X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Da Luciano - Backpackers Reviews

via Colombo 25, Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
62 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Like what has been said by other reviewers, this is not truly a hostel. We were placed in a small room that seemed like it had two extra cots added in order to accommodate our group of 4. If booking through this company, I believe it is a bit of a gamble on what sort of room you will end up with. However, there are not many options in the Riomaggiore area. Wifi was very poor - worked less than half the time, and the staff was not overly helpful. AC was very good though.


89%

We had a great stay in Cinque Terre! We originally booked a private room for 3 people, we ended up having an extra guest and the staff was more than helpful to put us in another room to accommodate 4 guests. The room was not clean when we arrived, however they weren't expecting us to stay in that room, so it is understandable. We dropped off our bags, changed, and headed down to the beach, and the room was tidied up when we returned. No air conditioning or wifi was a bummer. Great location!

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

No wifi except in the office from 10am-8pm (up the hill from where the room was). The room was not ready when I arrived so I had to wait around for someone to come clean it. When they did clean it, they only changed the sheets. There was still dirt & hair all over the floor. The shower head was broken in the bathroom. I've stayed in many hostels around the world & this was one of the worst, especially for the $$. It was a terrible, grossly overpriced experience & I would never stay here again.


97%

Great hostel. Riomaggiore is built in the hill, and to access the hostel room requires steps, hallways and corners, more steps, turns and more steps. (maybe 6 flights of stairs.) Hostel room was not in the same building as the check in desk. We went up hill to register, then back down hill to access the building our room was in. Our room - gorgeous! Double bed and single bed for the three of us, private bathroom, clean room, clean bathroom.


86%

This place was great, but was a bit of a hike from the Main Street in town. There were about 300 stairs that separated the main area from the room. There were two clean bathrooms and the room was nice. This place doesn't have the typical hostel feel though. There was not really an area to hang out.


100%

There is no words to explain the beautiful village of Riomaggiore, just go there watch the sunset and the night atmosphere^^ Everything was cheap and perfect!!!...... Hello from Milan!!.....


37%

After we checked in, the owner's husband took us to our room which was A STORAGE CLOSET. He opened the door and it was a closet with sheets hanging from the ceiling and washing machines and towels. It was actually part kitchen but he gave us 2 cots and 1 mattress. He claimed the reason we were put in a "closet" (three people) was because they were very busy that day despite making the reservation A MONTH IN ADVANCE. Worst customer service I've ever experienced. Paid to sleep in a closet.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi,there ,the first night in the small room you paid only 10 euro -3 people,the second night you were upgraded in our best room -28 square meter-3 large window with balcony and sectaculy see view for the same price of a regular room-

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Great little place with the most amazing views!!! Lots of stairs to get up bit definitely worth it 😃

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

the guy that ran the hostel was a one man show in that when he wasn't in his office, it was closed and a sign outside read that he'd be back soon. "Soon" was 30 minutes worth of sitting outside the hostel for him to return. Internet was only available at the office, which was up the road from where the room was located, and didn't work unless the office was open between the hours of 10:30 am and 8pm. The place was overall very expensive, but I guess that is how most things are in Cinque Terre.


54%

Got lost on our way to Riomaggiore, we arrived shortly after 9 pm, not at 7 pm which is indicated in website as the latest checking-in time. The guy who came after us didn't speak English and my Italian is enough just for very basic small talk. Thus probably he told me this and I just didn't understand but the fact was that they had put sbody else in he room we had booked and instead we got 2 folding beds in a laundry room. Plus, charged unexpected and not earlier mentioned EUR 15 for parking.


51%

Very basic, the room was extremely small, and the price was quite expensive. The staff was OK. Better to stay in Verazza, Monterossa, or Corniglia


94%

Great Place, great Staff, they were all very kind and helpful. The place I stayed (because they have several) was a bit hard to reach because it's like hiking a mountain haha but that's Riomaggiore. Overall very good experience.


83%

A very nice place away from the most touristic parts. Quiet, clean and with a beautiful view. Hardly met the staff except for the very kind cleaning staff. We had one complaint - in the beginning all the guests in the flat we stayed in shared two bathrooms but the last days a couple booked a private bathroom which left us with about ten others sharing just one bathroom. The queue for the shower lasted for about 1,5 hours.


97%

Truly fantastic. We booked super last minute and ended up in the extra room. Lots of stairs to get to the room, but what a view! Absolutely lovely place, clean, functional. Great location to stay at. Great food on the main road. One of the best places we stayed on our trip!


94%

Really great. Loved the breakfast!! Thank you.


77%

Wasn't really a hostel in the traditional sense, more just a room in a shared apartment. The stairs up to the room were a challenge but we were rewarded with the most beautiful view of Riomaggiore. Unfortunately some guests in the room next to us did not have a view at all though. There is only wifi at the main office far down the mountain, in the town which became annoying when trying to book things but was beneficial as it got us out of the room!!


94%

Wonderful little place to stay in Riomaggorie. Staff are really friendly and we were able to do some washing! The only thing is, it's a small walk into the main strip of town but if you're used to hiking this shouldn't be a major issue. Also wifi is located at the office (a 5 min walk) not the house. We had a great stay, the place was cleaned every morning and we enjoyed meeting other travellers and having a glass of wine on the patio.


49%

Beware of Da Luciano, a double name for "Affittacamere Patrizia"! We booked three private rooms, but in our arrival we were offered only two rooms. We communicated to the staff that we had booked three private rooms and they tried to squeeze us to an apartment where one of the rooms didn't have window nor door. Warm water didn't work in one of the rooms and when we complained about the issue, the staff was very reluctant to solve it and their English knowledge suddenly ended there.


54%

Avoid at all costs. The way we were dealt with was truly appalling. We had booked the wrong room option by mistake. On asking if we'd be able to change our booking on arrival we were told yes - great. They tried to charge us about 40% above the advertised rate for a double room, acting flustered. They denied all knowledge of the Hostelworld deposit and that it went to them. When we queried the prices the two owners became increasingly aggressive to the point where I felt physically threatened.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The room was a great size for the 3 of us. Clean bathroom clean and spacious (enough) beds. Our room was in a PERFECT location, they have rooms all over the town we got lucky with one in the center and not way up the hill. I previously read people compalining about the stairs but if you go to cinque terre there are stairs everywhere and they are not that bad. The staff was very nice and did not fuss about check out. There is no wifi but its better that way, be social. Downside: no breakfast

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Cinque Terre Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback