Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.1
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.1
Damhotel Located at Damrak 31-32, , Amsterdam.
Damhotel
Netherlands
Amsterdam Noorth-Holland 1012LK Damrak 31-32
65% 544
52.3760707 4.8970484
Damhotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
7.1

very close to central station if you need to get to the airport. Basis facilities and small rooms. Staff very helpful. It has a steep stairway at the entrance and no lift, no accessible por disable and complicated with kids and trolley.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Aug 2016
4.3

The hotel isn't worth the price at all for its quality; the building is old fashioned. The room was clean and the window in the room was open when we arrived. The biggest problem is that our room, on the 2nd floor, hada window on a little balcony full of stuff and rubbish bags: ALL NIGHT LONG WE HEARD THE NOISE OF PLASTIC BAGS CRACKING BECAUSE OF DOZENS OF MICE WALKING ALL AROUND, JUST OUTSIDE OUR WINDOW. They could have been also inside the room, as the window was open! NOT SUGGESTED!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
6.0

Only stay here if you have to. It's okay. Avrage and over priced. There are better places to stay here. Great location though if you don't care about anything else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
5.7

Only one shower for two floors and the rooms were very narrow and felt crowded. The staircases were very steep and difficult to carry large backpacks up.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
2.0

Please don't do it to yourself. I booked it went in and walked back out and asked for refund. Don't do it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
4.0

I stayed here one night and it was terrible, there's no community area, the wifi was non existent, the street it's on is so packed, I had a top bunk & when I climbed up at 1am I found blood & a broken earring in my bed, I spoke to the manager and because "I used a bed that night" (I had to change the sheet) they wouldn't reimburse me (I got 5€ for my troubles)but they had clearly not changed the sheets. Also the only other girl in my room had been sexually assaulted the night before in the room

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2016
4.0

For the price this hotel comes nowhere near the mark. The building is tatty throughout including the room where we stayed, and in dire need of a refurbishment. The window in the room looked out upon a walkway of sorts which was strewn with old furniture and bin bags, people were passing through all evening which coupled with general noise from other guests and staff led to a terrible nights sleep. The towels supplied had holes in and the room smelt of cooking from the restaurant below, awful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Aug 2016
5.7

Posizione centralissima! Non troppa pulizia, prezzi alti per il tipo di struttura!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
5.7

Cheap, the location is excellent (by central and the train station), and the bathroom, bedding, and sheets are clean. But the carpets in the hall are filthy, the walls are badly damaged and stained, and you can see garbage on the roof through the windows. There is graffiti on the undersides of the beds and they squeak loudly every time you move. I didn't get any sleep. Our roommate got locked inside the bathroom when the lock broke. I recommend paying a little more for something nicer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jul 2016
7.1

Only stayed a night but was a good location and friendly receptionist. Beds were comfy but wasn't a particularly aesthetically pleasing place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.