X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Crash Palace Reviews

1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
654 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Have stayed at Crash before. Was just as good this time. Great stay.


94%

My third stay here, still a great hostel. The owner Chris is a great bloke, can't do enough for you. So many freebies in the TWO kitchens it's unbelievable.


100%

The best hostel I've stayed in NZ. Awesome staff und owner. Chilled atmosphere and definetly an excellent value for money. So much free stuff, Pasta, rice,spices etc. Ah really good hostel to meet people and have a good time. Thumps up for Crash Palace

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel! I loved the mud tour!! :)

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for doing the charity mud tour we appreciate the support ! we brought 2 disabled children an ipad last month so they can develop and learn. you helped us do that so sincerely thank you. safe travels.

86%

Nice People and a friendly atmosphere :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
like attracts like thanks for bringing your friendly self into the hostel safe travels.

100%

Loved this hostel! Staff are friendly, so many activities and facilities. Great value.

Owner Comment (Hide)
wicked review cheers!! our guests also make this the place it is, so cheers for participating in the hostel vibe :) have a great trip.

89%

i liked this place it felt good to chill out here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
nice we love the chilled vibe glad you enjoyed our hostel. safe travels

97%

Great hostel! Staff was very energetic and very informative on different things to do in the area. Booked us a White Water Rafting trip within an hour of us arriving. Large rooms and nice deck area. Got free wifi for booking online. Does some tours that raise money for charities, which is a great idea!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for supporting our charity we love it that guests want to support what we do in the community with our local youth. safe travels

83%

Great mud tour! Fascinating charity organisation of the owner

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good common areas and awesome staff. Would definitely stay here again! No security lockers, but the rooms are all keyed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for taking the time to leave us a review we appreciate it. we have 24 lockers at reception not sure you saw them. have a great trip through nz.

74%

I had a horrible experience with one of the staff members. However, the free internet is a plus compared to other hostels and the atmosphere was more friendly and fun.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for taking the time to review your stay sorry about the bad experience with staff. I will look into the issue.

83%

Free BBQ on the first night - great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
ha ha yep summer BBQs on the deck are the bomb glad you enjoyed the free food hope you have a great trip through nz

100%

Best hostel in New Zealand!!! Staff was awesome and super helpful. Free pasta and rice everyday was great, and the free BBQ on Friday was tasty! Very fun social environment, and the common area was nice and cozy. Only downside is only 24 hours of free wifi, but staff is helpful, just don't depend on internet.


94%

We only had one night and staff made sure we made the most of it, with lots of suggestions and helpful advice. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Location was good, a short walk from the bus station and close to the Polynesian Spa - would recommend a visit. Quiet spot, perfect for relaxing or venturing into town. Would recommend.


97%

Just fantastic, probably the best hostel I've stayed in. It's just a shame it's in Rotorua! Lots of freebies in the kitchen (of which there is two, and the upstairs one is usually empty so use that one), and the nightly activities to win beer in the living room are great fun. Real counter-culture vibe to the place, and nice reggae music plays throughout the day. Will definitely stay again. Ask Daan on the staff for his 2-for-1 vouchers to the Irish pub in town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
come on Rotorua is not that bad :( ha ha ha but yes we so wish we were next to the beach in some remote part of NZ sometimes :) thank you so much for your kind words so pleased you enjoyed the hostel. have a safe and happy new year ! safe travels to you :)

100%

Great hostel! Really good value for money! Really nice little garden and deck outside with a free fresh herb and spice garden! Reception were really friendly and helpful! Would definitely go again and recommend!


71%

Best for young people. Beds were too soft.. Lighting poor. Ruling was upheld with Jacuzzi closing hours.

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your review sorry you found it not satisfactory to what you were after. hope you have a great trip through nz. safe travels to you.

77%

Nice hostel, nice atmosphere, staff ok. Kitchen could be a bit bigger, lack of an oven. But not much else to say otherwise.


57%

i ordered 4-mixed bed rooms, but the reception gave me 2 single beds and a queen size. and just give the explain that the system automatically arranged it. I was so angry with that ,and the kitchen is so bad. dirty...

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for you review we had you booked into a four share room but you were not together. we are sorry for the confusion as we stated we could have put you in different rooms but you wanted to be together so we upgraded you to the family 4 share. safe travels to you.

100%

By far one of the best hostels I've been to in Australia and New Zealand combined. Staff is great especially dan .

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for taking the time to leave a review i will pass the sentiments on to dan. safe travels to you and happy new year !!

« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Rotorua Hostels

Please give us your feedback