Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 674 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 674 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Mar 2017
8.9

Having seen other reviews of this hostel, we approached with a degree of trepidation, but as we were only staying one night we thought we'd give it a chance. Very glad we did. The hostel itself is lovely, with one of the nicest and largest common areas I've seen. Excellent kitchen, and the dorms were absolutely fine. To those people who've written disparaging comments about the landlady, I can see why some people don't get her sense of humour, but if you do, she's great. Loosen up a bit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
9.4

Great hostel everyone is super friendly and social. You'll definitely not want to leave, but when you do you'll have surely made great friends. Kay is super nice and cares about all of her guest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Mar 2017
6.0

The building was cool, but the hostel, like the city, was a complete train wreck. If you're looking for a party vibe, this might fit the bill, as everyone, including the staff was blatantly drunk. The free wifi was not working during the 3 days we were there, and no one seemed to eager to fix it. Napier's restaurants and shops were no better for free wifi, perhaps try the library if this is a necessity on your visit. On a positive note, the kitchen was large & a free light breakfast is provided.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
8.0

Could have been a bit cleaner and the WiFi had issues but overall fine. Would have loved an extra pillow as the pillows were a bit flat. But minor point. Great location. We'll stocked kitchen. Good social areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
9.4

Loved this hostel! Awesome common areas to relax in, clean kitchen, lots of long term stays here that are all very nice. Friendly staff, great location, all around good experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.3

The doors were incredibly annoying as they swung and made a loud noise (right outside our bedroom). This prevented us sleeping. The showers were not that clean. On a positive note, the kitchen was really good as were the lounge facilities. The staff were very helpful and the atmosphere was great. Just find a room away from the door!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
8.9

Overall a charming little facility and the free breakfast was a good bonus. Cleanliness can be improved as people staying long-term for work seem to think they can leave drunken messes as they please in the kitchen and dining room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
10.0

We had a fabulous stay. Kay, the manager, was really warm, welcoming and could not have been more helpful. The Criterion is a lovely old Art Deco hotel that must have been very grand in its heyday. Nowadays it provides great value for money backpacker accommodation andcouldnt be better situated right in the heart of town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
6.0

Very good location, comfortable beds and bathrooms were decently clean, sink in the private room was a plus. However, staff was neither particularly helpful nor friendly. However, there was no safe or locker in private room, people were very loud (yelling, shouting, cheering) until 4 am and no rules were enforced. The fridges smelled so nasty that we didn't want to touch our own food anymore after putting it in. The WiFi did not work 90% of the time. Hostel needs renovation. Not recommended.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my overnight stay. The only small problem for me was carrying my bags up the stairs to the hostels first floor reception area and also to and from where the inter city bus arrives and departs - it's a good 10 minutes - which isn't bad but you feel it when you're carrying bags. But the hostel is located close to the main shopping mall and the beach - which was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.