Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

DC Lofty - Convention Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 2087 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 2087 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
9.7

Great hostel, very central so safe to walk home at night. Clean rooms and bathroom. The kitchen facilities are good too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
8.0

Was only in DC for two nights. Hostel all good other than no power socket on top bunk. About a 30 minute walk to the National Mall and all. Wasn't in the hostel much so can't really comment on the atmosphere although going by my room it seemed like there was people in there that seem to be living in DC Lofty. Not ideal for mingling with fellow travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jul 2017
8.9

Hostel itself was very nice, we had a really nice room on the ground floor by the reception which apparently is the best in the hostel and a lot better than the other rooms so our roommates said who requested a transfer. Nice big kitchen to cook your meals in and keep food, it's about 20 mins walk to the mall which isn't bad! Only let down was that some of the female staff on reception were very rude and absent a lot of the time, the one Asian guy on reception though was great! Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
2.0

As check-ins later than 10 pm need to be registered prior to the stay we e-mailed the hostel to let them know that we would not arrive in Washington until 10:30 pm. However we did not receive a reply, causing us to find us stranded without a place to stay in the middle of the night after a 22 hour journey. As we kindly asked for a refund they replied once, saying that it had been our fault and then continued to ignore any further e-mails. Overall a very dissapointing service.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mozambique, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jul 2017
8.3

The atmosphere was fantastic. I felt home and was able to make some good new friends. I would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Jul 2017
4.3

Really expensive for what you get. The place is dirty (the receptionist has to do the laundry, the beds, attend customers and all the cleanliness alone , so you can imagine why it is not clean). Plus, staff is not really friendly and not willing to help you. You can find a better hostel for the same price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2017
7.1

The atmosphere was pleasant but that was solely down to the people there at the time. A couple of people on reception were almost unfriendly, whilst the others were so nice and helpful. Not properly air conditioned, so if you're thinking of heading there during the summer I'd reconsider. I was in the top floor and the heat was almost unbearable, we had a fan in the room that only moved around the warm air rather than cool. Facilities are good and it is comfortable. Definitely what you pay for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
5.4

The place is in pretty bad shape and not very clean. Our room had a very unpleasant smell of sweat all throughout the stay and was very hot. Small kitchen, few toilets and the "free breakfast" consisted of a pancake mix (that you had to prepare yourself) and tea/coffee. Some nice people but very few travelers as many guests seem to stay there for a longer time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
9.4

Really liked the location of this hostel. Staff was very friendly and accommodating

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2017
4.9

In general the hostel was OK, but we had some issues... The first night, when we came back to the hostel and we found our clothes and stuff on the floor cause there was a guy (he seemed to be a homeless) in our room saying that he had paid for a room only for men and not a mixed room. The hostel should pay attention to the kind of people hosted in the rooms. Also, the cleanliness was poor, specially in the bathroom. In general, the place seemed to be not very responsible with the guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.