X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

DC Lofty - Convention Center Reviews

1335 11th street NW, Washington DC, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1490 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Staff was really friendly and amenities where great. Had a lot of fun at a community table in the evening.

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This is one of my favorite hostels in DC, located close to the mall but in a residential neighborhood. The staff is friendly and the facilities satisfactory. I always meet friendly people at this location. There are computers for public use and two TVs in one building while the adjoining building houses the kitchen.

  • 20th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey, thanks so much for your friendly review. We are ABOUT to connect both buildings after this year's re-paint/up-do over the December month! Basically, the place will be more awesome!

91%

Good reception. Everybody so friendly and nice.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thank you so much, that means a lot for us!

100%

This is THE place to stay in D.C. This is home away from home. We had a private room with our own bathroom, it looked like a first class hotel room. Super clean, very safe and peaceful facility, stuff was awesome and very helpful. Kitchen has super clean, filled with plenty of dishes and every kitchen appliances one may need. Laundry room is is high tech. Laundry room is locked, so your clothing is safe. They have parking. Tourist attractions within walking distance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review outstanding rate!! Awesome that you enjoyed DC Lofty as much as we're trying to make it enjoyable for all our guests. Enjoy your future travels!

49%

staff was not friendly;unprofessional. wasnt even given a tour of the place or any information about the hostel. just a room number. house had dust and dirt everywhere. mold on shower curtains. only clean place is the kitchen. also, i kept getting bit by mites @night. the atmosphere was dark and gloomy.the way that the staff favored long-term problem guests over short-term guests was distasteful and bad business.this place is more semi-permanent housing for americans than a hostel for travelers

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, We're so sorry for your experience, as this sounds like nothing that we strive to provide. We hire the most friendly staff we can find, and always show you to your rooms and give a tour of the place. Also, while surely it is your opinion, we disagree that our location caters to long term american stays, as those guests are a small minority. I just checked all of the curtains - no mold!... Is this about us, or another hostel? Thanks anyways!

43%

Must be pristine for me not to wear shoes. This place does NOT meet those standards. Online pictures look nice but in person it is not. New kitchen appliances look great in pictures taken just after renovation, not so nice when kitchen hasn't been cleaned in a week & swarms of flies greet you as you walk in. The entrance is cluttered, the stairwell marred from suitcases, the office dilapidated, & lockers too small to fit a carry-on suitcase. Dirty, cluttered, cramped, run down, brownstones.

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff is good and the layout of the building is hospitable. Some other places in the area have foyers that seem like jail cells. Flexible timing on check-in is a plus as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Your pleasant stay is our number one priority. Staff

51%

The location is good but the staff was rude and unfriendly. Only the cleaning lady was friendly one even though she couldn't speak English. The staff needs to change her attitude especially working in customers service.

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thank you for your review! We always want to make sure everyone's interactions with our staff is the best, and that's something we pay a lot of attention and improve quickly! We believe we had addressed the staff issue as of now, and hopefully you will be able to enjoy your trip more next time here!

80%

Good place to stay in DC: relatively inexpensive, nice staff, room was ok and the location is good. My only problem was the shower had NO HOT WATER! I was told to let the water run for a while but it was still cold... It's a shame because everything else was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your input and we are happy that you liked the hostel. Hot water does work, but we use high capacity instant water heaters. That means hot water would never run out, but needs to have a heavier use. We will make sure to explain this better in the future and train staff to do it better too. Thank you.

60%

Better cleaning, renovation of toilets and showers and more common rooms had increased the satisfaction.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. We do have a cleaner every day for 5 hours, maybe someone just overused some facilities during the day. I assure you that they get back to spotless condition in the morning. We actually have a lot more common rooms than most hostels. Most of them are on the other side of the house from your room, just needed some exploring. Showers and toilets get renovated continuously and we will keep doing that for the comfort of our guests. Staff

54%

Cold shower that only dribbled, have to take your shoes off, lots of stairs to climb in dangerous slippers, toilet seat not even bolted to the toilet. Oh.....and there's rules that seem to take precedence over making sure basic amenities are in in acceptable order.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your input, constructive criticism is always welcome so we can improve. Hot showers actually do work, but we use high capacity water heaters, which means they need more usage volume to heat up faster, but will never run out. Someone just broke that seat just before you got there and it has been fixed for a while now. The rules are just common sense: don't break stuff, don't fight with other guests...

97%

Lovely place, with friendly staff and guests. No more rules than any other hostel, but they say them to you, rather than writing them on a bit of paper no-one will read. Great facilities and comfy beds. The only down side was the giant, very bright emergency exit sign in the room. It made for a rather luminous (and a little unwanted) night light.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words, and we are very happy that you liked your stay. Sorry for that light, but being up to code means having emergency exits all over the place and illuminated emergency exit signs. Your room just happened to have a private emergency exit.

74%

The hostel was not as close to the Metro as I thought, so it was quite a walk everytime I leave to tour the city. Not too many eating/drinking places nearby besides that Chinese food store which I never tried. The room itself is clean enough and I was fortunate my roommates are quiet and tidy. The most attractive thing about DC Lofty was the price. With the rates they are offering I wish I'd stayed a little longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your input. As far as eating places, there is a big construction project finishing up 2 blocks away. It will be a huge 24 hour grocery store and mini-mall with a few restaurants as well. Hope you come back and have a chance to enjoy the new improvements of the area and of the hostel itself. By spring we will look a little shinier and so will the neighborgood. Staff

94%

Great hostel with a great atmosphere.. staff are really cool people and do their best to help. I stayed in a few hostels during my stay in DC and this was by far the best. Loved the partys on the back patio!


80%

Good hostel, all in place and functional.


91%

DC Lofty was awesome, Everything was awesome but the security. Same code for quite a long time, according to the amount of homeless people around should be better. Everything else was perfect! We met some great people there, had fun in the city and our room was huge! Well recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thanks for a great review - and yes you stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm with the shower right outside (but then again all of the rooms are spacious). We do change the code quite often, but as it happens during your stay a huge percentage of the hostel stayed for 5-7 nights, and it would only inconvenience those guests with the code being changed, as none of them actually left. We do change it routinely! For example, it's been changed now!

91%

Overall a good place to stay that is near the nightlife (Chinatown, DuPont circle, etc) and also just north of the Mall. Close to a few city bike locations which is a great way to get around. A few minor issues. Pillow wasn't very good and the bunk beds are pretty squeaky when either person rolls over. So bring some earplugs.


77%

Parking arrangements were overpriced at $15 a day and had to ask others to move to get in and out...but, hey...this is DC! :-)

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thank you for your review, and we apologize for the high price of parking. We have a very limited parking lot behind our hostel, and the supply and demand curve dictates the rates of the lot. As you've led on, it was full, and whenever it is emptier we're glad to offer it for $10 a night. DC surely has a bunch of cars!

60%

Easy walking distance to everywhere and in a nice neighbourhood. No shoes inside though (because of all the old, worn, dusty carpets) and every toilet in the building had a problem (wouldn't flush, broken seat, broken cistern... you name it). The choices of shower was either plenty of hot water but extremely dirty or somewhat clean with no water pressure or hot water. They had a nice TV and computer room and the staff were quite friendly but not enough to overcome the faults.


97%

Good apart from no breakfast


(958 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback