X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dancing Elephant N1 Party Hostel Reviews

95/16 Moo 6, Haadrin Village, Baantai,Suratthani, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
391 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

We booked this hostel and paid the 15% that hostel world takes but when we arrived there they said they had to sell our beds because we didn't send them the 1000 baht deposit.. They said they sent out an email but I never got anything.. And when you book it, it doesn't say anywhere on the page that you need to send 1000 baht. So we were then left stranded.. Just beware!!

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an awesome couple of days staying at this Hostel. A Hostel is as good as the people who are running it. Eddie, Joanna and Liam were incredible in making all guests to hostel welcome. Made an effort to go around and speak to everyone staying and have a few beers. Liked the lounge area a lot, been traveling a while and was nice to watch a movie. Eddie even found the Man Utd game for me which I was over the moon about.. Great Hostel for meeting people, thanks a lot guys.. Tom x


100%

Absolutely fantastic, could not recommend enough. Great staff, really welcoming and what they don't know about koh phangan is not worth knowing. Really enjoyed the bar area and big thanks to eddie and johanna for their company.....

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely incredible hostel! We stayed there in the run up to full moon and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. Super sociable and they organise loads of cool trips too (booze cruise/slipnfly/total wipeout). Definitely recommend Dancing Elephant!


100%

Such an amazing hostel. The best so far. Such an amazing atmosphere, the staff are friendly, helpful and join in with all the fun. The beds are comfortable, everywhere is clean. Security is amazing. Lockers. Any questions the staff are more than happy to help. They even tell you the best places to eat. I love it, so much so we have extended for at least 7 days.


100%

second time staying down at the dancing elephant in kho phagnan and it has been by far the highlight of thailand staying at this hostel for both half and full moon, great atmosphere, great people all staff extremely friendly and helpful even in regards to booking day trips and buses for when travelling to the next island. cannot recommend the hostel enough. Make sure you do the booze cruise!!!

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed for the half moon, best place around!!! Had a really busy bar for a warm up party. Organized all our tickets for getting to Koh Tao. They also got us a great deal diving! We are coming back for the Full Moon Party if you like it or not, haha!!! Thank you Johanna, Liam and Eddie! Cya you soon

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had the best time ever with the guys from Dancing Elephant for Half Moon! The place had a pumping bar for the night, sending us all in taxi's when we were good and ready. All staff are super friendly and helpful, couldn't help but stay on for the Full Moon! The crew definitely know how to throw a good party, strongest buckets I've had in Thailand. Things only got better for Full Moon. Easily the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Thank you again, see you at NYE! xxx

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I came here for just 1 night, but decided to stay an extra 4 days to do the Halfmoon Party. This hostel has such a special character with an lovely atmosphere that attracts amazing travellers! The managers are so funny and helpful, and will give u the best time possible here. They always try to get everyone involved getting to know each other, showing us the best places and parties to go to. If I only had more time in Thailand I would def stay here for Fullmoon aswell. Such an amazing hostel!!

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Stayed at the Dancing Elephant for the Full Moon Party. Couldn't have asked for a better atmosphere! Perfect location from the beach with a great social scene. The staff was very helpful and brought a lot of energy to every hostel activity. Highly recommend this place for backpackers heading to the Full Moon Beach


71%

Dancing Elephant was crazy to stay for full moon! Security was good but the lockers aren't in your room. Only two working bathrooms for the 40 person dorm. Crazy parties every night right outside your door which were so fun, such a good pre game spot. 2 minute walk to the full moon beach. Special shoutout to Liam who made our stay unforgettable! Hostel was definitely way overpriced.. But then again everything is for full moon.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise again to you about the leak in the third bathroom that was coming in from our neighbour upstairs. We worked with our them all of last month to repair this issue but obviously it did not succeed. As soon as we could, we started work to build a new celling stoping all issues once and for all. Our lockers are not kept in dorms because we want them under CCTV and who would like to have CCTV watching all the fun that happens in the dorm ;)

77%

Very good hostel if you like to party and don't mind sharing with 20-40 people! We stayed 5 nights and only went out to party on three of those nights. The other two nights were spent trying to sleep but it was impossible because of the blaring music outside! Great atmosphere though. Security in one of the dorms was practically zero... Anyone could walk in off the street. We had wristbands to say we were staying there but no one ever checked them. Lockers available in a separate dorm though.


100%

Dancing Elephant has the friendliest staff and best party atmosphere of any hostel I have stayed in so far in Thailand. The location is right next to the beach and they hold the best street party around. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone coming to Koh Phangan. Will be very sad to leave.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff is amazing, and they go out of their way to make sure you have a great time. Im really glad I decided to stay here. If your looking to have an amazing time going out in haad rin I would stay here.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

best hostel on the island, amazing staff and a great place to meet people!!!!!

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was one of the best hostels I've stayed at in Thailand! The staff was very welcoming and the people were awesome here! It was clean, and a great location right next to the beach! Would stay here again for sure!!


100%

Absolutely loved the Dancing Elephant. Wasn't sure about Koh Phangan from what I've heard so only booked in for one night. Ended up loving it and stayed for about two weeks. Eddie and Johanna were fantastic and with in no time I felt that I was part of the family. Great parties and the street bar they have is one of the best of Asia. So much more to this island then everyone says as well. If you are looking for a fun party place that is clean and homely then this is place to stay!!


89%

Great hostel, really enjoyed my stay and met a lot of good people.Good social area, great street parties & friendly staff. Good music, good atmosphere, nice birds and top lads.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I came for one night and ended up booking in for 2 Full Moons, what more can I say!!!! A really safe place with great security. Its close to everything and you get a good night sleep when the partying is over for the evening. They sell very cheap drinks with specials for the guests, which is always good! A really fun atmosphere with the managers Liam, Johanna and Eddie organising day trips for everyone to do together and telling you what the best parties are at night. Thank you! :) x

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The owner Eddie and his wife truly make you feel like family.. From the TV room shooting with them and others while chilling watching movies or sharing stories with them while having a drink outside.. I must particularly thank Eddie as I thought I lost wallet and he tore place apart spent hours of his own time drove me to western union ect . wallet was found and Eddie gave this novice solo traveler with tips I still use regard ing money.. Thanks guys, Brian h .

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so glad your wallet was found with all the money and cards intact!!! It would have wrecked your trip if it didn't. Just to clear up though, i'm not owner, just the manager along with my girlfriend Johanna ;) Thank you so much for the lovely comments. We hope you get on safe and sound without so many disaster in the future.... Remember the bulldog clip trick!

« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Koh Phangan Hostels

Please give us your feedback