Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Crazy Mzungos Zanzibar Reviews

Paje, Zanzibar, Zanzibar, Tanzania

Reviews & Ratings Explained


14 Total Reviews
  • 45%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 55%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Our stay at Crazy Mzungos was very disappointing. The food was bad and staff was absolutely not interested in its guests. Partly no water in the rooms. Rooms where without any decoration or additional furniture but quite clean. Restaurant and beach didn't get cleaned regularly. Sunbeds where mostly broken. The location was really nice though!


Extremely terrible service and lack of communication with establishment. After trying to get a response about an airport pick-up for 4 weeks, I only got an email on the day before we were scheduled to arrive. We were told that our reservation was not possible. This is 24hrs before our scheduled arrival after trying to get hold of the place for 4 weeks. Still awaiting a refund from Hostelworld/Crazy Mzungo. The beach is also one of the worst I had been to in Zanzibar.


We were "upgraded" from a bungalow to a suite. Which was a very basic accomm. A bed with a mosquito net. A dresser of sort. A clean bathroom, with hot salt water for shower. The view from our "suite" was beautiful, and the open air concept on the ocean front windows was quite nice to listen to the ocean. We had dinner one night, it was a tad overpriced, but this seemed to be the case for Zanzibar as a whole. Drinks were weak and $5USD or more a piece. Staff was great help in many situations.


Crazy Mungo's was a lovely place to stay in a beautiful location on the beach. However, there was no running hot water throughout our stay, despite reporting this to the staff and management, and occasionally no cold running water either. But this is Africa!

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

Better communication up front. 1. A sick cook: We didn't know. I got stomach sick. 2. After a terrible sound in the roof at night, we got told the next day there might be a monkey in the roof sometimes. Now scared the hell out of us at 3 am. 3. No closet space in the room, at the beginning we got told that all is safe there's protection in the walls for bugs etc. Our bags got eaten by rats/mouses. So not SAFE at all. Key: Be open and communicate better. Now you have unhappy guests!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback, we have never had an ill guest due to food at our restaurant, in fact most of our reviews are about the great food!! Also, if the Chef was ill and not cooking, you got sick eating outside? The Bandas are organic and made of coconut palm and there are bush babies in the area, so sorry for the disturbance. The banda you stayed in is brand new, built in 2012. We have inspected the Banda to try and find better ways to secure this and will be replacing some of the palm with concrete (which is taking away from the much loved organics) this year. There is a rail for hanging clothes in the room and 2 clothes cabinets? Apologies for the discomfort!


This was the most relaxing and chilled out place I have ever stayed. Four girls travelling together and we never felt more safe. The staff were extremely friendly and VERY helpful, especially Gerard. We had issues with getting our luggage to the island and he tracked it down for us. The highlight of this place however is the food. It was the best we had on the entire island. Moses the chef is a true gem. Would definitely recommend Crazy Mzungos to anyone travelling to Zanzibar on the cheap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hallo Katherine and friends... thank you for the thorough review and it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us... we could see you unwinding day by day... Gerard is an absolute asset to the business and we will make sure he is rewarded accordingly... thank you for recommending Crazy Mzungo's and you are welcome back "home in Zanzibar" anytime!! team crazy


poorly managed. Anthony has no clue what he's doing. had no chef or barman for 3 days, which wasn't bad because i ate at pakacha's every day which was delicious. mosquito net had a hole in it and i had about 30 mozzy bites over the course of a week, no hot showers. would love to come back to Bwejuu but would never stay at a Vanilla Arches property again if they paid me, management is the worst i've seen

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologise for the discomfort experienced during your stay, this is most unusual? Anthony has been debriefed to try clarify. Sadly, Chef had taken ill during that time with malaria and a replacement was due shortly, so kitchen was temporarily closed 3 days which isn't ideal. Anthony hence directed you to a lovely restaurant next door and we are glad you enjoyed that. The bar was in fact very much OPEN and drinks were served to you and your partner each evening!?? As for the mosquitoes - nets are checked regularly and replaced. Housekeeping DO in fact spray the room daily as part of their routine and your mosquitoe problem was solved after the 1st night...... This is the tropics, temperatures reach 40 + and cold water is warmed during the day by the sun - this is clearly communicated to guests on all webpages, so in fact should not have been a surprise to you? Feedback from our barman Gerard was that you actually had really enjoyed the time spent and the company at Crazy Mzungo's.... so this of course does come as a surprise! Kind Regards Management


crazy mzungos is nice, the food is not that cheap but really really good and it's worth every hour you wait. the staff is really friendly and the huts are nice. anyways, to enjoy the sea you definitely have to go to the north. the tides are low until 5, and then you need to go through a lot of seaweed to finally take a swim.

  • 4th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


crazy mzungos has a lot of character and we enjoyed our time there from the moment we arrived.staff are very friendly and all excursions and arrangments were made easily and at decent rates. food was excellent and we had our best meal on the island at mzungos - full of charachter . overall great experience !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! We trust the rest of your honeymoon was as lovely... It was great meeting you both and and hopefully you will return one day... thanks for the book by the way.. it was everything you said it would be! lol


Three of us stayed in Crazy Mzungos after climbing Kilimanjaro. It was exactly the relaxing break we needed! The atmosphere was brilliant and so chilled out. Waking up ten steps from the beach was brilliant. The food was good and the breakfast which was included was a good size with fruit and pancakes or eggs.The staff were friendly and helpful. Would reccommend them to anyone! Rooms and bathrooms were good sizes too.


Amazing place to stay if you don't want to spend a fortune. Full of character and relaxing atmosphere. The best asset for Grazy Mzungos is their staff. Without the owner we have missed out on so many amazing places and being welcomed with a smile every time we arrived back in the hotel made our whole holiday. We actually went away to north for our second weel of holiday and ended up coming back.

  • 11th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

View all Zanzibar Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback