Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 726 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 726 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jun 2017
8.3

The building is old, but kept up pretty well. The room itself (8 bed, female dorm) was very spacious, clean and had a guest-controlled heater which was great for the cold. A sign on the door instructed not to take off the duvet upon leaving, which makes me question if those are changed/cleaned in between guests, so I would recommend using the extra sheet as a barrier when making the bed. Fireplaces, pool table and hostel dog made for good conversation and hang-outs. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.6

Perfect location in the centre of Napier, clean facilities and well stocked kitchen. Free breakfast was really handy, cereal and bread with different spreads and free tea and coffee all day. Sink in the bedroom was a nice bonus. Nice common areas with TV and a pool table. Free WiFi was strong.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jun 2017
10.0

Beautiful décor, RIGHT in the centre, on the main street, with everything in walking distance, discounts on bike hire, would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Jun 2017
9.7

It was a very good place to stay, specially if you are in Napier! The hostel was in Art Deco and I really love this kind of building. It's like you come back in the 20s ! Such a beautiful place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
8.6

Excellent Location, right in the middle of CBD. Friendly hospitality by the staff. Just some door needs oiling ;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th May 2017
8.0

It's really good value for money. The location is perfect as well! I had clothes go missing and not returned so watch your stuff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
9.7

Perfect location! Friendly staff. Clean, great shower. Much appreciate the 24 hour check in. May I recommend another blanket on the beds though please, for the Autumn & winter seasons. Also the breakfast included on offer wasn't explained to us so we didn't know what or where to grab ourselves some. As we didn't know which food was for every guest or privately brought in. Would definitely stay again though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • qitemun6865
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th May 2017
7.4

The lady at reception was very helpful and upgraded my room upon my late arrival. When I inquired about traffic over the phone, the gentleman wasn't very informative about my options. Facility is basic but good value for the price given their central location. There wasn't heating on so was really cold at night. The lady was kind enough to let me use extra blankets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
7.4

They do not have parking, despite it being listed as available on this site. There is metered street parking (often with time limits) in the area, or free street parking several blocks away. They should not advertise that they have parking - it's misleading.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • emmaluck819052
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Apr 2017
9.4

The hostel lady was really friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.