X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Da! Hostel Reviews

(Old) Arbat, 11, Moscow, Russia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
165 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The staff were very friendly, but not very knowledgeable...no free maps, when I asked about things to do they just said 'google it'. No atmosphere, lots of the other people there are locals, the prices are so reasonable they are long term residents (6 months +). They have a rule about no alcohol but it's not observed. The price includes towel and bedding, I must say the softest sheets I've ever slept on.


71%

Our room was so smelly (16) and the bed on the top not that clean.


100%

perfect hostel! here you can rent a scooter easily :) free tea is at the reception, which is strange.


63%

The staff not helpful, she didnt check necessity of your visa registration but charged you 500rub for registration. Actually stay in russia more than 7 working days only need register visa. The lift only available for luggage bags. The room was too hot, in hot summer how can survive without a fan or a/c? Some residences even slept in hall. Shoes leave at shoes rack was big mistake! Other people may just wear it without permission! Location is good. When check out really take long time!


100%

Hostel is clean and comfortable. I even used to sleep well all night cause no one was drinking and shouting at night or watching TV for example. Staff is really nice, friendly and hospitable. And also for lazy asses like me there's an opportunity to buy some food at the reception)) So i've spend good time at the the hostel and don't mind to stay there next time if i'm in Moscow) Thank you, girls! Good luck!

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Location is really good. 3min walk to metro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks, Irem Melek! We'll be glad to see you again!

60%

Please smile!! It really makes a difference. Having flown 1500 miles to get here, a surly greeting was not appreciated.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

It's the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The girl from the reception is soo rude. The bathroon is extremely dirty and you have to share showers. I stayed in a very dirty room with 6 other old russian guys who kept snoring and farting all night long.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! We’re very disappointed with your unfair reference. We are objectively one of the best hostels in Moscow. Of course shower is share, but it’s cleaned regularly. The same to dorms and common rooms. It’s unfair from your side to complain about the snoring the dorm. Cause we are hostel! Of course you’re not alone. As a conclusion itseems hostel is not appropriate place to stay for you. Maybe you’ll try to stay at at least 3* hotel next time)

60%

Part of my stuff was stolen from lockers.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! Thank you for your reference. We’re sorry you had problems with connection during your stay. But it was temporary problem. Usually we don’t have any complains about it. It doesn’t depend on our personnel and they wouldn’t be able to help you. It all depends on internet provider that is working in this area, but not on our equipment or staff.

54%

-Location on Arbat is nice but you have to walk behind the main street on a sketchy alley at night that made me feel uncomfortable as a single female traveler. -The door to the reception is ALWAYS locked and you have to call to be let in which is not possible if you don't have a Russian simcard. -Staff were very unhelpful when someone stole my bed and made me change beds 4 times in 5 nights. -In 5 days at the hostel I did not meet one other traveler, it is all Russian people that live there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! We’re very sorry for inconvenience about your bed. You shouldn’t worry about your safety. We have only one administrator and he’s always available on the phone.. About your complains connected to Russian guests. As you know Russia is the biggest country in the world and for people from different parts of it’s the same travel as to you, maybe even more long distance. So you have nothing to complain. Anyway thank you for your response! We’ll be happy to see you again

57%

We couldn't have access to the free wi-fi in the hostel. Moreover the staff was far from being interested about this or other matters. The bathroom was not great yet clean enough for a short stay. However we stayed 4 people in a 8 people dorm. Wonder how the bathrooms would be if the dorm was full. Apart from these, the location was wonderful a minute walk from the splendid Arbat Street. Even though the facilities are not great, the prices are very affordable it is worth with respect to money.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! Thank you for your reference. We’re sorry you had problems with connection during your stay. But it was temporary problem. Usually we don’t have any complains about it. It doesn’t depend on our personnel and they wouldn’t be able to help you. It all depends on internet provider that is working in this area, but not on our equipment or staff.



View all Moscow Hostels

Please give us your feedback