Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

DC Lofty - Convention Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,967 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,967 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
DC Lofty - Convention Center Located at 1335 11th street NW, Washington DC, Washington DC.
DC Lofty - Convention Center
USA
Washington DC 20001 1335 11th street NW, Washington DC
80% 1967
38.9081496 -77.0268309
DC Lofty - Convention Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
4.6

Too dirty, even for hostels. Shower , toilets , the door with 100 years history , broken, not working as should .my room was sweeped only when the hostel was found.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

The hostel was really clean and the location was really good. I highly recommend this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

that's nice!

  • Fechi
  • Argentina, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
6.3

We had the private room. 80usd, the most expensive room, and also the colder one... another thing about this expensive room is that it does not have a big bed for two, they don't yell you that. For that money i might go to a hotel, this is not a room i would sell if i had a hostel. Also, The shower in our floor had no pressure at all. After a few complaints i had a "we cant do anything" as an answer. Poor customer service. One good thing. Free pancake mix for breakfast was a good idea

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sorry buddy, the supply and demand curve gets crazy sometime. Hotels charge $300-$400 per night on some days, so it almost "forces" us to have our small private at $79 per night, as it's still basically the cheapest private space in the city. No one here feels great doing it, but it's simply the law of economics...

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
6.6

Pros: affordable parking, easy and friendly staff, nice common areas, and good location. Cons: annoyingly slow Internet, bad water pressure in the showers, toilet paper was always gone, and bed sheets need to be renewed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Nov 2016
2.0

Disgusting. Rooms are very dirty and communal areas are shabby. No hot water in the ensuite. Creepy hostel guy lets himself into female dorms without warning. No hostel atmosphere. My food was stolen from the fridge. No staff present on site before or after ten. Furthest hostel from all the sites, and not safe to walk home to after dark. Everyone on the trail said the same thing, pay extra or book in advance for the HI, much cleaner, safer and closer.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sorry for your experience. We do have hot water available at all times due to tank-less water heaters. None of our staff is allowed to walk into the rooms without prior notice, but we do have cleaners, who knock on the doors and announce themselves, as they must enter the rooms to clean the ensuite bathrooms/showers and restock inventory... The area is really safe, and I'm sorry you didn't feel that way

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2016
4.6

There were roaches in the bedroom. The female dorm's bathroom had NO cold water for the four days that I stayed there. (Ever tried to take a cold water shower in November?) The female dorm's bathroom was not cleaned during my visit - the trash can was emptied, but that is all. If I had other options, I would have left after the first night!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We weren't happy to hear this review, and we take all of them seriously. There is always hot water due to tank-less water heaters, it simply make take a 1-2 minutes to arrive to third floor (where your room was located), as cold water has to be pushed out first. We value our cleanliness, and always make sure to check all of the rooms and bathrooms are properly take care of.

  • j9lpdylan
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
9.1

Great space, very comfortable beds, good facilities with a little wear and tear.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
8.9

I had such a pleasant stay at DC Lofty! The staff was very friendly and beyond accommodating. I would recommend staying there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Oct 2016
9.7

Had a fantastic stay here! Close to downtown, which made it really easy to see all the sights by foot. the hostel has a great atmosphere, met loads of people there and the activities that they run in the evenings are fab too. Rooms are self locking and there are lockers in the rooms so everything felt super safe. Having a proper duvet on the beds rather than a blanket was a nice touch too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dollarcounter3730
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Oct 2016
10.0

Stayed here for only one night on Oct 2016. Friendly staff was very helpful with directions. Décor was tasteful and the light effects in the shower were very cool. Mike (at the front desk) made a room-change recommendation upon my arrival which worked out well and I am very grateful that he had the inclination to do so. Best part of the stay is visiting with fellow guests from far-flung destinations over coffee in the a.m. This is a great option for anyone on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you so much for your comments. Some - more costly rooms - in the hostel have special touches, as to be expected, and can honestly lead to a nicer stay. We have these distinctions due to the different prices in rooms, and as a budget destination we try to appeal to a range of travelers. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we recommend everyone to stay in our 4 bed plus ensuite room for sure!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.