X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Crooked Retreat Reviews

33 York Street, Blackpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
36 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Just disappointed it wasn't a bed and breakfast lolike the sign says

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Warm welcome when I arrived staff were very helpful indeed breakfast nice rooms brilliant definitely go back to this place nice location

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
20%

This is fraud. I booked accommodation at this hostel. But the Owner told us that they didn't recevie any booking in my name. I lost £15 , which I paid as initial payment online through hostelworld.com Please be cautious while booking for this Hostel.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Highly recommend to others to would like to visit Blackpool. The staff is so lovely and friendly, we enjoy the stay...

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Bed was broken doors didn't shut propely windows held open by piece of wood

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best staying I had in the UK.


83%

We enjoyed stay there. Room lock system was not proper.


80%

Nice for this cheap price

  • 5th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

This place is literally crooked, it was fine just for one night but I wouldn't stay here again


80%

All in all a decent stay and experience. Special praise to the family who own the business. Were very friendly and warm!


86%

Had a really enjoyable stay

  • 18th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

..well located hostel, staff very kind and funny. Room was really small and only good for a night or so. We spent a friday night there so it was a bit loud (there was a group of hens partying). Owner/manager was quite nice and helpful. It was ok to stay there for few hours and get rest and some sleep but i wouldn't reccomend it for longer stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry to hear you did not get a lot of rest if only you said i would of asked the girls to keep it down a bit more and i would of tried moving you away from the girls. If people do not say anything to us at the time it is hard to put things right. Also Blackpool now is a hen and stake town so there will be noise at weekends i do hope to see you again soon and i hope this helps for next time you come. many thanks Becky,

54%

Our room smelled like cigarettes, and all my clothes smelled after we left.

  • 21st Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great place to stay if you're looking for something with just the basic necessities. Paul was a fantastic and interesting host who provided a lot of information about the area.


57%

Felt dirty after using the shower, and the bedroom could have done witha good spring clean

  • 2nd Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

the location is very good, and it is good for money , however, the room is not clean and not really good for sleep:(


94%

i am a female working during week in blackpool - i have stayed at CR for 6 weeks - its fantastic value and a great place to stay - its basic no frills so dont stay there if you prefer more up market - the owner is friendly, helpful and always provides me with a comfy little room with fresh bed sheets - toilet and shower rooms are kept very clean - shower is hot and works well - CR has a great chilled out atmosphere and i enjoy staying there - also only couple mins from prom and shops!

  • 8th May 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The place is cosy. Very welcoming staff and friendly as well. Showed me around Blackpool. Good place to relax and just feel safe in. Would recommend ppl to come and stay at Crooked Retreat. Easy to find, If you are looking for a cheap,cosy and homey place to stay, this is definitely the place for you


97%

The Landlord is very nice and you haven't any hour to come back. I enjoyed a lot.


80%

Good value for money. Owner very nice and friendly. No problem with hot water, even heating was on in the evening and it was in August. Would definatly use again.


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Blackpool Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback