Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cruz del Sur Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1663 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1663 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.1

A good stay with so many things to do, I ended staying longer than planned. Comfortable beds and quarters. This is one of those hostels where you can find a good group of people to go out with on the excursions that are available in Ushuaia. FYI they close the kitchen at 10 every night and the Internet tends to work only in the recreational room. After the time I stayed, would recommend this as the best option in Ushuaia considering the several others available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stoller858039
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
9.4

Loved our visit to Ushuaia! Staying at Cruz del Sur added to our whole experience. Nick and Ana treat everyone like family. They love where they live and want to share it with you. And when we had to leave early to catch our flight they provided for us specially. Only thing I would change is that they only have wifi in the common room, should be throughout. But that being said, if given the chance again, I would stay at Cruz del Sur. 100%! Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
7.7

Basically it's a nice place to stay and meeting other travelers. Just as everyone said no recharge in the room,very inconvenient,also the kitchen locked after 10pm,no place to get drink water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
10.0

Very Clean !! Good to socialize with people!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
7.1

The breakfast is a simple. And the time available for it, is not the best only from 8:30 to 10:00. I would like to have the breakfast early since if you want to go out in the morning sometimes you have to hiking without breakfast. There are few toilets in relation with beds, it could be a problem when the hostel is full.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
6.6

So the days I stayed the city happened to lost gas and electricity. I guess normally it'll be fine, but at this time plus all the rule the owners set, it was not as pleasant. Additional to difficulties to shower and cook, the owners give you more rules on the spot. I felt like theyre kind of control freak. The owners are not bad, they're helpful with tourist info, however if you would like to stay in a kindergarten, go for it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
7.1

Immediately when you arrive you notice how many rules there are. Not the most welcoming start. The staff were nice and the rooms were generally clean but the kitchen and eating area were too small for the side of the hostel. We are also informed after we paid that there was no gas so no cooking and no hot water. No fault of the hostel, apparently, but they should have told us from the beginning. It was a fine place to stay but nothing mind blowing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
4.6

Staying here was like staying in a boarding school. Horribly rude staff who eyed you with suspicion from the moment you entered. The kitchen does not open until 8.30, which is already late for a town which starts so early, but it also means that you cannot store food in the fridge if you are starting off early (as it will be locked in) - but you also can't have food in the rooms? Were told that they were locking the entrance at 10pm and if we were not back by then, we wouldn't be allowed in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
5.7

During my 3 day stay we lost both electricity (and wifi) and gas for cooking and hot water due to a busted pipe in town. While not necessarily the fault of the hostel, there were no proposed solutions or apologies and we were all still required to pay full price, while other hostels in town bought their guests dinner for the inconvenience. Also, there were lots of seemingly petty rules (threat of being kicked out for washing clothes in the bathroom sink seemed extreme). Convenient location

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • georgenp
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
8.3

As nice as the staff were, there are too many rules. Everywhere there are rules. Very in your face. The internet is terrible and can only be accessed from the lounge. However this does make the lounge a lot more sociable as everyone spends time in there and it's very easy to meet people. The power went out for a few days sporadically and we had no hot water. We were still charged the full amount. You could probably find a better hostel in Ushuaia. For one or two nights it's ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.