Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 637 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 637 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • gemmajolly
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
7.7

I didn't like this hostel. The beds were uncomfy and they lost our booking. The location is good but the rest of it is chaos.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel in a great city! Perfect location right in the centre of Napier. Friendly staff and the hostel had a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Great kitchen. Only downside was that wifi did not extend into the dorm rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.7

Great hostel, really easy to find off the bus. Kay who runs it is lovely and will answer any question you have. Was due to stay in 4 bed dorm but was full so was moved to a two bed (was travelling withmy cousin) which was amazing! Located centrally in Napier . breakfast I'd a great addition. The building I'd pure art deco and lovely

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
7.7

Nice, large rooms, somewhat quite, about 1.5K, 1+mile to town center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
9th Feb 2017
7.7

Good points- good location, in the heart of the city and easy walk from the bus station. The hostel has a pool table, table tennis table and tv- so can't really go wrong. Plus there is free breakfast- bread with butter and other spreads. Wifi works in the common areas. Not so good- many long term staying backpackers who are not very social or friendly, living at the hostel and very loud. Fridges had no space for more food. Overall yes I would stay here again and I recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.0

Great location and friendly staff. Lovely Art Deco building with great atmosphere. Eclectic group of people using this hostel from all ages. Great to chill outdoors on the balcony at night after a full day of travel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

The fabulous hosts make a very warm welcome and have created a fabulous VFM space. Just a shame that some of the guests don't clean up their mess. That said...We would definitely recommend for the money conscious traveller. Jen, Steve, Amanda and Steve.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Monxville
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
7.4

Good hostel but definitely catered for long stays who are working. They treat the place as home so expect a lot of noise at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th Jan 2017
8.6

Lovely staff and great location. Cleanliness left a little tobit be desired and the WiFi didn't reach the rooms but overall I was happy there for a few nights. It was a bit noisy which was disappointing as I had purposely booked a single room thinking it would be nice to have a decent nights sleep but could here people in the common area till 2 or 3 each night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
7.1

There were loud drunk people crying and screaming in the middle of the night and the employees room was in another hall. Nice place but rowdy and not a great night sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.