Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dambulla City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 83 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 83 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Apr 2017
5.1

Personal reception no nice Clean room and bed before check out They want you clean bathroom shower after use

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

10 out of 10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Apr 2017
8.0

A fun hostel with a very helpful staff. Facilities are good although could have been a little cleaner. Breakfast included like the other city hostels in Kandy and Colombo. Definitely stay here while in Dambulla!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2017
8.6

It was a great hostel to stay at, we also had a breakfast included. Met great people there. Definitely a place I would suggest in Dambulla

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
8.6

I had a great time in this hostel. Anthony, the manager, was a great guy; helpful, friendly and sociable. Made a good circle of friends at this hostel for the start of my Sri Lanka tour. The location is perfect to tour the cultural triangle. Beds were comfortable with good air con for the humid area. I found out however that in hindsight the hostelworld price was more expensive than other sites. Also the facilities could do with an extension: two shower/toilet cubicles weren't sufficent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Feb 2017
10.0

Clean, tidy and fun hostel. Only complaint is they ran out of beer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jan 2017
7.1

Simple room with ricketty beds. Mosquito net was appreciated however. Bathrooms are simple too. Breakfast just toast and two eggs. The hostel looked a bit run down but generally clean. Met nice people there. Location is good: town center is 10 minutes by foot and the caves not much further.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
6.6

The hostel is pretty clean and there are big lockers in the room. Large common area to meet other people. It's FAR from town. It's quite a long walk to get food and they don't sell any at the hostel. Not a bad place at all but perhaps not worth the money

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2016
7.4

Cool place to meet other travelers. Not the cleanest place and in a fairly decent location. Still good for a night or two

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.