X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cowgate Tourist Hostel Reviews

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
2759 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Amazing location, right in the middle of the nightlife area! The room was clean and the bathrooms as well, I'd definitely recommend it!

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Too few showers for too many people. Of the two showers that were available in our floor one was broken and the other one could not be locked. Also the kitchen was very poorly equipped. There weren't even enough cups. The kitchen was not really taken care of and was quite dirty. The floor in our room looked like it hasn't been wiped for some time.


74%

We only stayed one night so we basically only slept in the room. We arrived after the reception closes at 11pm (had no idea that meant nobody would be able to open the door and check us in), but they did have an emergency phone number that we could call. A staff member came down within 5 min to let us in, but I did have a mini heart attack that we would not have somewhere to stay that night. Everyone was friendly that we talked to though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes as you mentioned we close at 11pm which means we close the reception :) For after hours arrivals or emergencies there is a number to call which you did and the staff come and let you in. This is our out of hours service. Please do not have heart attack...its very normal :)

100%

With a really good location, everything was perfect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Im so glad you were happy with your stay :)

74%

room with only a cabinet and a bed. no tv. no ensuite bathroom. no common areas to mingle around.


77%

The hostel was really nice the only thing which bothered me was that it was cold.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is summer now so the heating is off, however if you are cold please ask reception to put on your heating or we can supply you with a small heater.

89%

The room has no locker or wardrob to keep you baggage on it. The room has a good size, a good bed and a nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes we have no lockers and only some rooms have wardrobes. It is a basic hostel which we are improving every year but has some very unique facilities and character. Lockers is something we will have in the near future but for now please note we do not have them in the rooms.

77%

We were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff who were able to accommodate our early start, the location was in the heart of the city great for restaurants, sightseeing and night clubs- not so great for a good night's sleep as the clubbers head home quite noisily at various times. There were no lockers in the rooms for valuables and people could wait at the street door for someone to enter the code without staff being aware, there are two more locked doors to get through after though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am glad you felt welcomed by us!! We are on a busy street so please get ear plugs from reception if you need them as this may help! There is a door code system to help with security but we can not watch 24/7 which is why we have CCTV and like you mention you have another 2 keys to get to the flat and the bedroom so the security is good.

80%

Staff very kind and approachable. A deposit for a key was required and an extra fee for card payments also required - not advertised beforehand. The room was very clean and so were the facilities. The toilet in the flat was out of use so there was one toilet between 10 persons shared between 2 flats with shared kitchen. Location was superb within the heart of the city although with the pub opposite a sleep at the weekend not possible without earplugs. Free tea was a great.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is stated on the website that a key deposit is required and also your booking conditions shows a £1 charge for credit card transactions will apply. I am sorry about the toilet but it is now fixed. In all hostels and hotels you will find things break and we will fix them as soon as we can. We love the free tea and coffee too :)

46%

We have stayed in hostels all over the world and this was the worst and and most expensive. Our room was looking out on a very busy beer garden and night club. Did not sleep due to the noise from the night club even though we purchased ear plugs from reception to try and dull it out, they did nothing. Bed linen horrible, very old. Bed very uncomfortable and creaky. We could not wait to get out of this place and will most definitely not be returning.


40%

The staff is super friendly and the location is great which is about the only good things I can say about this place. The bathrooms were absolutely disgusting and the walls were covered in mould. The whole apartment smelled of mildew and only one toilet worked properly. People who I dont think were even staying in the hostel kept somehow getting in our room and the whole place had a really weird layout. This place was just gross.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the nice comments about the staff :) That makes us very happy. I am sorry you did not like the flat you were allocated. This flat gets mixed reviews, some love and some don't so its hard to know. We have gone into the flat again this week and done a deep clean so hopefully this has solved any issues from before. The people were friends staying in various rooms so this is why they would of been going between the rooms. I am so sad you found it gross and can promise this is not alway

74%

Staff great- very informative and rooms clean. However, Friday and Saturday nights were exceptionally noisy- big groups coming home at 3am and yelling in the corridors and smoking in rooms. Staff did come and deal with this- upon a second request- but we got no sleep from 2am- 4am.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry about the noise saturday night. The staff also did not sleep dealing with the matter. The customers were dealt with and were fined for smoking as we enforce this rule very strongly. During the weekends in the big city of Edinburgh it can be sometimes noisy but we are here to do our best to help.

80%

Just the bed noisy and unstable but the rest is fine! Thank you!

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

upper bunk bed very insecure, one shower for a whole appartment, very low internet signal, two electric plugs for six people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
There is usually more than 2 plugs in the room, make sure you check behind the beds as they can be hidden. We have 10 apartments and each one has 1-2 showers. The WIFI should really be fine we very very rarely have ever had a complaint about WIFI so please check with reception if you find a problem. We will take a look at your bed and get that tightened up.

77%

We stayed in the Hostel for three nights. We had two different rooms. The first one was in the basement, quite smelly and the radiator did not work- it was freezing cold! The bed almost broke down! Last night we had a nice and warm room- everything was fine for us. Location is brilliant, you can reach everything by foot and it is a good place to start a party. You just have to accept noise!

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your mixed review of good and bad. I am so glad you preferred your second apartment and felt more pleased with this. Each apartment is different and some prefer one to another.

57%

good place in edinburgh, access to train station, bus station, can go to the castle and around edinburgh by feet but the room was really dirty, as the shower (2 showers per 12) and people let everything in the kitchen after their departure, no communal areas except the kitchen, the towels given to you are also dirty, to print something you have to pay

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It was hard to open the window, so our room was really smelly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please ask for assistance if you have any problems like opening a window. We can very easily help you and solve this problem

63%

There was a bad smell in the hallway leading up to the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry you experienced a smell in the stairwells. We do clean them twice a week and sweep everyday. The stairwells are used 24/7 by many people so we have to expect they are not perfect , however we do concentrate on making sure you apartments are clean and smell nice.

80%

Friendly staff. Not much of a social atmosphere with lounge rooms for each floor. Music and bar across the street is a bit loud until late but never bothered me. Room building was located separate entrance from lobby check-in. The shower on the floor was very spacious and consistent warm water was very nice. One of the toilets on the floor didn't flush the whole time I was there.


86%

Free drinks provided.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes we do provide free tea and coffee in reception from 8am - 11pm :)

(74 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback