Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 592 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 592 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jul 2017
6.9

The location was mint. But that's it. Have no expectations of anything else. No lockers, no communal area, Internet didn't work, moldy shower curtain, and the staff is just there to collect money, nothing else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • TurinUp
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2017
7.4

I experienced considerable difficulty upon checking in when I was told I had only booked a room for one person instead of two. The desk employee did not seem to want to help me at all. However, the manager was very helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
6.0

Not worth the money and weird people staying there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
16th Jul 2017
7.1

Like many hostels in Amsterdam, this one is a bit shabby. Looks old, smells old (which does not mean bad, but it isn't welcoming) - in brief, could really use some renovations. Otherwise it is perfectly located, close to the station and the RLD. Most hostels in this area are similar. If you're looking for a cosier place and don't want to pay too much, I would recommend hostels on the outskirts (quieter, prettier and the town is lovely).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
2.0

Forgive me the detail of the rating isn't correct but that's because it's not necessary. If you are a hotel but cannot even give a proper bed to sleep in your title should be stripped away. The bed was not bed but a half wooden construction of which the mattras was slipping off! Yes it was cheap but being a hotel means you offer full beds to sleep on. A window towards the full outside in the room could help as well. Utterly terrible atmosphere, looks like a mob hole.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Apr 2017
5.7

The room was very stuffy and even tho there was a safe for valuables there was no place for any bags to even sit in the room. The location of the hostel was great but for the price I paid it was not worth it. There were fresh towels everyday but the floor didn't look like it had been cleaned all that often.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
5.4

No secure place to keep luggage in dorm, very cramped room with as many bed as possible squeezed in

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
5.7

The hostel was rather expensive in my opinion, though that could likely be because of the location, which was right in the center of everything. There are no lockers in the room, so you would have to leave your bags in the luggage room (which is in a separate building) if you are worried about their security. There are safes for valuables, but two were broken so they were all used by the time I got to them. There was also only one bathroom for nine beds.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
4.3

The room was filthy and even had a cigarette butt left for us after being assured at reception it was a non smoking room. The room also had an extremely potent smell which meant the window could not be closed at all and the bedding and towels provided too contained the smell. It's location is perfect for the train station and boat trips however cost far more then I would have paid if I knew it would be as dirty as it was.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • mariannej12
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
7.7

It was a little hard to find, but it was in the middle of Amsterdam which was good for us due to the fact we only had 18 hours in Amsterdam. The hostel is 8 min walk from the train station and 10 min walk to the red light district. I went to 5 different coffee shops that was near the hostel, so I didn't have to catch a cab or anything because I was close by, the only thing that bother me was the hostel itself needed some renovating and it didn't felt clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.