X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

DC Lofty - Convention Center Reviews

1335 11th street NW, Washington DC, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1573 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Hostel is fine. A bit noisy. A generator or something else is making a lot of noise in the backyard. So bring earplugs. Hostel isn't located realy close to downtown, but there's a bus nearby that takes you there for one dollar.


66%

Kitchen is so small, no place to eat. The room code system sometimes didn't work well, other guests could open my room 2 times while I stayed in the room. facilities- they gave permanent alike instruction for using hot shower in the room I stayed.I hope they fix it soon.


83%

The hostel is located near the major touristic sites. Very knowledgeable staff.

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Everything was great apart from the showers that might need a little upgrade:)

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I came to this hostel for one night, but then decided to stay longer. Hostel is located close to national mall. Place was clean and staff was greate, made me feel like at home. especially Mike was very helpfull and gave me many advices about DC. From all Hostels ive been staying in this one i enjoyed the most.

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Other than the hot water being a little unusual and inconsistent, the stay was very comfortable. I'd totally go back there when I visit DC again. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The facilities are very very old... you try to feel every stair before putting your whole weight on it. The shower upstairs: I needed to wait for 5 minutes until the water finally turned hot in the shower, but the pressure was so weak it took around two minutes to wet the whole body. The sink didn't drain. Living room facilities, TV, PC's and kitchen are very good. Both Melaney and Michael were excellent.


51%

The water pressure is horrible in this hostel. The hostel is aware of this problem but has done nothing to fix it. It is also hard to control the hot and cold water which is a safety issue. The refridgerator in the kitchen needs to be cleaned. The lighting in the hostel is low. Room 6 has a red exit light (inside the room) that is constantly on (all night long). I would never stay here again.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

nice place! and the host was very kind and helpful

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Leider war unser Flug verspätet,so das wir erst nach 22 Uhr hätten einchecken können.Dies wurde der Rezeption ( bis 22 Uhr besetzt) per E- Mail gegen 17.30 Uhr mitgeteilt.In der Antwortmail des Hostels wurden die Kreditkartendaten abgefragt, gegen Aufpreis wäre ein elektronischer Zugang zum Hostel möglich.Dieser Code wurde uns nicht zugesendet, so das wir mitten in der Nacht ein anderes Hotel suchen mussten. Bitte um Rückantwort!!!!

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were fantastically friendly, and the rooms were clean and safe. I stayed there for 6 nights for a conference and had a great time. The only thing wrong was that the owner, a woman from Lithuania, made me wait almost half an hour to check in because she was "in a meeting" in the back.


86%

It was comfortable and cozy! Mike was one of the staff's there and he was helpful! Also, especially knowing that he was from the pacific northwest (as I am a Seattleite!) made me even more at home at DC-lofty! Thanks for being hospitable Mike!


80%

... waren leider nur eine Nacht in Washington auf der Durchreise. Das DC Lofty ist ein sehr schönes, gemütliches und sauberes Hostel und war für uns die perfekte Wahl.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great stay! Clean and comfortable! The bed was quite comfortable Only downside was the shower! The shower was basically a dribble of water, and had no water pressure at all, although it was nice and hot! Apart from the shower water pressure it was a great stay and the staff were very friendly!

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Small and pretty friendly place near the centre of columbia district D.C. for really good price. If you are young and like travelling and don't want to spend huge amount of money this place is for DC Lofty is definitely for you.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Georgia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It's an old building so I had to haul my suitcase up 2 flights of stairs. The biggest drawback is their water heater. It takes a long time for hot water to come out of the shower. Forget hot water in the bathroom sinks. At least there's free internet computers.


66%

Das Hostel ist relativ alt und ohne Aufzug, d.h. Gepäck schleppen ist angesagt. Die Zimmer sind nicht neu, haben jedoch zumindest ein eigenes Badezimmer. Auf warmes Wasser darf man sich aber nicht verlassen, denn das war nur sehr selten und kurzzeitig verfügbar. Die Lage ist ok, aber man muss schon ein Stück zu den Sehenswürdigkeiten laufen. Insgesamt für einen kurzen Aufenthalt ok.


83%

die Lage ist gut, man kommt zu fuß zu den wichtigsten sehenswürdigkeiten und zur innenstadt. die mitarbeiter waren sehr freundlich (vor allem Anthony). Im großen und ganzen ist es ein gutes Hostel.


51%

Lugar bem localizado, staff bem pouco colaborativo, nao tem identificação nenhuma na porta do hostel. Fiquei so um dia, foi bom mas longe de ser top.


54%

The building is very old - floors and doors creaked so it was hard falling asleep with all the noise from fellow travelers. Also, the hostel was kept at 78 degrees which is far too hot for my comfort. It's a good walk to get anywhere but I felt safe. The hostel has $15/day parking out back which was nice. Towels and small lockers were provided.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thank you for your review. We have tried to purposely maintain the look of an older building, meanwhile all of the showers/beds/bed lights/TVs/kitchen appliances are new. Sorry if the temperature was not the best, as we're looking for something where everyone would be happy, and we do have multi-zone HVAC system to work on that. We'll work on the floors (actually already started with quite a few rooms!)

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback