X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dar El Ma Reviews

27 Zqaq El Ma, Fes El Bali, Fez, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
145 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Friendly staff and small size create a very homey and cozy feel to Riad Dar El Maa. The breakfast is very tasty and filling. Perfect location, relatively easy to find your way once you know where it is (in comparison to the rest of medina). The deaf cat is very cute. Moroccan-style decoration is stunning and the rooms are very large.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Just a note to others - the 'deaf cat' is no longer at the property and no other cats live at the house (in case you do not like cats or are allergic!) - She was re-homed to a cat loving gentleman in a nearby small village where her being deaf would not be an issue like it was in the busy streets in Fes.

86%

An excellent place ! The house has just 2 rooms so we feel just like at home. The rooms are spacious, clean and well decorated. The house has been restored with good taste using traditional morrocan materials. There are very useful facilities (washing machine, dryer, kitchen, computer with wifi). Houda is very helpful and can assist you for anything.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

This is a very comfortable, cosy and peaceful place to stay in the middle of the medina!

  • 27th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We absolutely loved this place. Houda was incredibly thoughtful, helpful and wonderful. She spoke to our taxi driver to give directions when we arrived from the desert; she let us leave our luggage there for the day, and she even helped me figure out my first hammam experience (right across the street)! We were so sad that it was booked or we would have stayed more nights. And the shower is amazing; it's really an incredible place all around.


97%

This was wonderful. While we needed an escort to find it originally (which Dar El Ma set up) afterwards it was so easy to explore the medina. Houda, the housekeeper, made us an excellent breakfast and, for an additional cost, dinner. Best food I had in all of Morocco. The only downfall was our first night there we got there after Houda left and the owners were in London - we were without a map or anything. It was a bit unnerving... so make sure a map already or a way to get your bearings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Regarding the 'being without a map' - there is a large framed map on the wall by the door and we advise guests bring their own maps as all the house maps never make it back to the house, no matter how many we kept buying - they would be taken. Houda was there to make sure they were settled and could answer any questions about getting a map or any advice on where to go.

100%

Top marks for a lovely hostel in a great location deep in the Medina. Houda (the housekeeper) was very friendly and welcoming and went out of her way to make sure you had everything that you need. She is also a brilliant cook and a great source of information about Fes, or anything else you wish to know about Moroccan life etc. I hope I am lucky enough to stay again in the future. Highly recommended.

  • 20th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

My stay at Dar El Ma was fantastic! My arrival went well and the staff took care of everthing I needed. I wouldn't have found the place on my own and was met by a wonderful guide who took it upon himself to guide me safely to my oasis and give me, with wonderful commentary, about the area. Houda, made me a breakfast for a Queen, I couldn't eat it all, I wouldn't have asked for a better way to start my day. Thank you all for an excellent stay!

  • 16th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Dar El Ma is very well located: in the Middle of the Medina (in between the two main streets), close to a parking area (5 to 10 mn walking) enabling to go out the medina easily. The house is really nice to stay, typically refurbished, surprising with its different floors and various nook and cranny, the lovely roof terrace with nice view on the city. The woman in charge of the house, Houda, is discreet and attentive and present from 8:30 AM to 4:00 PM. If you rent the two rooms, you will “privatize” the h

  • 1st Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is such a great place to stay at a great price, almost unbelievable. We were welcomed by Houda who made us feel extremely welcome and at home, and then who provided a great breakfast in the morning, The terrace has great views across Fez and the rooms are comfortable. The house itself is beautifully decorated and obviously well loved by the owners. I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone who wants a real Fez Medina experience in comfort and ate great price.

  • 29th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

You cannot say enough great things about our experience at Dar El Ma. From the pick-up of the guide to the hotel to our check out the staff was more than helpful. We traveled with a 2 year old and they even bought a cot for her to stay on. There are only two rooms, so at times we felt we were at our own home. The hotel is paradise retreat in the middle of the medina. It is simple, but the experience is incredibly rewarding.

  • 26th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We have been lucky to discover Dar El Ma before leaving for our trip to Morocco.Being a guest here has been a very easy-going and homely experience.The Riad is stunningly, beautiful. Claire and Joe have done an amazing job restoring this place. We absolutely enjoyed our time on the terrace and flipping through books about Morocco after the intense chaotic days through the Medina.Special thank you to Houda for being extremely helpful and the carefully prepared delicious breakfast in the mornings.


91%

Beautiful, large rooms full of character in a quiet sidestreet from one of the main streets in the medina. Just two rooms in this large house and a lovely roof terrace.


94%

This riad was really nice with excellent location. Very easy accessible from the taxi park. Staff was very helpful. Riad has a nice view from the terrase on the roof on the medina. Five minutes walk you have small market with some restaurants. The room was quite big with some space for our luggage. Also big and tasty breakfest was offered on the roof. We can highly recommend this riad for people who are looking for a not expensive but clean and comfortable place to stay in Fes.


100%

Our stay there was absolutely awesome and I recomend it to all!!!!!!

  • 28th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We loved this place, great view from the roof top, lovely well thought out details, comfy bed and great showers. Delicious mint tea and very friendly house keeper.

  • 21st Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had the most amazing stay at Dar El Ma. Its the most charming place to stay; full of character. After a long day exploring the buzz and bustle of the souk, you walk through the front door and are immediately transported into a cool calm atmosphere a million miles away from everthing, such a relaxing place to rest up and recharge the batteries. We particularly enjoyed unwinding on the roof top terrace in the evening and listening to the Souk come to life. We'll definitely be back again soon!

  • 10th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great riad! It was our first riad experience and couldn't have asked for a better one. Staff were so helpful and made arriving in the middle of the night a breeze. One of our favourite things was the roof terrace, perfect for relaxing. Overall really felt at home.

  • 8th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Dar El Ma is not a hotel, but with it's two rooms a very luxurious house. We rented the whole house with two friends we met during travelling in Morocco. We loved the shower on the marvelous roof terrace and the indoor Turkish shower. Also the fully equipped kitchen is a big plus. Because of Mohammed and Hounda we felt home in the middle of Fes. We even got help from them in the middle of the night. This place with it’s wonderful atmosphere is definitely worth a visit.


94%

we stayed 2 night n we had a wonderful stay! there are only 2 rooms so it's more like homestay. the place is stylish, staff are very nice. only down side is the air conditioning is not working properly.... but overall this is a very nice place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear the air conditioning was not working properly during this stay. It was fixed as soon as it was reported to us and all air conditioning has been working just fine since.

54%

We think the staff must be present at the hostel at all times, for the security and to help guests.

  • 27th Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This guest has obviously completely misunderstood that Dar el Ma is a guesthouse that is a mixture of attentive daytime service/assistance mixed with evening privacy for guests to enjoy the house for themselves. Dar el Ma only has two rooms which means families can enjoy their own house and travellers can meet others and have relaxed, fun evenings in a beautiful environment. Think of it as B&B meets self catering in the evenings (you have two kitchens, lounge, courtyard, roof terrace etc) and you are on the right track for an enjoyable stay like many others have had as stated in their numerous great reviews.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(127 results)


View all Fez Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback