Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dali Color of Wind Hostel 2nd

  • North Yeyu Road(opp. to final stop of Bus 8), Old Dali Town, Dali, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • papitoloko1992
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
7.7

The Hostel is great, the dorms are very good. Yet, when we were checking out we had to pay more because a cup that was in our dorm was "broken". We never used that cup, and we don't even know if it was really our cup. We think we got ripped off...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • danclifton69295
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
19th Mar 2017
9.7

Very nice hostel with a great bar/restaurant downstairs and common area. Comfy beds with curtain, power point and reading light. Big lockers and space in the room to move around. On the top edge of the Old City but it takes only 10 minutes to walk to the main streets. Friendly staff, one was able to speak a bit of English (way better than my Chinese!). Very convenient for walking to 3 Pagodas and the base of the mountains for Jade Belt and the cable cars. Absolute bargain price for dorm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
8.0

The staff could not care less about the guests, but maybe because we don't speak Chinese and they don't speak English (or really little) either. The location was perfect, since you can walk easily everywhere. The dorm is on the small side, but you get lockers in the room. The restrooms were really clean. But we were not able to get warm shower during day time. Washing machine costs 5 yuans over loads. The view from the rooftop is amazing, you should have a look!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.9

It is near the north gate of the old town, so the pagodas (NW), Cangshan Mt (W) and ancient town (S) are all easily walkable. I recommend spending a day cycling to Lake Erhai then continuing north along the west road to see the villages. Me and my friend borrowed great mountain bicycles from the hostel for just 20kuai a day. The staff at the reception desk speak English and are really kind and helpful. The bunkbeds are cosy, the lockers are safe and there is kettle, fridge, PC to use downstairs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.9

Very good location and clean, comfortable dorms. E-bike rental. Staff were friendly but did not speak good English so limited help for foreigners

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Dec 2016
10.0

Great hostel, great value for money. Staying at the cheapest place in town in this case does not mean giving in on comfort. The room and bathroom were clean, beds have curtains, lockers are provided and there is a nice common room downstairs. Please note that during the last days of December 2016 roadworks make your bikeride around the lake a lot less enjoyable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
9.1

Good place. Only complaints would be they don't have towels for rent, and the staff I talked to didn't seem too knowledgeable about local transportation (though there is a helpful bus chart tacked up on the wall.) Great atmosphere, very comfortable and spacious curtained beds, good clean bathroom, amazingly convenient location next to the main bus stop. I'd certainly recommend this place... just bring your own towel ;-p

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
9.1

The place is excellent bargain for quality rooms with electric key card and lockers. The bed even had a heating pad on it with a curtain (dorm room). There is a restaurant attached. Unfortunately the atmosphere is lacking an international hostel vibe, not much socializing going on in the common area. The room is right on the road where cars like to honk their horns. But this is China, I would still stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Dec 2016
10.0

The best hostle iv'e been to in china! Clean rooms, big lockers, very helpful staff. Good location. Recommended very much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Dec 2016
8.9

Favorite hostel of the trip. Good value for money (low season so dorm beds were 15 Yuan). Also stayed in private room with ensuite for one night - quality of a 3 star hotel. Good facilities. Front desk sfafd informative and helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.