X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dahab Hostel Reviews

26 Mahmoud Bassiouny St., Cairo, Egypt

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
503 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The staff were very friendly and the rooftop garden is a nice place to escape to after a long day on Cairo streets. The transport from the airport was very helpful even though my baggage was delayed and the driver had to wait for over an hour for me at arrivals. The single room shared bathroom is very small but adequate for the price. There were a few needed improvements like adding a refrigerator in the kitchen and the stove was not working properly during my stay .

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Most likely one of the best tips to have a nice stay in Cairo for a low price and in a nice place, moreover since the price have gone higher in the city for everything. The staff is really nice and young, ready to help you. The taxi from the airport is very appreciable, as well as the transportation to Ghiza or louxor and Assouan, in which they take a friendly commission. the atmosphere there is really cool as a youth hostel but much better. Most important, the place is well situated.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Actually I think they are very friendly and helpful.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Dahab Hostel is a really nice hostel. Located on the seventh floor you have both a really cool view over downtown cairo and nice cool breezes in the night. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The location is perfect and you have everything you need in the same street. A perfect place for couples or people travelling alone! I stayed for two and a half weeks and have had a purely good experience here.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Sadly Dahab Hostel was incredibly rundown. The room was extremely small, abt a foot of space around the double bed & that was it. 1 sm desk, so nowhere to put your bags down (every bag on th floor) There was no Air Conditioner (in the Egyptian summer, this is important!). Only 1 power outlet in th room & a fan was plugged into it. Th choice was: keep th fan on (in the excruciating heat) or unplug it every time you need to recharge your phone or computer. no towel, 1 sheet on th bed no trash can

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great Hostel, some of the walls are a bit run down but in total a great place to stay in Cairo

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The outside hostel walls and some rooms are freshly painted, and we are about to paint the rest of the rooms this summer according to our yearly renovation plan. Thanks for pointing it out!

60%

The hostel is basic. If you need a place to sleep, this is a good place, but don't look after a great service. The staff was kind. The room was pretty small but clean. The facilities were clean but they need maintenance (broken doors, two sinks out of service, etc...) I must tell you the bad part of this hostel is the ''tour'' they offer... Do NOT accept it, you can go to Giza by your own for 1 pound by bus, and the tour they made is just a shopping tour (expensive). Not recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. The comparison bet. the tour and the public transportation option is not fair. Our tour is a private service. A private car with a private english speaking driver that drives you to Giza Pyramids, Sakkara, Memphis and Dahshour (30 Km away from Giza). The bus can take you ONLY to Giza Pyramids. We are always happy to explain all options (incl. the pub. trans. options) for the comfort of our guests. PS: Our defected sinks are now fixed and fully running

100%

After an ascent until the 6th floor with an Art Deco elevator, you finally reach the seventh heaven in this hostel thanks to a charming spiral staircase. It's really a perfect place, original beautiful and peaceful, right in the middle of the city, where the staff is really nice and helpful and you can meet very interesting people. The terraces give you a wonderful view of the animation of the center of the town. The breakfast is good and the tours provided are great. I highly recommand it!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It's well-located. So, it provides you with a great location to get around Downtown. Staffers are rather helpful. Downside :Elevator only works upward. So, If you've got large luggage, you may need to figure out something else.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review. Our elevator goes only upwards but if you have large luggage you don't have to figure out something else, just let our receptionists know and we will bring up the elevator for you :)

86%

Great atmosphere, nice staff. Also the tours arranged by the hostel were great. No tourist traps!

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your recommendations, we are happy to hear that!

91%

The accommodations were very basic but kept well. The staff was amazing, they arranged trips for us (day trip to the pyramids and 5 day to Aswan, Luxor, tailored to our needs) and promptly responded to anything we needed at the hostel.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a wonderful stay in Dahab Hotel.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Staying at Dahab Hostel sealed the deal for my short relationship with the monster of a city Cairo is. Kareem and his staff are the people you want to meet in a city which is vibrating with energy (good and bad) at every corner. Corfortable private room, delicious breakfast (the best ful in the city), and all the clean accomidations you want to expect from a rooftop hostel/oasis. The location is prime for exploring the vibrant downtown, walking to both Tahir Square and the Museum.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very best hostel in Cairo, hi guys, see you next year, Ymkje de Vriesi


83%

The hostel is in a great location, dorms are ok, all what you need, a good shower and good bed. One of the problems is that the elevator just has one button in the first floor, since the hostel is on floor number 7th, we need to have lucky that somebody lift him up... Anyway, to go up is always ok, but to go down sometime you need to walk.. Thanks!

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review! Our building like other downtown buildings is old architecture, our neighbors and us decided to decrease the load on the elevator by making it go one way "up" and going down the stairs is not so bad at the end of the day, look at it as a sport obligation

83%

This beautiful rooftop is truely an oasis in the heart of the busy city center. The Egyptian Museum and Tahir Sq are just around the corner.


69%

besides it was missing hot water in one of the shared bathrooms, everthing else was ok.


91%

A very good hostel right in the middle of town, just a coue of minutes walk from the Egyptian museum. Easy to meet fellow travels and team up to share costs (eg on trips to pyramids, saqqara etc)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks for your review and the advice to fellow travelers ;)

91%

I had a great stay with them. The courtyard is brilliant, providing a great place to relax and socialise with other travellers. The location is great. Dahab hostel should be getting attention as an excellent choice in Cairo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thanks a lot for your nice words, we hope to see you again in the near future :)

100%

We spent four nice days in the hostel. Situated in a big terrace the place is suggestive, in the center of the town. Like living in a garden you forget for a while to be in a big and chaotic city. We had good conversations with the other guests and with the personal of the structure. People working there were helpful and willing. We absolutely suggest to stay in Dahab hostel to all who arrive in Cairo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, a big "Thanks!" to you. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again in Cairo very soon.

« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Cairo Hostels

Please give us your feedback