Hostelworld.com

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 530 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 530 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
Criterion Art Deco Backpackers Located at 48 Emerson Street, City Centre, Napier.
Criterion Art Deco Backpackers
New Zealand
Napier 4110 48 Emerson Street, City Centre
86% 530
-39.4900492 176.9180640
Criterion Art Deco Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th May 2016
9.1

Very relaxed atmosphere and the manager is very easy-going and helpful. Free breakfast was included which I did not expect so that was a bonus. Everything super clean. As other people have said the decor etc is a bit dated and in some cases a little shabby, but I was very happy staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
6.6

Great location but very dark & cold hostel with strange smell. Beds okay but terrible pillows. Good kitchen. Hostel has a weird vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • angiesen5678
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th May 2016
5.4

Would not recommend, very disappointing. The lobby area has an art deco style but to be honest that is the only thing going for it, and that wouldn't be enough of a reason to stay here. Everything else about this hostel seems run down. The bedding seems VERY old and grotty and didn't feel clean. The staff were nice when you could find them but they always had to be seeked out. I asked to rent a towel, the lady gave me one free to use (which was nice of her) but I then discovered it was filthy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
9.4

Fantastic location, great low price. Slightly dated but that's part of the charm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
9.4

I stayed here for just one night and enjoyed it. The staff is very helpful and the building has an art deco feel to it. Has Wif-Fi, a big kitchen with free breakfast in the mornings and a large lounge area. It's located right in the centre of town which is very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Apr 2016
9.1

I enjoyed my stay, even though it was only for one night. The lady/owner/manager(?) clearly makes a effort to show everyone around the property when you arrive and chats with folk. She made the place feel homely and made sure to contact her if there was any issues. Nice that there was a free pool table to play on. Great to sit on the balcony with breakfast in the morning. Downside was only one plug socket in room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
8.6

I stayed here just for the one night and it was a really friendly place. Only negative would probably be the stairs coming up (not great with suitcases, but an awesome guy helped me :)). The place has a lot of character and a big kitchen and lounge area and seemed to be a great mix of people staying!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2016
9.4

A lovely building well situated and decorated. Staff were most helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Apr 2016
9.1

Really cool art deco style hostel, awesome communal area with high ceilings. Wi-Fi strong, and big, clean kitchen. Right in the centre of town!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
9.1

Awesome vibes, love the front balcony!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.