Hostelworld.com

Crash Palace

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
Crash Palace Located at 1271 Hinemaru Street, , Rotorua.
Crash Palace
New Zealand
Rotorua Bay of Plenty 3010 1271 Hinemaru Street
88% 1112
-38.1386746 176.2552714
Crash Palace
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2016
9.4

Great location and fab hostel. Loved the fact you got free tea/coffee/spices etc in the kitchen. Friendly staff and very helpful; overall atmosphere was good. There was even a pool table, movie area and hot tub! Well worth your money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for coming to stay. hope you have a great trip, safe travels to you

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th May 2016
9.7

Overall good stay but we were charged a $10 fee to stay after check out to wait for our late bus which seemed unreasonable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback. We think its fair we store bags FREE for guests till 5pm after check out, after this time guests need to pay to use the facilities every time to use the toilet boil the jug as a business we pay it is not free for us so its not free for you sorry you felt this way. I thank you for you review and feedback and wish you safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st May 2016
10.0

Super helpful staff. Booked my excursions through the hostel for great prices! Great location and a really great atmosphere. Would def recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheapest place to stay and play in NZ we aim to discount everything to save you money. thanks for the kind words, safe travels !

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
11th May 2016
8.0

The hostel is really nice and has a good atmosphere. I just didn't liked the owner, because he charged me more money because hostelworld booked a bed double so he needed to give a smaller dorm. But it was not my fault and guest should not pay for mistakes of hostelworld. Otherwise he was really friendly and helpful with bookings for tours etc. The kitchens were well equipped and the location good. Go to the Polynesian Spa!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th May 2016
9.1

I had a great stay at Crash Palace during my 3 night there. The staff make a great effort to make everyone feel welcome and put on events most evenings to involve all the guests, e.g. Movie night, BBQ, pancakes. There was plenty of space to socialise, although some evenings were a bit loud with the music because the walls are fairly thin. The bathrooms were always spotless but the kitchen was often dirty, with an open bin so lots of flies around! Overall, a great stay, thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review safe travels to you

10th May 2016
8.9

good location and facility was clean. the walls are very thin and there is no quiet time in effect so if you have an early morning it can be hard to get sleep. only stayed one night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry you found it hard to get to sleep thanks for coming to stay. Safe travels to you.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th May 2016
9.1

We got a good deal as it was and were upgraded to a smaller dorm on arrival which was nice. Lovely staff, plenty of kitchen space and bathrooms, near to everything you need. Only downsides were it was a bit noisy later at night, mattresses weren't too comfy but still slept OK but im not convinced I'd ever get used to the 'unique' smell of Rotorua that sadly was everywhere!! Would defo stay here again though and recommend to others!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yeah egg farts are a hard smell to get used to ha ha thanks for the review i have seen a few re mattress's and would you believe most are new !! we are talking with the manufacturer and they are looking to supply a different mattress for us to try. Comfort is important to us and we hope to resolve this minor issue in the future. thanks for the feedback and coming to stay ! safe travels to you

30th Apr 2016
9.4

Great location and great staff. Also very roomy home. Reminded me of college days. The hostel is not far from anything in the city center and coming back here felt great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Mint glad we gave you a place you enjoyed returning to have a great trip safe travels to you

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Apr 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel! Really nice staff - helpful and kind. Always felt clean and had really good facilities. You get your washing done for a really good price and get discount with all activities! Stay here!!! So cheap also!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for coming to stay ! We try to be the best value hostel in NZ and discount everything for our guest where we can. our friendly guest defiantly contribute to the great atmosphere we have at the palace so cheers for coming to stay and taking part in what goes on! have a great trip. safe travels

29th Apr 2016
10.0

This place rocked! The location is great and it has so many perks, like free bbq dinners.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You guys make the place cheers for coming to stay Travel safe!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.