X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cowgate Tourist Hostel Reviews

96 Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
2971 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

The bed sheets did not cover the mattress properly and the bedding was very uncomfortable. The kitchen was not cleaned while we were there, there was rotting food on the bench, table and in the fridge.


74%

Close to city centre and old town. The room and shared facility is tidy. The bed is not so stable, and chargers are not enough for four guests. A club is located at the opposite, so it will be noisy in the night.


77%

The staff, location, and facilities were great. The only issue we had was the wifi it was very poor and hardly stayed connected. This was important tonusbas we were trying to keep in contact with those at home.


77%

This hostel is just apartments converted into mini hostel units. The kitchen has no ventilation and the window can't be opened so it gets really humid and off smelling in there. The showers are great though with no timed shower head. The beds could be better mine was sunken in pushing me against the wall and the room smelt of smoke. Great location though the staff is very friendly and nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kristine. Sorry the room smelt of smoke. We do actively try and stop people from smoking but unfortunately we can't catch everyone all of the time. We are upgrading the hostel in the next few months so all the beds will be replaced. Thanks for the review.

60%

Hostel was flat styled. No atmosphere and my bed wasn't made when I first arrived


86%

Everything went smoothly, the staff were always prompted to help you regardless the issue, Just needs to install individual lockers bellow beds or in the apartment corridor. Loved Edinburgh! Thanks for everything!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking your time to review us. Having the lockers installed is in our nearest plans.

89%

Hi , amazing people , very helpful . Keep up the good work

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to review our hostel!

80%

Everything was up to par, however the crappy outdoor pub/club (not brewdog) was insanely annoying and loud through the night..annoying due to how bad the live band/bad music was through the night (wouldn't have mattered if we were out partying but we had a 7am bus).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes, some rooms are right in front of Three Sisters club which music choices we have no control of. We are sorry that you were annoyed by it.

80%

2nd stay with Cowgate, clean, well located hostel. Great value for money overall. Will definitely stay again the next time I visit Edinburgh.

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

It was absolutely horrid. We were stuck outside for hours trying to get in because the information they first provided was incorrect, and the "emergency" number on the front door was never answered. We then got told that the number we rang (provided by YOUR company) didn't belong to them despite the person answering as "Cowgate". The room and facilities were unacceptable also took a debit card as a deposit or the keys which was no returned We cancelled the 2nd night it so bad I expect a refund!

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

This is a great hostel! Having a kitchen was really useful. Bathrooms were pretty nice. Location is awesome. I highly recommend this hostel if you are ever in Edinburgh! I would definitely stay here again.


94%

What's better than staying at the closest hostel to Brewdog? Yes, Cowgate is a bit noisy (and fun) on the weekend, so just FYI.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We agree with you, the rooms facing the street full of bars can be noisy, but it is as well fun, and we have some more quiet rooms at the back :) Thank you so much for taking time to review our hostel.

77%

We were welcomed warmly to the hostel by the reception staff when we arrived, they were really helpful and nice right throughout our stay. Contacting the hostel before our arrival was difficult, our emails were unanswered meaning we had to call which is expensive from another country. And as a result of the delay our group did not get to be in the same apartment. My apartment also only had one shower between about 3 or 4 rooms of 6 people. Overall it is a good hostel and I would stay again.

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Perhaps a little more Cook equipment. The rooms on the street side are very noisy.

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, please ask at the reception if you need something and we will try to help with your requests. Normally all out kitchens are fully equipped.

83%

Good location...Nice staff and the price its ok...


97%

This hostel has little apartments for different rooms in the hostel. This Helps with space and cleanliness. However it doesn't encourage a social/communal atmosphere. Nice quiet hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Our big kitchens are pretty comfy to chill and socialize with people from the same apartment as you. Moreover, you are always welcome to hang out in our pretty decorated reception area, enjoy free tea and coffee and meet other travelers :)

86%

We booked a 'private twin.' A simple room with one power socket, a closet, window and squeaky bunk-beds (nothing else to make the room feel homely - but who cares? It's not a home.) We used the common room for bfast and a few quiet drinks before going out (it always seemed unoccupied - post Fringe Fest) Fabulous location! I walked to the VERY TOP of Authur's Seat in 40min FROM the hostel - beautiful view. 10min stroll 'up' to the main street. Take ear plugs. Helpful staff. Free baggage storage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking your time to review us. Yes, our hostel rooms are very simple and hostel is basic but cheap and in the most central part in the beautiful Old Town :)

89%

Very good location. Very good price Staff very very nice free acess to the computers 2 small problems only: nop locks on rooms and water cols on the shower

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback and strive to improve our hostel.

46%

Toilets are very smelly. Rooms are very small with no proper ventilation. Room entrance is very bad , not at all clean.


71%

The beds were squeky, broken and not attached to the wall. The room was very spacious so we were able to move the mattresses of the top bunks and sleep on the floor which was much better.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(86 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback