the only thing would be to have a 24h reception to make it even better.


54%

It was really hard to get any sleep in the room I stayed in with all the noise from bars and cars outside. Without earlplugs it would have been totally unbearable, with earlplugs only near-unbearable... This they should have warned me about somehow. Also I am not sure how clean the mattress, pillows and duvet really was...

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, right near the Royal Mile! Within walking distance of the main sights, also great night life in the surrounding area (Sneaky Pete's is great for live music and right across the road!) No common room though, would be nice to have a communal area to meet other guests. Staff were friendly and helpful, overall a good stay and would stay again :)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(133 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback