Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Crash Palace

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1406 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1406 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Macau, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2017
6.6

Pros: Good location for Rotorua Friendly staff Ok for the price Cons: 1. Only one electric hole is working, the rest are broke 2. The shower is not hot enough 3. The lock for your room is very easy to break 4. Female bathroom is very dirty (from my gf)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.7

So far one of my favorite hostels in NZ, it's got a nice vibe to it and the staff is very friendly. There's events in the evening and good music in the living room/bar, not to mention a nice hot pool and plenty of corners for hanging out. Bunk beds are really comfortable, although the blankets are a bit thin. Kitchens are tiny and there's very little space there for chopping or putting down things while cooking, so I recommend cooking your dinner at an odd hour or just eating outside.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.1

Friendly staff, good environment.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.0

WiFi was super fast, rooms were clean and we even had a table and chairs in our 4 bed dorm. They offered free pasta on Thursday and have plenty of DVDs to watch. Just a shame that there's almost no room to eat upstairs, had to eat dinner in my room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.1

Great place to stay if you are looking to meet other travellers - especially if travelling alone. Cosy communal area and bar mean you have ample opportunity to mix with others. Cheap bar makes up for the fact you can't bring your own alcohol on-site. No complaints with regards to cleanliness - good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.0

Overall it is a good hostel. In our personal experience the nights we stayed there was a teens rugby team and the kids made noise all night long even after several request to lower the party that they were having. There was no hostel staff who could help us to calm them down. Regarding hostel facilities there were 2 kitchens very well equipped and asked in the reception they will give you free rice. Every night has its own theme, movie night with free pop corn or pool night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
9.4

Comfy beds, great central location, close to everything in town. Friendly staff, common areas are kept really clean. Prices of alcoholic drinks in the in house bar are fairly priced. Also there is FREE UNLIMITED HIGH SPEED WIFI! There are daily activities each night which promotes a social vibe, otherwise guests would pretty much keep to themselves (not the hostel's fault). it's one of the cheapest places to stay in Rotorua too, so staying here is a no brainer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Apr 2017
9.7

I had a great stay at crash palace. Location is still central and close enough to everything. Amazing vibes here, especially the beer pong! Even if you're not a party animal, there's free movies and video games in a modern themed chillnout area. The bar has cheap drinks, and the staff are more than happy to help out. The rooms and bedding have a fresh feeling to them and very comfortable, even in the larger dorms! Showers are warm and the whole hostel well maintained. I'd definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
10.0

Such a great place to stay! Cheap drinks at the bar, BBQ, pancakes and Beer pong included if you stay there over the weekend! Facilities are kept in excellent condition and everyone is very friendly and accommodating! Definitely recommend as THE place to stay in Rotorua.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
9.4

High recommended, kitchen nice and well equipped, good atmosphere, lockers with good size, free hotpot!, storrage room, nice and helpful staff, book daytrips like hobbiton/spa etc at reception and you get a discount. Would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.