Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Crash Palace

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1315 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
8.6

I have wanted to check out Crash Palace for a while as I like the name and I have seen it over the road from the Millenium and often thought that looks like a cool place. As an older person backpackers appear to be the preserve of the young travellers and there is always a slight feeling of why the hell are you staying here. I like the atmosphere of backpacker which is always more family as opposed to business hotels. Crash Palace was cool and run by nice people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
9.4

The perfect hostel for the solo traveller hoping to interact with others. Staff is friendly and helpful, location is central, and the hostel really does a lot for its guests with activities planned every night of the week and amenities on site (spa, pool table, two kitchen, comfy beds, comfy couches in lounge, lots of outdoor space). Not super loud or crazy but highly social. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Best hostel I've stayed at so far in New Zealand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.6

We were a little bit disappointed when we arrived at the hostel and it appeared that my girlfriend and I weren't able to share the same 4 bed dormroom. Would have thought that we would have been advised about that in advance as we booked together. Besides that the staff was friendly, dorm was clean. Free wifi, pasta and rice. They have there own bar (not allowed to bring your own alcohol) Overall a nice hostel to stay at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We do apologise for this, sometimes the system just puts you in seperate rooms and we don't catch it or they are the last beds we have left of that type. Thanks for coming to stay safe travels

14th Feb 2017
10.0

I really loved this hostel. Compared to base it was like staying in a luxury hostel. The wifi was always so strong and the rooms were big enough where you werent walking all over the other occupants. The staff was really friendly. Would definitly recommend. Only con was that it was hot and no AC but at night it was never a problem because plenty of wind. It just made it kind of smell funky in the room because of the sulfur. Also I booked two nights and they made me switch rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the kind words peak season will see people sometimes having to move in order to accomodate bookings made prior to theirs. thanks for coming to stay have a safe trip !

  • ellyandcraig
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Feb 2017
10.0

If every hostel was like Crash Palace, travelling would be a lot easier. Lots of free stuff and nice staff. Couldn't ask for more. As P Money states- 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

you guys make the place we just provide the space !!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
10.0

Great stay !! A special crush on the greeting and the free pasta

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for the review Safe travels !

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
7.4

Security is moot if you can just walk in the back door - it is not so secure so make sure you keep your things locked up. Great social atmosphere if you are looking to mingle.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.3

A fantastic hostel with everything you need , it was secure with lockers and the rooms were clean. The staff were friendly and were happy to book our trips for us. The only problem I had with the hostel was that you couldn't bring your own alcohol , as they had a bar and the kitchen was a little small. Otherwise it was great

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for taking the time to leave a review. As some humans can't control how they drink alcohol, and often cause a major issues for other guest once inebriated, We opted to control this for the comfort of all our guests. have a great trip thanks for coming to stay !!

30th Jan 2017
9.1

Great location. Helpful with booking trips. Really strong wifi. If I go back to Rotorua I will stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HarrietHarper1
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.4

We really liked Crash Palace - it was comfy and clean and there were lots of added extras; free tea, coffee, pasta, rice, cooking oil, herbs and spices, and the wifi was very fast, reliable and free! Really good value for money and located close to the town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.