X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

DC Lofty - Convention Center Reviews

1333 11th st NW, Washington DC, Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1304 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This is by far the best and wonderful hostel I've stayed in when in DC...try them.

  • 6th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, cool - thanks so much for that! And we will only keep getting better!

63%

There was only one toilet working in the common room of the building, which was hardly sufficient for a fully booked 2 story building. We stayed for 2 nights and no one seemed to do anything about it. I guess it was because Christmas just was around the corner. Also, everyone had to take off their shoes before entering the building and leave them in the common area, which would be fine if the shoes smelled like roses, but they didn't. I liked the kitchen area, which provided plenty of freedom.

  • 19th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thank you for your comments. We do require folks to take their shoes off at the doors, and have fresheners placed heavily in those areas, because we think it's better there than in your room where you try to sleep! Also, in a few days we will be providing free slippers once again! Additionally, every room has it's own shower/bathroom, so we only have on bathroom in the common area, due to the 13 showers/bathrooms for such a small building! thank you so much!

46%

Above 'staff' refers to owners. Actual staffer Mike seemed great.

  • 16th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall I liked the hostel - it had an older property charm (although from the description on the website I expected it to be refurbished to a greater extent) & I liked the neighbourhood. It was close to the excellent Giant supermarket & a walkable distance to the attractions. However, a few thing lets it down - the shower was never at a temperature I could shower comfortably, it was so cold it was always an ordeal (despite what they said about running the hot tap at the same time as the shower)

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Bath water is really cold

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The location was good. The Hostel is right next to a bus stop and a supermarket and about a 20 minutes walk away from all the sights. The kitchen is well equipped. The showers need quite a while until the water heats up. Our room was located on the top floor and it was incredibly hot in there - even with the window's open it was very hard to sleep there.


74%

Almost everything is nice. Friendly, tidy and clean, nice kitchen. Bathing water is cold. Should be improving in near future.

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thank you for your kind review! Boy was the hot water situation an easy fix.... A simple turn of the inside thermostat in the tank less water heater (sneaky construction). Thank you again!

100%

Great value for the money, friendly and helpful staff, thank you, Paul. I hear they will make even more renovations during winder break, can't wait to visit again.

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was really friendly and amenities where great. Had a lot of fun at a community table in the evening.

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This is one of my favorite hostels in DC, located close to the mall but in a residential neighborhood. The staff is friendly and the facilities satisfactory. I always meet friendly people at this location. There are computers for public use and two TVs in one building while the adjoining building houses the kitchen.

  • 20th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, thanks so much for your friendly review. We are ABOUT to connect both buildings after this year's re-paint/up-do over the December month! Basically, the place will be more awesome!

91%

Good reception. Everybody so friendly and nice.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thank you so much, that means a lot for us!

100%

This is THE place to stay in D.C. This is home away from home. We had a private room with our own bathroom, it looked like a first class hotel room. Super clean, very safe and peaceful facility, stuff was awesome and very helpful. Kitchen has super clean, filled with plenty of dishes and every kitchen appliances one may need. Laundry room is is high tech. Laundry room is locked, so your clothing is safe. They have parking. Tourist attractions within walking distance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review outstanding rate!! Awesome that you enjoyed DC Lofty as much as we're trying to make it enjoyable for all our guests. Enjoy your future travels!

49%

staff was not friendly;unprofessional. wasnt even given a tour of the place or any information about the hostel. just a room number. house had dust and dirt everywhere. mold on shower curtains. only clean place is the kitchen. also, i kept getting bit by mites @night. the atmosphere was dark and gloomy.the way that the staff favored long-term problem guests over short-term guests was distasteful and bad business.this place is more semi-permanent housing for americans than a hostel for travelers

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, We're so sorry for your experience, as this sounds like nothing that we strive to provide. We hire the most friendly staff we can find, and always show you to your rooms and give a tour of the place. Also, while surely it is your opinion, we disagree that our location caters to long term american stays, as those guests are a small minority. I just checked all of the curtains - no mold!... Is this about us, or another hostel? Thanks anyways!

89%

The staff is good and the layout of the building is hospitable. Some other places in the area have foyers that seem like jail cells. Flexible timing on check-in is a plus as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Your pleasant stay is our number one priority. Staff

51%

The location is good but the staff was rude and unfriendly. Only the cleaning lady was friendly one even though she couldn't speak English. The staff needs to change her attitude especially working in customers service.

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thank you for your review! We always want to make sure everyone's interactions with our staff is the best, and that's something we pay a lot of attention and improve quickly! We believe we had addressed the staff issue as of now, and hopefully you will be able to enjoy your trip more next time here!

1 2 Next » last »
(35 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback