X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cowgate Tourist Hostel Reviews

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2373 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Hostel is in a very good location, but the street is noisy until at least 3am. I was in one of the flats around the side of the hostel, you needed a code and two keys to get in, but there are no lockers in the room itself. The facilities were good, two showers and one toilet between four people, but they are slightly run down. Note that the fire alarm is 8.30am on a Monday (why?)! Plan your nights out wisely!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. The alarm has to be done at 8.30am monday morning to coincide with the lawyers office above us. This is the only time we can do it! Sorry but it is for your safety :) Thanks

86%

I felt that the hostel was expensive for 2 night but since it was during the fringe festival it can be considered reasonable.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
All hostels in Edinburgh are on premium rates during August for the Fringe. Our usual rates are around £10-12 a night for a dorm which is one of the cheapest in the city! :)

71%

It was nice to stay at Cowgate Hostel. The room was tidy and cousy. And it is nice, that there are flats, which are linked together. It seemes like this, it is a bit more quiet, than in a big building, where everybody can go everywhere. The fridge in the kitchen was unfortunately very dirty and the shelfes broken. And I was not sure, how people new, not to take other peoples food. Maybe this can get sorted out for the future. But still: a nice stay and I recommend this hostel.


86%

Great, friendly staff at were really welcoming and very helpful. Good tip for amazing local breakfast. Location is perfect. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad you enjoyed our brekkie recommendation! and thank you so much for a great review :) Your amazing!

86%

either we didn't get how the shower worked, ot it was the worsed one i ever took :) but overall a very clean, good hostel with extremely friendly staff and an excellent location.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, sorry for your experience with the shower. But there is a red switch either inside or outside the shower that you have to turn on, and Voila :) it's working. For any problem of this kind, please don't hesitate to ask help from our receptionists who will be happy to help you. Regards.

83%

I quite liked my stay at the Cowgate. The location is absolutely perfect- central to all things Old Edinburgh but not too far to walk to new. The rooms are quite big and spacious and I like that it was all separate apartments each with their own kitchen. The staff are really lovely and helpful. The only thing is there is only one shower and two toilets in each apartment, but to be honest I never had to wait long for either when I was there so it wasn't a really a problem for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your points of: Perfect location, Quiet big rooms. Seperate apartments with their own kitchens, Lovely staff! These are the really great points of the hostel so well noted :) There are 1-2 showers per apartment depending on the occupancy of the flats however like you say most of the time this is not a big issue and you get the comfort of more privacy having a small apartment to share.

89%

Overall great, but noticed staff only changed bottom sheets and not the duvet covered sheets. Not sure how many days passed between duvet cover sheet washing. Other than that great! Wash all sheets!!!!


69%

It could use some redecorating and tlc, but at £12 a night you can't be too demanding


89%

That toilet was broken and leaked everywhere........but the water was cleaned up every day:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This tolet is now fixed, sorry for your troubles! and thank you for still leaving a greta review/score! :) we love that!

71%

I just expected it to be slightly cleaner... and there was 1 shower to share between at least 15-20 people.


77%

Great bathroom.and kitchen. Beds clean and staff friendly. Right across from a great bar which is mixed blessings depending on what you are looking for. No lockers. Would stay here again.


63%

The room smelled of Janola or bleach, which made it quite uncomfortable to sleep in.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

A little rough around the edges but the great location and awesome staff more than make up for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I couldn't of said it better myself! Thank you :)

91%

Nice rooms with separate entrance, friendly staff, good location


89%

An apartment style hostel, very nice and comfortable, but no proper common area which let it down

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! The new outdoor common area is now ready and open this weekend :) We hope you will come back one day and hang out with us there :)

91%

Great nights stay. Exactly what we wanted. Perfect location for a city pub crawl. Good clean facilities. Only one problem, cups. There was 12 of us staying plus more from other groups and only 4 mugs for the morning coffee. Very important if you've been on a night out. Great place thanks.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a great review!! With the cups we do have plenty more to give you, we put many in the flats but they disappear, so please come to reception if you need more :) Thank you

83%

They need to install lockers for people's luggage, too risky just leaving it in the room if you don't know the people you're staying with.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We hope to get lockers in the future. For now you must keep your valuables with you or leave in reception. Thank you :)

83%

Good place , but it was REALLY loud at night. There was a big pub across the street. The windows seems to let in far more noise than cool air.

Owner Comment (Hide)
At weekends you can here some noise from the bars on the street. It is a great location for the city but this can bring noise! We have ear plugs in reception for £1 if it is too much for you :)

66%

The hostel is situated very near to everything, which is great. It is nice and colourful and there is quite a lot of space. There were no lockers so the security is quite poor. The kitchen is nice and spacious and there is a good amount of dishes. In our kitchen there was a nice leather sofa, not for sitting, as it was broken. The beds were sqeaky and felt very unstable; the whole bed was shaking, if the one sleeping in upper bed moved his feet. Showers smelled a bit like mold.


74%

I was just for one night, and i can not sleep at all, because of the bar which is next and open untill 3. am. it was very noisy.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(117 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback