Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7
Criterion Art Deco Backpackers Located at 48 Emerson Street, City Centre, Napier.
Criterion Art Deco Backpackers
New Zealand
Napier 4110 48 Emerson Street, City Centre
88% 608
-39.4900492 176.9180640
Criterion Art Deco Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jan 2017
7.1

There were loud drunk people crying and screaming in the middle of the night and the employees room was in another hall. Nice place but rowdy and not a great night sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
10.0

Loved it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jan 2017
4.9

Clean room with very comfortable bed. Was checked in by a very drunk woman named Kaye, the hostel manager I assume ?. The common areas untidy, unclean and dated. The place has a very unwelcoming feel, I am glad that I had only booked one night and had ear plugs as there was a lot of noise coming from people out on the balcony in the early hours.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Dec 2016
9.7

Great location and value for money. Large kitchen and open lounge, dining area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
8.3

Big old hotel. Loads of beds and lots of seasonal workers but nice vibe and right in the middle of town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sabrinaseeler6965
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.6

Nice hostel in great location - only a bit difficult when coming by car (need to park a little up the road). Old building with art deco feeling.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jessicaarmitage981
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
16th Dec 2016
7.1

After a 10 minute wait and phone call, check in lady grumpy on check in. Room supposed to be 8 beds but was 10. No lockers. Wifi only worked in common area. Everyone staying were workers so not a great atmosphere for solo travellers. Very central and close to bus stop and beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
6.3

Arrived to find no one at the desk and upon calling the number requested, we were faced 10 minutes later with a very tired, groggy, employee who said she was overworked. It is an unfortunate first impression for such a lovely town. The laundry also left a lot to be desired unfortunately.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2016
10.0

Fantastic 1 night stay at this hostel. Got upgraded to a twin room with ensuite as dorms had booked up! Boss was a lovely, helpful woman. Great location, friendly woofers and a lovely atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
8.6

I do recommend this hostel. The location is the best! Right in the center of town and the staff was very helpful. Just avoid a room on the side with the pub across the street-they are open late and the patrons are very noisy. I would definitely stay here again if I return, just facing another street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.