Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.8
Damhotel Located at Damrak 31-32, , Amsterdam.
Damhotel
Netherlands
Amsterdam Noorth-Holland 1012LK Damrak 31-32
67% 492
52.3760707 4.8970484
Damhotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
4.3

Good location but everything else is bad would not recommend

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
6.0

The hostel is really well situated near the central train station in Amsterdam. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was fine and the sheets and pillows were clean and ready. However, I have never seen such small stairs, it was really a task to walk up these nearly vertical stairs with bags and backpacks. The bathrooms and shower were also not very clean with the shower door deteriorating near the bottom. The carpet in the hallway was not clean with stains and dirt.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
4.6

Only the location was perfect. The hostel was very old and dirty. Rooms were very small and the whole atmosphere very bad. I paid 35 euros per night. I don't recommend it at all.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
6.0

Too expensive for what they are offering.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
5.1

Online it said that there would be a safe deposit box available for me to use. I was staying in a room with 6 people, the room had only one safe for the 6 of us and someone was already using it. When I spoke to reception they confirmed that my room only had one safe for the 6 of us and that someone got there before me. They also explained that there was no other room with a safe that I could switch into. The false advertising and lack of security was upsetting.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2016
6.0

Fairly priced, good location. No real problems, although we did return one evening to find our room door had been left open by the cleaner - not a big issue though as all our stuff was in the safe provided. Would recommend for a short stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Palestine, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2016
3.4

Actualy i just stay one night in this hosltel and i was realyy very very bad espetalliy the staff in the resepetion...there is indian man he is very unpolite and didnt respect anyone he spoke with a very bad way with me and i jest slept in this hostel just becouse i already bay by mastercard and there is no way to cancel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kellyj
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2015
7.4

It's a two star hostel so our expectations were pretty low. The walls are very thin and you can hear everyone going in and out. At one point in the night whilst we slept there was a really loud alarm going off in our room. Don't know what the hell for, really annoying. Bathroom stank SO bad (en suite room number 305). Staff were really friendly, they have a storage room to leave your bags in if you have a flight a lot later than your check out time. Great location at the very centre of Dam

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.