Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Damrak Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 525 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 525 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jun 2017
5.7

The bathrooms are gross. It's was so tiny, it was barely separated from the shower. It left the bathroom completely wet and the stench was unbearable. It was a hot day in the summer, and there was no AC. There was no common area to meet people. The guests included young children with their parents, party boys, and old guys. I cancelled immediately and went to a cleaner hostel. The lady at the front desk seemed nice and helpful, and there were small lockers where you could put your valuables.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • tseminerio
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
7.1

The room was small and hot. Didn't have a common room or anywhere to sit except your bed. But it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. They had security lockers in the room but they are tiny and you can't fit a backpack in them. The best part about this place was the location. You are right in the center of Amsterdam and a close walk to everything.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2017
7.4

This is the ideal location for touring Amsterdam! I'd definitely recommend staying there if you're part of a group. Since there is no real lobby/common area, it can be tough to meet people if you're traveling alone. Linens are changed daily, which is great! Unfortunately, there's only a safe for small valuables, no lockers for all your goods.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
4.3

Where to start... I was in a shared dorm so private rooms may not be as bad. I was in a room with a group of what turned out to be homeless men that were constantly smoking and drinking in the room. (Seen them begging on the street a few days later that's how I know they're homeless) they stated having a full out fight around 2am... the bunk beds shook like anything when trying to get in and out so sharing meant getting woke up whenever their was a slight movement. Don't use this hostel!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
6.6

Easy walk from the train station & to red light district. Very small sign at the street to steep steps to a small reception desk. We were a familyof 3 in coed 8 bed room. There were 4 middle-aged men staying there for an extended period and it was not a pleasant first night. Was smoking in the room, lights on til 3am. We didn't feel comfortable that night. Wish the desk would have moved us the first night, but they did move us the next morning to a very nice coed 5 bed room beside reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
9.1

Great location. Check in process was smooth and front desk very knowledgeable. All 8 people were in bed by midnight. Bathroom was a little tight

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
8.3

For $90USD a night in a dorm bunk bed, would not have used Amsterdam as my night stop on the way home on this trip if I had known what the prices were like. That is more than double the rate I have come to expect in the past from this city. With that said, there was apparently a convention going on which was driving up the rates everywhere. Still though, $90 for a bunk is beyond excessive and I only paid it because there was really nothing else left in town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel, great staff, great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Mar 2017
4.3

Very dirty. Hair everywhere and the floors had dirt on them wasn't impressed to say the least. The staff is helpful, on the main path but not a party hostel at all. There are no places to lounge except for on your bed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.7

Great location, helpful and friendly staff, good price. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.