X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

DOMOKUCHU Reviews

PO Box 3439, Paje, Zanzibar, Tanzania

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
77 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Very quiet place. Right on the beach. I had great holidays there.


86%

Great view from the first bungalows. Nice simple rooms, nice staff. Breakfast delivered on terrace. Better beach 500 north, can walk easily. Quiet.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Loved the bungalow we stayed in and the beautiful location of the place. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were friendly. Definitely will return. Thanks


94%

Really beautiful place! They served us breakfast at our private balcony, however there were no restaurant at the hotel, although it was possible to walk to Paje (15 min) and Demani lodge just 2 min away, with super delicious food :)


100%

The paradise on the Earth! Good beach, quiet place, splendid bungalows, nice stuff! Would come back over and over again.


83%

The hostel is perfectly located if you want a bit of peace and quiet not too far away from restaurants and bars (20 min walking). Unfortunatly it does not have its own restaurant therefore you need to make other arrangements every night. Our room was nice and clean and the more expensive ones are directly at the beach. The breakfast is ok, but it does not offer a lot of variety, but it is possible to make some requests.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

like in paradise!!!


80%

Really enjoyed our stay. Great location. Breakfast could be better- more variety needed :)


83%

The resort is well integrated into the surrounding landscape. It managed to join the resort, beach and see, utilizing the best from all. While many other resorts are closed and you can be either in, using the hotel facilities or out, enjoying the beach and see, here you can do both. The resort is in a peaceful place between Paje and Jambiani - i.e. there are no parties - and there are only two-bed rooms, so you are very unlikely to be disturbed by children The restaurant is still missing

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a fanastic stay at domokuchu! The view from the bungalows is just amazing! The breakfast is served right at your own terrace! We can just recommend this place for everyone who wants to let go for a while!


86%

Fabulous private bungalo with king size bed. Very friendly staff. No Internet but neighboring lodge has wifi and a restaurant. Close walk to kite boarding rental and lessons shop. Would stay again!

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We loved our stay at this place! The owners took good care of us and showed us how to enjoy the best of Zanzibar! Loved the bar just over the street! I really recommend you to go here! Kul att ägaren kunde svenska! / Lisa, Rebecka and Sandra

  • 15th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

There should be some chairs inside my room A. The bathroom is quite large, may be a wardrobe can be put inside. Unexpected some hooks for clothes are fixed at the top of the bathroom door. I think it would be more than six feet from the ground. I am only five feet two inches. Not every one is so tall. A restaurant is required especialy at bad weather or no electricity. Overall it is a good , quiet, and peaceful place to stay. I enjoy the massage there.


83%

the bungalow was really stunning location. It would have been nice to have had a bit of a welcome . We didn't know for example there was a power cut each evening, no torch or storm light etc, and we didn't know how long it would last! On our last day, we thought we'd leave in the morning and when a taxi dropped someone off, we asked him if he could take us back into Stone Town. We were told we had to go with the hotel driver, couldn't be bothered to argue. Fresh coffee would be nice!

  • 14th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

This is the perfect place for couple who want to chill and hang out for a few days. The bungalows are immaculate and beautiful. There's literally NOTHING to do except having long strolls along the beach and the tidelands. The colours of the sea are amazing at low tide and it can get rough at high tide. We didn't swim while we were there because of the seaweed that you'd have to swim over at high tide. But it's really one of the most romantic places, especially when there's a power cut.


94%

We had a very nice stay in Domokucho. Its a nice place with nice people.

  • 11th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Better to make more of the place. It has the atmosphere to be a wonderful place if there was more to do.


91%

This is very nice hotel. Nice wooden lodges in the middle of a very calm and beautiful beach. perfect if you`re looking for a place to rest and chill. on the beach there are restaurants with good food also.


100%

We stayed here for a few nights just after Xmas and it was fabulous. You feel like you're on your own slice of paradise here! The bungalows are clean and well-kept and big. Breakfast on the deck each morning was a delicious way to start the day. For more food and drink options, you can walk down the beach to other hotels/pensiones. Loved this spot!


97%

Pretty sweet place… All the staff is GREAT, had a Wonderful time!!! Ba Dai

  • 19th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Zanzibar Hotels

Please give us your feedback