Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Criterion Art Deco Backpackers Located at 48 Emerson Street, City Centre, Napier.
Criterion Art Deco Backpackers
New Zealand
Napier 4110 48 Emerson Street, City Centre
86% 551
-39.4900492 176.9180640
Criterion Art Deco Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Sep 2016
8.0

I had a far-too-brief time in Napier, and this hostel only made it more tragic that I could not stay longer. Very cool old building, great huge common areas and quite decent facilities. Welcoming and hospitable staff. Next time, more time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

I would highly recommend this hostel - really good location, nice staff, great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
7.7

Clean and easy-going, good location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2016
9.7

The period Criterion Hotel is a "vintage" Art Deco (AD) hotel in the best of ways (check out the door handles), and if you come to this city for the AD, you will also find it in the hotel. Kay is the manager, and she does do what she can to make your stay an enjoyable one. The Criterion Hotel is very convenient to local eateries and Napier's AD architecture and other sites, too. Designated parking is nearby. You may want to supplement your breakfast. The AD Walking Tour is worthwhile.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
6.0

When I booked it clearly stated Parking as an amenity but they have no parking and when I asked I was told free street parking was several books away. Having a rental car I would have booked someplace else if I knew I would have to park several books away.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
9.4

The location couldn't be better and the atmosphere is very relaxed mostly because of the friendly staff, which is available at any time, and the good facilities! All in all a great bargain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th May 2016
9.1

Very relaxed atmosphere and the manager is very easy-going and helpful. Free breakfast was included which I did not expect so that was a bonus. Everything super clean. As other people have said the decor etc is a bit dated and in some cases a little shabby, but I was very happy staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
6.6

Great location but very dark & cold hostel with strange smell. Beds okay but terrible pillows. Good kitchen. Hostel has a weird vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • angiesen5678
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th May 2016
5.4

Would not recommend, very disappointing. The lobby area has an art deco style but to be honest that is the only thing going for it, and that wouldn't be enough of a reason to stay here. Everything else about this hostel seems run down. The bedding seems VERY old and grotty and didn't feel clean. The staff were nice when you could find them but they always had to be seeked out. I asked to rent a towel, the lady gave me one free to use (which was nice of her) but I then discovered it was filthy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
9.4

Fantastic location, great low price. Slightly dated but that's part of the charm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.