Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

DC Lofty - Convention Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 2018 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 2018 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
9.4

Very nice hostel! My only complaint is the mattress on the top bunk was sagging very badly with only a single crossbar supporting it. My boyfriend had no problem with the bottom bunk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Very good environment to stay. different public spaces to spend for social activities so wont affect your sleep night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2017
9.4

Very nice overall, great staff....location is fantastic! Could have better water pressure in 3rd floor shower I used, but the bathrooms were kept very clean!! I truly enjoyed my stay and would def stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
10.0

I love my stay at DClofty .I met with so many people from across the globe. nice time with them, and I love to come to same place as , I plan for dc or any other place visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
9.1

I want to thank Mike and the staff for being so helpful and welcoming to me, during my stay!!!!!! I mostly travel for work, and do long hours, so I look for great, quality situations. DC Lofty fulfilled my experiential desire on this stay! I hope to return again soon!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Mar 2017
8.3

Location is great, about a 15 min walk to central DC. Room was spacious and ensuite was fair-size. Each bed had a locker. Ensuite cleaned daily. Sheets were stained but clean! They didn't get changed for our five night stay but in hindsight, if we'd asked, we're sure it wouldn't have been a problem. Two large common areas, computers, large kitchen and $5 for washing to be done and dried. Could be a bit cleaner (surfaces, mainly) & our blinds didn't close on level 3 but we got our money's worth.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
9.7

Super nice, chill environment, that was clean and safe. My friend and I really liked this place and if we go back to D.C. we will definitely be staying here again! Awesome price, and pretty close to the metro.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
6.6

The hostel is located in an older building, so thin walls and steep stairs. The worst part was the heating in the building. Our room was very overheated (like a sauna), but the staff couldn't adjust the heat so they recommended opening the window. The showers did not have hot water, only cold water. I tried to use the hairdryers in 3 different bathrooms but they were all broken. Pros -it is close to a supermarket, you can use the kitchen to prepare your own food, and people were friendly there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
4.0

The place stink and It was cold in the room

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
4.9

I received a warm welcome and the member of staff was v. helpful, but unfortunately, this is the only positive thing I can say about my stay. The building is neglected, very cold in places, and in the basement where I slept, very noisy (heating system). The room and bathroom were quite revolting - dirty, untidy and not been decorated for decades. Duvet was thin. Although 'breakfast is free', this was simply the provision of a tea bag and some powered pancake mix. This hostel has zero atmosphere!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry about the heating system being loud, as someone forgot to replace the panel covers after changing out the filters, and so sound insulation was missing for one night. We made sure to pay extra attention to both the room and the bathroom, after your comment, and re grouted the shower area and re-caulked it as well. We also noticed most of our bad reviews are all coming from 1 -2 rooms, even if they're cleaned well, because they're on the ground floor and are just rooms. For that reason we will be closing them down, exposing brick walls and bringing a bit character. As in other comments, we don't have free breakfast provided, but we surely provide bunch of materials. We have pancake mix, coffee, tea, peanut butter, syrup, creamer, sugar, oil all available for free.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.