X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Crooked House Reviews

Nieuwe Looiersstraat 112, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
60 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Great ans quiet nabourhood. But still close to the city center. The host was very kind and made us feel at welcome. Unfortunately the room lacked some things. For example the bed.. it was horrible, one of the madrasses waa broken and the other wasnt much better. For one to be able to sleep you'd also have to turn off the fridge as ir makes alot of koize every half hour or so. Also the pipes of the house make noize. So bring earplugs!! That said. We would stay there again æ. Cozy and cheap1


94%

We were so chuffed that we had managed to end up with such a lovely studio flat right in such and ideal location. It was significantly cheaper than any hotels/hostels we could find especially with the kitchenette and nearby supermarkets so that we could prepare meals there. It was a very nice, quiet area at night and felt very safe. Some interesting little shops nearby as well as the beautiful canals. I would definitely recommend the Crooked House to anyone looking to visit Amsterdam.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The Crooked House has exceeded our expectations. The location is perfect, walking distance from both tourist attractions and places frequented by locals, best of both worlds. The studio comes equipped with towels and kitchen necessities, such as salt, sugar and tea; it also has a good selection of guide books and we were welcomed with a bottle of wine on our first night! The owner Martyn was very also very helpful. If I go back to Amsterdam, I'll stay there again. Fully recommended!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Perfect Host. Perfect place. Perfect Stay. All you can ask to live Amsterdam more as a resident than as a tourist.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Fantastic location, cute little basement studio in the crooked house. Martin, the owner is delightful and very knowledgable about the area. This place has everything you need, and more. The only slight issue was the smell of damp in the room, however this is only noticeable when you first walk in. Thanks for a great stay!

  • 2nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Lovely house, decorated nicely in a great area. Owners were helpful and welcoming, would stay again.


74%

Small room and bathroom but all u need is there. Good location near the bars.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

This place was like having our own apartment in Amsterdam which was amazing. Cute room with a bathroom and a little kitchen. However, if you're looking to meet people this is not the spot since it's just a little apartment rented out by a dutch family. If you're looking for a chill spot to come home to after a day or night out, this is your place. Great location, and gives you more of an independent Amsterdam experience.


66%

The damp in the air was kinda annoying since it kept our towel wet overnight. Their toilet/shower were not properly lit and ventilated.

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

it was just a warm and cosy home with everything you need.. not like a strange and cold hotelroom.. it was a HOME!!! :-) so glad i found this place!

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice and quiet street in the city center. Perfect little place for 2 people to stay a couple of days i Amsterdam. Thumps up for the crooked house and its owner Martyn ! :)

  • 9th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good, well equipped studio room. Location was great and within walking distance of many things. Great deli at the end of the road for breakfast! The guy who lives upstairs was very friendly and helpful when I needed to borrow a charger! There was just one downside - the studio is in a basement and is really damp - for me this was a problem :-( If you don't mind damp I would recommend, if you do then perhaps go elsewhere. If this gets sorted then it's perfect!


89%

Basically a studio flat in the basement of an old house in the south ring of canals. A little unconventional compared to your average cheap hotel, but so much the better for it. Great location, quiet and charming but near to everything. Great privacy too. Even has basic cooking facilities. Pleasant manager/owner. Would definitely return. Très sympa, on peut vraiment se sentir chez soi. Veille maison. Tranquille mais près de tout

  • 1st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Wicked time, perfect place, great location, sweet shower... All in all awesome! No complaints! Thanks for the great stay!


97%

We are so happy we can stay in Crooked House, because " Crooked" is the unique feature in Amsterdam. The equipments of kitchen , location are very good, the owner and his son are very nice. and this is a "studio" , not just a room, excellent value!


80%

Loved the crooked house! Great location and you're left to do what u want!! Ike was cool :-) would definitely stay again

  • 27th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A very lovely place! We would definitely stay here again if we came back to Amsterdam! (it is not mentioned, but sheets and towels are provided, tea, coffee and some fruit, too)


97%

We had an amazing weekend staying at the Crooked House. The place is is in a great location in a more local part of Amsterdam, allowing us to get a more local experience, however still close enough to walk to the Red Light District if that is what you are interested in seeing. The studio was full of character and very clean. Martaan was very accommodating. We would definately stay here again.

  • 17th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We had a large room in the basement of a typical Amsterdam old town building. Host was really nice and helpful. Would definetly recommend it and stay again.


89%

The location is good, but it'll better for people to have or to rent a bike. Because the house is quite far from the center of Amsterdam by walk. The buses are not far, but for people like me how don't want to take them on holiday and prefer to enjoy through the city, the bicycle is the best way to discover all the city at any time.


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback