X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Crooked House Reviews

Nieuwe Looiersstraat 112, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
83 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very private place in great location. It is a studio with everything you need: kitchen, shower, even TV and complimentary wine and beer. Super nice owner. We liked our stay a lot, everything in walking distance and at night this cozy place to come back to.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

It was strange it was only one room. But it was very quiet and private


91%

Lovely hospitality, friendly and helpful. Very good location, can easily walk or get public transport.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The guy who checked us in was very hospitable nd had a lot of info about the area. Very nice fellow too.


94%

Lovely place to stay at for a long weekend! The location was really good and allowed us to walk around in the city centre as well as the museums and Vondelpark with ease. Nice kitchenette and fridge, towels, map and umbrellas (!) readily available; there were also complimentary treats and beer, which was really sweet. The shower had a boiler system that took a bit of time, but there was always warm water - and shampoos and other shower products, to our happy surprise. Thank you very much!

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Definitely would stay again!

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Lovely studio flat in a very quiet central location, perfect.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Firstly I would like to say the manager/ owner was lovely.. The property is damp.. The bed Is damp.. We had to buy sheets because we couldn't sleep as the bed was cold and damp and wet.. I've never had this problem anywhere that we have Stayed!!! The shower is grimmy and old .. All the tiles are cracked as are the tiles on all the floors.. We loved Amsterdam but would never stay or recommend the Crooked House.. Sorry.. In desperate need or damp proofing and redecorating!!!!

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice little studio in a convenient area, although a little out from the City Centre. Is a basement studio, has all the basic facilities you need and a comfortable bed and Lucius, the son of the owner was very pleasant when I "checked in". However it is quite basic, no frills and I would recommend you bring an anti insect burner as I was kept awake by mosquitos! But with these provisos I would recommend it and would certainly make a repeat booking.


77%

Great little house to stay in, not especially close to anything but not far to the nearest tram stop, and it's Amsterdam so it's within reasonable walking distance anyway. The room was quite damp while we were there, it could have done with being aired/dried out before arrival, but other than that it was great. Having the small kitchen there is excellent for the nights you just want to stay in!


77%

Great ans quiet nabourhood. But still close to the city center. The host was very kind and made us feel at welcome. Unfortunately the room lacked some things. For example the bed.. it was horrible, one of the madrasses waa broken and the other wasnt much better. For one to be able to sleep you'd also have to turn off the fridge as ir makes alot of koize every half hour or so. Also the pipes of the house make noize. So bring earplugs!! That said. We would stay there again æ. Cozy and cheap1


94%

We were so chuffed that we had managed to end up with such a lovely studio flat right in such and ideal location. It was significantly cheaper than any hotels/hostels we could find especially with the kitchenette and nearby supermarkets so that we could prepare meals there. It was a very nice, quiet area at night and felt very safe. Some interesting little shops nearby as well as the beautiful canals. I would definitely recommend the Crooked House to anyone looking to visit Amsterdam.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The Crooked House has exceeded our expectations. The location is perfect, walking distance from both tourist attractions and places frequented by locals, best of both worlds. The studio comes equipped with towels and kitchen necessities, such as salt, sugar and tea; it also has a good selection of guide books and we were welcomed with a bottle of wine on our first night! The owner Martyn was very also very helpful. If I go back to Amsterdam, I'll stay there again. Fully recommended!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent, will be going back! The owner is the best! Really friendly and the location is great.


97%

Perfect Host. Perfect place. Perfect Stay. All you can ask to live Amsterdam more as a resident than as a tourist.


91%

Fantastic location, cute little basement studio in the crooked house. Martin, the owner is delightful and very knowledgable about the area. This place has everything you need, and more. The only slight issue was the smell of damp in the room, however this is only noticeable when you first walk in. Thanks for a great stay!

  • 2nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Lovely house, decorated nicely in a great area. Owners were helpful and welcoming, would stay again.


74%

Small room and bathroom but all u need is there. Good location near the bars.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

This place was like having our own apartment in Amsterdam which was amazing. Cute room with a bathroom and a little kitchen. However, if you're looking to meet people this is not the spot since it's just a little apartment rented out by a dutch family. If you're looking for a chill spot to come home to after a day or night out, this is your place. Great location, and gives you more of an independent Amsterdam experience.


66%

The damp in the air was kinda annoying since it kept our towel wet overnight. Their toilet/shower were not properly lit and ventilated.

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback