Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

DC Lofty - Convention Center

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1,843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1,843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
DC Lofty - Convention Center Located at 1335 11th street NW, Washington DC, Washington DC.
DC Lofty - Convention Center
USA
Washington DC 20001 1335 11th street NW, Washington DC
78% 1843
38.9081496 -77.0268309
DC Lofty - Convention Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • steph9764
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
4.9

I tried 2 different showers at different times of day, and followed the LAMINATED instructions to get hot water- did not work. I was stuck with miserable freezing cold showers. Staff said someone called but it was not fixed for at least 7 days total. NOT ok- especially for ensuite bath $$. No refund or discount. One roommate was an old homeless woman with no consideration for noise at night, talked to herself, stayed hrs in bathroom, and was generally sketchy. Not safe. No hostel events.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for you comments. Regarding the shower, we did inform of one that had hot water right outside of your room, as only two showers did not have water for some of June/ and most July while we were waiting for a warrantied replacement part. I'm sorry about your roommate, we make sure to really screen everyone well, and we'll do a better job if we let someone questionable through. We do have events, please join us! Just last week we took people out to the pool Thursday-Saturday, and went out to club Recess on Thursday, and had set up a movie night at Capital View on Friday; then there's the roof top access anytime you'd like with hammocks up there too =)

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.0

Great hostel, staff is nice, good atmosphere. But facilities could improve a little bit since we had no hot water and the hair dryer didn't work.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much, and we fixed those issues right away.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
3.4

Rooms were disgusting with stains on bed sheets and Doona. We were told to strip sheets and Doona before leaving which I thought was poor for the price we paid. Rooms are up numerous flights of stairs and staff are unwilling to help so be prepared to lug them up yourself. Shower didn't work unless the sink runs and even then, the shower was cold. Only stayed here one night but I would never ever stay here again!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments, and we did take note regarding your stay. One of the linens had a bleach stain from over-washing it, but we did change it at your request. The room was up 1 flight of stairs, and at check-in we help with luggage. At check out, we sure would have been of assistance, just get anyone at front desk; I'm sorry you felt that getting the shower hot at the expense of more water is a waste, and we agree with you. That was the issue with the current situation, where the water would take too long to heat up, and we have replaced that water heater to a new one. Thank you

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.7

Very nice place, great location near by bus stations and close to uber downtown , comfortable rooms, nothing bad to say

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments, and while very nice, we know what we need to work on!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2016
10.0

Best hostel in D.C.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Jun 2016
8.0

Mostly fine, being DC there isn't a huge community vibe as many are there for internships/work. There were some slight security issues with a staff member who insisted we shouldn't worry about our belongings but then said a breakin had occurred recently in their carpark. Most showers didn't have hot water, the one that did had a blocked drain. GReat to be in a place with a combination for every door, however.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, we fixed the drain issue right away, and as of July we've got a new tank less water heater for that part of the house. Also, the neighborhood is very safe, but indeed if a person leaves a laptop in a car parked outside anywhere in DC, it is likely going to get stolen =(

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
6.9

No hot shower in my room, the staff couldnt do anything, hair dryer broken and not that much walking distance from many places!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, thanks so much! Tank less water heater being replaced around July 5th - it was on back order for over a week now; sorry about that! Also, we have replaced the hair dryer! thanks

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
6.9

The bed a lumpy and uncomfortable; was noisy at night. Staff seemed new or not well trained.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for your comments. We have had numerous extra meetings with new staff, so we should be good now! Also, sorry for the noise, not sure where that came from, but likely one of the nightly events: poker games/card games or just people going out were a bit louder than expected - sorry about that. We are checking up all of the mattresses to see what could need fixing!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
8.9

This was my first experience at hostelworld. I loved it! I met so many interesting people, made a few new friends and was very economical. Everyone was very nice and like minded. I will not be using hotels ever again. Hostelworld is so much more fun, safe and interesting to miss.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your nice review

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
8.6

I was cool the bed was a bit lumpy. There is a late check in fee that isn't mentioned at the time of booking. If you going to be arriving late be sure to get in contact with someone witch can be difficult. No one answers the phone and the leave a message to Tweet them for an Immediate response. If you arive late with speaking to someone you could be stuck there is no night desk person and all the doors are locked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, sorry about the experience, we do check our facebook/twitter right away - and phones are always answered unless calling after hours (in your case). We did fix the mattress you were staying in,and the late fee is mentioned at booking - sorry for the confusion =(

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.