Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cruz del Sur Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.0

A nice little family run place, but with that comes a number of rules some of which are in place to suit the family rather than guests. You have to start cooking by 8.30pm and they lock the kitchen between 9.30pm and 8.30am...so if you want anything during those times then tough. The kitchen is really small for the number of people staying there and they don't allow you fry anything which is a pain. Overall we found cooking there pretty chaotic. The rest of the rules they have are fair.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Feb 2017
6.9

The hostel with the most DON'Ts notices which end in "or you will be kicked out". The place is clean and Central but the rules are so tight and strict and posted every where that you feel like in a prison. Therefore there is no vibe in the hostel . if you like strict rules (no cookin after 9pmA the kitchen gets locked , no shoes , and most of all do not stay there after check out or you will be charged an extra day) then this place is for you. If you like vibes and good atmosphere go elsewhere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
4.6

Staff is just the owners. They are clearly out of energy to run the place, not nice at all, it's all about rules and what not to do and where to pay more. All the walls covered with those rules and alert. If you are looking for a nice place to stay and chill after trekking - not here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
9.1

Great staff, helpful with booking tours. Spacious dorms. Plenty of social areas. Only 2 downsides - very small, cramped kitchen. Wifi cuts out after 10pm for some reason...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.6

Very clean hostel and the staff were helpful. There are rules but they are within reason :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
9.1

The staff are so wonderful at this hostel! They are so friendly and welcoming. Very informative. I forgot something at the hostel and they were super responsive and helpful to get it back to me. The atmosphere allows for quiet time, but also time to chat with others about past and future travels. The only thing we had to work around was the kitchen times. Sometimes it was hard to cook with the schedule. It seems a fairly normal thing for Patagonia so we weren't fussed. Nice place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.3

the girl running the front had me dying, clean FREAK. but i loved it. she also insisted i take gum boots on a hike, bless her soul because i would be destroyed my hiking shoes had i not. there are 60 million rules but they're all reasonable. super busy when i stayed so there was definitely an atmosphere and you could always meet people. wifi only works in 'living room'. i thought it was really expensive for what it was, but.... ushuaia, aint exactly the affordability capital of SA.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
10.0

Great hostal, staff is so helpful ( although I think maybe taking a taxi as a group could have been cheaper than the buses they call for hikes sometimes, to verify). There is only wifi in the living room which I makes it a nice social place where you can share experience with other people and find hike buddies for the next day. I was never alone for any hike because of the armosphere that is created there. I would defo recommend this place!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
7.1

Hostel is lovely but it's heavy on the rules, like the kitchen is pretty small for the size of hostel but is locked closed at 9.30pm, making it really difficult and irritating for everyone trying to cook, and once checked out you can't use any facilities, which seems a bit tight.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
30th Jan 2017
8.3

Way too many rules and signs telling you "don't do this" to make my stay feel as relaxed or homely as it has been in other backpackers hostels. No cooking after 8:30pm is a joke and the kitchen is locked from 9:30pm- 8:30am so too bad if you want a cup of tea outside these hours or to make a sandwich to take on your hike. Good location, lockers, CCTV, clean, hot showers. Wifi in only one room is a total pain - I'm writing this review from the comfort of a hostel bed, makes life much easier!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.