X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers Reviews

48 Emerson Street, City Centre, Napier, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
384 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I really enjoyed it. Special place, unique Hostel. Fantastic!

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice common area. Included breakfast was basic but good and a good variety. The room was ok. Some spots where the plaster crumbled away from the wall. Bed was worn.


74%

The art deco hostel is well located, clean and breakfast is included with tea, coffee, milk, cereals, jams and bread. The 4 female bedroom is big enough to store everyone's backpacks. Free WiFi available in the common areas.


74%

Beds are old and feel more like the grand canyon. Bedrooms smell.


91%

Loved this hostel! Aside from the extremely squeeky door, beds are nice and rooms are spacious. Owner was really nice and free breakfast and WiFi are awesome and unheard of in nz. Location was also perfect, Napier is a lovely town.


63%

Location: Great! Right in the middle of the City Center and one block away from the beautiful beach. Security: Not so good. I mean the front door is wide open. Anyone could come and go. Lots of guests staying there, so how did the keep track of who is staying there and who is not. Cleanliness: On a scale of 1 to 10? I would rate it 5...may be 6. You can tell as you walk around the place that it could use some new paint, carpet cleaning, and maybe even new furniture. Decent place.

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Got a good welcome and were shown around. Good ensuite double for us mature travellers but enjoyed company of multi national young and not so young in the good kitchen and lounge areas. Free toast and spreads as well as cereal and drinks for breakfast was a real plus and the art Deco building is a treat to stay inin, as well as being very conveniently situated in the heart of Napier.

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Really enjoyed my stay at the Art Deco backpackers. Cool building with a lot of character, great atmosphere as soon as you walk in. FREE Wifi and FREE breakfast. Clean kitchen and bathrooms. Leonie on the front desk was very kind and helpful. All in all it was a great stay and I would definitely recommend.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Bang in the centre of Napier on the main high street. Hostel has a good art decor feel and far different from usual industrial style hostels. Older/Family crowd here so not too backpacker social. No lockers which isn't great. Free breakfast each morning is good


60%

The communal areas were continually exposed to cooking smells,& likewise were grubby,the house phone did not work,the in room t.v. had no reception,&the bedroom was totally exposed to the industrial noises of the city garbage &street sweepers.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic location. Would use again.

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent art deco building in the middle of an art deco town. Only a short walk from intercity coach terminal. Friendly atmosphere.


86%

Great place! Very quiet!


89%

it was great the only problem was finding the place and some where to park the car. Other then that happy as :)

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hostel, fab location next to shops but just across road from sea front. Lovely big common areas, kitchen and bathrooms really clean and beds comfy. Would stay again.


80%

Suited us fine for a weekday getaway!! Real enjoyed our stay thank you... :)

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Really liked this hostel, it is a cool building and the facilities are great. Large communal area, free breakfast, lots of things to do. The only negative I have to say about it was the really bad atmosphere between the stff. The man who seemed to be the manager came across as a bully towards the other staff and had a raised voice argument with a girl while we were all eating our breakfast. It was just pretty unprofessional and I felt sorry for the girl and the other workers.


69%

Awesome friendly staff and free complimentary breakfast was great. But we booked an en-suite and it was just a toilet and shower cubicle in our room. So there was a wall but it was like the public toilets with a gap between the floor and the roof. Was very disturbing in a twin room with that in the room going to the toilet = awkward! so make sure you ask if the en-suite is in a separate room! That is the only reason I rated facilities and value for money as poor.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I have stayed at Criterion Art Deco backpackers before, a couple of years ago. That´s why I chosed that one again. It feels like a home, not a backpackers place. That is just perfect!

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

One of the hostels, where you step in and you know you are at the right place.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Napier Hostels

Please give us your feedback