X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dar Al Hamra Reviews

4, Derb Zaouia Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
101 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 100%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

We had a very nice stay here, the location is great, although it is right in the medina the Riad is extremely peaceful and quiet. The house was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very nice and helpful. Despite having very little English, they did everything they could so it wasn't really an issue. Breakfast in the mornings was coffee, orange juice and crepes which was lovely, but after two or three days it would have been nice to have something different.


94%

I would go back for sure. Very relaxing and u can self cater for ur self if u find time the food market is few steps away the breakfast is included in the price and they serve it until 11 o'clock if u wake up late. Thanks dar al hamra.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
66%

BEWARE: PRICE IS PER PERSON, NOT PER ROOM. A clean, simple & very quiet riad located about 10 mins walk from the main square. We had a small room with en-suite bathroom with towels, and a tasty breakfast of crepes & coffee. Roof terrace with loungers, great view of the city & mountains. Staff were helpful enough if we sought them out to ask something using our best French! Wifi included.

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel isn't so much a hostel as a really great value boutique hotel. The staff were lovely and very accommodating, the rooms (of which there are only 6) had all the necessary facilities and the building/architecture/decor was all beautiful, plus the roof terrace is a lovely place to sit out. It all felt very authentic and welcoming. Also the traditional breakfasts (included) were to die for. Definitely definitely would recommend, for the hostel and for the great location. Cathy, 23, UK

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a really pleasant stay at Dar Al Hamra. The riad is very central placed, but inside it is very peacefull and quiet. I loved to have breakfast at the rooftop terrace. Very nice and friendly staff.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A nice place in the Median. The internet could be a bit stronger in the rooms. Maybe the access point could be moved a bit higher up. Suggest it to the man running the place.


77%

The staff was friendly and welcoming. We could use the kitchen to cook our own food. The chap who is reception and security in own even helped us make the perfect Moroccan mint tea. A big issue for us was the fact that although I booked through Hostalworld with my credit card, he would only accept cash. Therefore we had to give up the cash we brought to spent whilst being out and about.


97%

Beautiful dar, very clean, high above Morrocan standard. Traditionaly decorated. I realy enjoy my stay.

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice Riad, very clean, friendly staff. It's quite a long walk to Jeema el fna, the hostel itself is secure but the way to get there a little scary. We were threatened by some illegal guides who showed us the hotel. Staff of the hotel saw this and didn't intervene at all.....


86%

Great big bathroom . Very nice staff, made us an early breakfast before we departed for the desert.


80%

Very nice and comfortable hostel close to the city center, hidden in a calm place even if lively streets are behind the corner. Drawbacks: just in front of a mosque therefore prayers waking you up twice - at 5 and 6am. But one gets used to it. Every day THE SAME SIMPLE SWEET BREAKFAST! Makes you sick on 2nd day >> OK if staying 2 nights but not for 1 week! In such case better to stay elsewhere with or without breakfast, food is cheap in Marrakesh. Overall: WHY NOT.. (but for 3 days maximum..)


91%

Very good location...good staff. Good solution for people who want to visit Marrakesch in totally freedom.

  • 14th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A very nice hostel, we had a nice and clean room and the people were really friendly. We would come again.


97%

Great stay in Marrakech! The hotel is so pretty and our room was very clean and comfortable. The location is great because it is so quiet during the morning. My only request would have been to have good directions to find it by myself. I enden up paying some annoying kid 30 dirham an he wanted more! My advise will be to call and ask fo directions.


83%

Very good hostel, the lady that is always there doesn't speak much english or french, but that doesn't became a problem. Clean room and bathroom and with a tipical breakfast.


71%

Everything practical about our stay was great - the owner however made promises which were not kept and ended up costing us at least 75 Euros. The hostel acts as a seller of day trips, receiving commission, but the hostel doesn't do the actual trip. We bought a trip into Sahara which our host explicitly stated included everything (also verified by email), but apparently meals were extra. Upon confronting the owner, he said we had misunderstood him and the email was for a longer trip. No refund.

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

would reccomend to friends, and stay there again.

  • 1st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Beautiful hostel, great roof terrace, lovely breakfast, very nice owners, it's perfect, I can recommend this hostel to everyone!


100%

ALL VERY VERY GOOD, Staff and atmosfere very fine


83%

It is a very nice Riad in the old centre of Marrakech. Entering here, there is silence, it's cool and you experience the hospitality off Brahim and Noura. The rooms are spacious and clean. I can recommend everyone a stay here, feel like you are at home, no formality's, just be yourself (offcourse with respect to the people around you). The Riad is situated on a walkdistance to the new and the old city, so you are in the middle! The Maroccon meals they prepare are delicous!

  • 9th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(84 results)


View all Marrakech Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback