X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Damrak Inn Reviews

Damrak 58-59, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
367 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

We paid practically $50 per person per night for really just a bed. The location was great but the facilities were very poor. The shower would flood the bathroom floor and the water pressure was terrible. Like many Amsterdam hostels, the stairs were very steep. Each room only had one locker, which defeats the purpose of having locker unless only one person uses it.


37%

This was the worst place I stayed on my 2 month trip. Every member of the staff I interacted with was incredibly rude, there were 9 people in an 8 person room, the safes didn't work, the roof leaked, and there were no common rooms. Stay anywhere but here

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

This hostel is in an amazing location and we met some great people in our shared room! The only negative thing would be the suspicious disappearing of electricals that occurred throughout our stay. First a speaker, then a converter and then a few chargers.... After asking the staff several times & complaining half of the converter miraculously surfaced from a member of staff, but the rest is still a mystery!! Although there was a lack of facilities, the bathroom and bed rooms were still clean!


74%

Amazing location! It would be good if there was a common room and/or bar but that also makes you go explore the city so other than that a good stay! Room was hot with no AC but there was a fan trying its hardest to help with the heat.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Several of the tiny security box style lockers didn't work, not enough power points in the room, and cleaners left rubbish untouched for days. Only positive was the location.


66%

Fine for the price. Really good location although tricky to spot at first on Damrak road. All the staff were welcoming and friendly.


54%

Needs to have lockers and safes that work! One night they over booked out room and we ended up with extra people on the floor of our room, which isn't good enough, it was already super crowded! Really hard to meet people when there is no common area to hang out. Location is exceptional and the bed was comfortable though. Bathrooms need ventilation, it gets very stuffy in there. Rooms also need ventilation or ceiling fans.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Excellent location, right on Damrak street so you're in the middle of everything. The downside to being in the middle of everything is it can be noisy outdoors until around 3am. There is no elevator so you will have to carry your luggage up multiple flights of stairs (steep stairs, which are pretty normal for Amsterdam). If you're looking for a relatively inexpensive (for the location), safe, clean place to stay while you explore Amsterdam then this place should suit your needs.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Excellent location and does the job but they don't have enough keycards so you have to leave the key back to reception when you go out or knock the door to get let in if reception don't have them. 1 night I came back to find 9 people in the 8 bed room and had to sleep on a mattress on the floor. This was due to a mistake a guest made but it wouldn't have happened if they had enough keys for everyone. Friendly staff though and good atmosphere. I would stay again but they should get more keycards.


91%

Had a great time, despite having no common room I made friends in the dorm right away, bathroom got the job done, staff was helpful and very quick to remember a face often having my key for me before I spoke a word. Beds were comfortable and the location is pretty good. Easy walk from the train. Just be careful on the stairs.


66%

Location is great.


54%

The location is the only good thing.


46%

A small hotel room was filled with 6 beds for the room I was in. Security was poor as the mini safes within the room didn't work and the woman in reception didn't seem to care. Also the door of the room was often left open by the other occupants of the room because it was so hot otherwise (it was unusually hot in Amsterdam that weekend though). However a guy in reception was terrific to talk to and very helpful, and the bathroom was nice and clean. Get a hotel room instead for similar money


83%

We like the location, it is central and near the station.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

This hostel was fine overall, however there was no common room at all for the guests. Which turned into people eating good in their rooms. The rooms themselves were also crammed over capacity (8-9 people to one bathroom)


69%

Very hot! We had to keep the window onto the street open which meant is was also very loud. However it was (probably) the hottest day of the year so may not always be a problem.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Fantastic staff, location and cleanliness. Thank you.


66%

The room was nice, and we were welcomed well. Although we had to pay a city tax that said it was already included on hostel world. Also a random girl stayed in our room for a night without paying, and wasn't questioned until the morning after. Was overpriced and there were pull out beds for our already full 8 room so we had 9 one of the night. €35 a night not great value for money, but the location is good.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Employee staff that know what they are doing

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We we're greeted/checked in by Vincent. He was very friendly and welcoming. Our room/beds were clean and comfortable during our two night stay. The shower drain was clogged when we got there, but it was repaired the next day. Bed linen/towels/toilet paper were also changed and stocked. We had a lovely, comfortable stay. Thank you Damrak Inn!

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback