Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 526 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 526 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.6
Damhotel Located at Damrak 31-32, , Amsterdam.
Damhotel
Netherlands
Amsterdam Noorth-Holland 1012LK Damrak 31-32
67% 526
52.3760707 4.8970484
Damhotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2016
4.6

Unfortunately, it was really dirty: dust and dirt everywhere. Tiny shower and toilett and only one each for the entire floor. There was no aircon nor fan in the room which was directely under the roof, so it was pretty hot. There are heaps of very steep stairs, hard to get your luggage up there. The only good thing was the central location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jul 2016
6.0

There was no kitchen or common room so not a good place to meet people. The room we stayed in was quite unclean, however when we complained about a blocked shower in our room the staff did get it fixed quickly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jul 2016
6.6

It was alright

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.3

Not the best for the price but I guess you can't expect something cheap last minute on a Saturday night. Fantastic location, only downfall was that the water was cut off during our stay and the only notification we received was a note on the stairs that wasn't noticeable but the lovely staff allowed me to shower in their other building which was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
4.0

Room was OK, apart from dirty ensuite. Also, on our last night we got moved to a hostel down the road because there wasn't a room available for us (even though we had booked well in advance).

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
5.4

Bathroom facilities are really bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
4.6

Ok if you aren't fussy, but the dorms are ridiculously overpriced. Room was cramped, zero storage space, bathroom was very small and dirty. There is no common area so the 'atmosphere' depended on who was in the room with you. Good building security, but no way to keep your things safe from roommates-you have to store anything valuable at reception in a different building. Wifi was terrible. View from the window was disgusting- roof with a puddle of green water full of garbage.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2016
8.3

Great basic clean stay very central. Good security with swipe access into building and room. No bar or common room/area to hang and meet ppl. Staff friendly and helpful.✌

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
8.0

Stephanie at the front desk is very good with customer service. She gave tips on things to do and the local area. She made my stay!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • enbailey317
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Jul 2016
8.0

No complaints. Really liked the location for the price! Very centrally located and only a few blocks from the red light district and some of the prettier sights. Lots to do nearby! The wifi kinda sucked... Actually really sucked, but it's Amsterdam so I didn't find myself on my phone that frequently. Overall, a solid stay for a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.