Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Damrak Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 545 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 545 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Aug 2017
5.7

u have to work out before u climb the stairs of this hostel , its really hard to carry ur heavy luggage up there to 2nd or 3rd floor with steepy stairs. all the noise of the crowd down there will be in your room and if you close the window it will be stuffy . half of lockers not working , bathroom ensuite was basic with shower , i think the money i paid for the location coz it s super

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • knap9721731
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
7.1

Very good location. Friendly enough staff. Very steep stairs up to the dorm. Rooms are clean. Key card to room works 70% of the time. 6 out of 7 small lock compartments for personable valuables didn't work. Seperate lock up room to store your baggage. Overall pretty good imo

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
5.7

Of all hostels I've stayed in this one has definitely the dirtiest. The room without ventilation smelled horrible and the bathroom was in por condition.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2017
5.4

The hostel is in a great location and very near to some main tourist attractions. Overall I thought the rooms were not very good, no place to store luggage and lock boxes that rarely work. The bathroom was never very clean and there was often giant puddles of water on the floor since the shower takes long to drain. Electricity to the room works only if you leave your room key in the slot at the door which is very inconvenient.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Jun 2017
3.4

I paid for an ensuite but Beth was outside the room = ((((

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
7.7

Good location, facilities were OK. Super steep stairs which is typical of AMS. The room did get very hot so that was a bit of a pain but otherwise no complaints

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
5.7

The bathrooms are gross. It's was so tiny, it was barely separated from the shower. It left the bathroom completely wet and the stench was unbearable. It was a hot day in the summer, and there was no AC. There was no common area to meet people. The guests included young children with their parents, party boys, and old guys. I cancelled immediately and went to a cleaner hostel. The lady at the front desk seemed nice and helpful, and there were small lockers where you could put your valuables.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • tseminerio
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
7.1

The room was small and hot. Didn't have a common room or anywhere to sit except your bed. But it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. They had security lockers in the room but they are tiny and you can't fit a backpack in them. The best part about this place was the location. You are right in the center of Amsterdam and a close walk to everything.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2017
7.4

This is the ideal location for touring Amsterdam! I'd definitely recommend staying there if you're part of a group. Since there is no real lobby/common area, it can be tough to meet people if you're traveling alone. Linens are changed daily, which is great! Unfortunately, there's only a safe for small valuables, no lockers for all your goods.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
4.3

Where to start... I was in a shared dorm so private rooms may not be as bad. I was in a room with a group of what turned out to be homeless men that were constantly smoking and drinking in the room. (Seen them begging on the street a few days later that's how I know they're homeless) they stated having a full out fight around 2am... the bunk beds shook like anything when trying to get in and out so sharing meant getting woke up whenever their was a slight movement. Don't use this hostel!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.