Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 553 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 553 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.0
Damhotel Located at Damrak 31-32, , Amsterdam.
Damhotel
Netherlands
Amsterdam Noorth-Holland 1012LK Damrak 31-32
64% 553
52.3760707 4.8970484
Damhotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
4.3

Despite clean bed sheets and towels, the room was very dirty. They didn't clean behind the beds, I realised as i accidentally knocked the bed(which weighs nothing), which is why I was able to push it. Dirty toilet and shower facilities on each floor.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
5.4

Room was really filthy... I found leftover food on the windowsill and behind my bed. I paid $42 a night and I was very disappointed with how dirty the room was. There are many cheaper hostels, so I was expecting one that would at the very least be clean. Not at all. Location was great and staff were nice, other than that, not a great experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Oct 2016
8.0

Reasonable size for a 9 bed dorm with a large ensuite bathroom and large shower. Location is great, as you're at the central station within a minute and all attractions can be reached within walking distance. Overall no fancy place, but enough for a nights stay and definitely worth the money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
6.9

Location = perfect, staff = wonderfully friendly, price = what you would expect, hygiene = what you would expect. We were seven in a 9 bed dorm that we shared with two strangers. These strangers were excellent. One had a weird sex dream we all listened too, the other had a disturbing 90 minute morning routine and a big jacket that said 'FCUK - ING - GOOD'. He also smoked in the bathroom (that wasn't us) and make weird snorting sounds. See if these men are available to share your booking 10/10

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
7.1

very close to central station if you need to get to the airport. Basis facilities and small rooms. Staff very helpful. It has a steep stairway at the entrance and no lift, no accessible por disable and complicated with kids and trolley.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Aug 2016
4.3

The hotel isn't worth the price at all for its quality; the building is old fashioned. The room was clean and the window in the room was open when we arrived. The biggest problem is that our room, on the 2nd floor, hada window on a little balcony full of stuff and rubbish bags: ALL NIGHT LONG WE HEARD THE NOISE OF PLASTIC BAGS CRACKING BECAUSE OF DOZENS OF MICE WALKING ALL AROUND, JUST OUTSIDE OUR WINDOW. They could have been also inside the room, as the window was open! NOT SUGGESTED!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
6.0

Only stay here if you have to. It's okay. Avrage and over priced. There are better places to stay here. Great location though if you don't care about anything else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
5.7

Only one shower for two floors and the rooms were very narrow and felt crowded. The staircases were very steep and difficult to carry large backpacks up.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
2.0

Please don't do it to yourself. I booked it went in and walked back out and asked for refund. Don't do it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
4.0

I stayed here one night and it was terrible, there's no community area, the wifi was non existent, the street it's on is so packed, I had a top bunk & when I climbed up at 1am I found blood & a broken earring in my bed, I spoke to the manager and because "I used a bed that night" (I had to change the sheet) they wouldn't reimburse me (I got 5€ for my troubles)but they had clearly not changed the sheets. Also the only other girl in my room had been sexually assaulted the night before in the room

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.