X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Dar Hafsa Reviews

34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi, Talaa Sghira Medina, Fez, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
98 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Dar Hafsa is delightful. The lovingly restored home is filled with carved stucco, painted and carved wood, and beautifull Fes pottery. Many delights for the eye. Lavish breakfast, Comfortable beds, ample hot water, working wifi, cool rooms impeccably clean. Roof terrace has a great view of the medina. Host was wonderful--gracious, eager to share the best of his city, informative, arranged a great tour guide, very attentive to our needs. Hope to go bavk some day. A wonderful experience.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

It maybe a bit difficult to reach at the first time but staff are willing to guide you when you arrive so is not a big problem. The staff here are effective and kind, but sometimes happened to look serious where I believe it was due to their concern on customer's needs. it is an ideal place if you want a quiet stay and get the feel to live in an old building in the town, as well as some family style operation. I particular enjoyed their breakfast and tea.


100%

A very nice family-run littel plae in a very good location. The staff were lovely, especially young Muhammed who was super helpful, and the breakfast (although only served starting at 9) is very good. The riad building is absolutely beautiful and the view from the rooftop terrace is stunning. Highly recommended.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

So nice to stay in Moroccan family!!

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

A very big thank you from both of us! For all your help, sense of humour and warm welcome! And for making us feel so at home. Made our first time in Morocco very special and memorably - it won't be our last! Really hope that you get lots more amazing reviews and lots of amazing guests passing through for a long time to come..! IIa ykhief! - Hope that's right! Jane and Marion


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

We`ve stay here for 3 nights in a twin room, which in fact should have been a single room. It was very small, so two people inside had a problem to move around. This is exactly why i do think that it was an average value for money. Surprisingly, the bathroom was much much bigger then one would`ve expected. The decor of the house is an eye catching and attractive. Over all if you do not mind staying in a very small twin room I would recommend this place.


100%

Absolutely superb place - highly recommended!

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Lovely place within easy reach of the blue gate. Karim was kind enough to organise a trip into the desert for us which worked out a lot cheaper than the companies we had seen online. After we got back we stayed another night and woke up to a lovely breakfast. Good value and a lovely host!

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very freindly and welcoming family who run a beautiful guesthouse

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

nicest proprietors!!!


83%

We have spent one night only at the hostel and by chance it happened that we got there in deep night instead of 8 pm as we had announced. Nevertheless they have been incredibly gentle and the owner of the hostel has come to pick us up at the main gate of the Medina and has offered some glasses of Moroccan tea as soon as we reached the hostel. Rooms are clean and air conditioner works. The roof top guarantees you a great view on the ancient center of the city.

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff is really nice and helpful. Breakfast is the best. Good location. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Nice view from the terrace on the roof.

  • 30th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really enjoyed my stay in Dar Hafsa!

  • 13th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We felt perfectly at home the second we stepped foot in the door at Dar Hafsa- a beautiful home run by a truly lovely, welcoming family. We enjoyed the breakfast, and the excellent tips we received from Karim which made our visit to Fez even better than anticipated. The view from the terrace is wonderful, and Karim and Aziz were very accommodating in giving us advice for all types of activities, sights, restaurants etc. One gets the sense that they love their city and want you to love it too!


89%

Good thing was ac/heater ir room which turned out very usefull. We had a TV in our room but only with 4 channels and all in Italian, so was pointless to us. Sower was good, no problems with a hot water. Location good, very close to blue gate. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was great and helped us with many advices. Very polite and friendly owner. Late check out - very nice. Strong wifi. Only thing - the price was pretty high compared to other hostels in Morocco with almost the same facilities.


94%

Very nice Hotel at a good location in the medina, with a very helpful and friendly staff. They helped out with directions, finding good places to eat. They made sure you had a good time. The breakfast was also excellent. Recommended!


100%

It was our first visit of Morroco. At the begining we planed to stay in this hotel only for a 1night and than we stayed 3, but in Dar Hafsa hotel we finally found everything, what made us satisfied. Beautiful and very comfortable rooms in typical Marroc style with very familiar atmosphere and amazing breakfast. If you are for the first time in medina of Fez you really preciate it. We spend nice times in there and we met very hospitibal family of the owner. It was good choice, i can recomend it.

  • 20th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The riad is absolutely gorgeous, and the host family are very gracious, very kind, very courteous! I wish they were part of my family! They certainly make guests feel like family! The food is delicious, the rooftop terrace is nice for sipping tea and hearing the call to prayer (such an impressive and beautiful part of being in Morocco), the location is ideal, since it is so close to everything in the Medina; the beds are comfortable, there's Wi-Fi... I only have good things to say about it!

  • 4th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great time at this Riad. In particular we found the staff to be excellent and had a very comfortable stay. The room was great, plenty of room, comfortable beds, amazing breakfast. Would recommend this place if you want to stay in the Medina, had a great time.


94%

Air conditioning! Fabulous interior! The family that runs it is so lovely and welcoming (they also speak English very well). The location is very unique in that is is basically off one of the main streets in the Medina, but it is on a smaller alley way street which is very quiet at night. I slept so well!!! They also have breakfast ready for you at whatever time you request.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Fez Hotels

Please give us your feedback