X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dar Hafsa Reviews

34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi, Talaa Sghira Medina, Fez, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
108 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 100%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Dar Hafsa is a nice small family driven place. The location is good, quite close to the main gate to the medina. (Make sure to call them, and they will pick you up there when you arrive. It's not easy to find the first time) The staff really tries to make sure you feel welcome and that you are happy. Their breakfast is awesome!! I definitely recommend a stay here when visiting Fes. I am a returning visitor.


100%

The staff was great and friendly, the location was good - right in the medina, the room was clean. Don't get the tour here, its not that great and you are better off discovering the city yourself. The tour guide ends up taking you to shops that try to sell you things at a very high price which takes away from really seeing the city and can get uncomfortable. The Riad itself is great and the staff wonderful!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

I'd highly recommend Dar Hafsa, it's beautiful, clean, well located and with everything you need. Breakfast is massive and the staff are just sensational. Best hospitality I've ever had on my travels - the team looked after our every want and need. It was amazing. Definitely stay here if in Fes


100%

Dar Hafsa is exceptional in every thing..It is one of the best accommodation I have ever had in Morocco during my two visits to different cities and small towns in Morocco.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Location was really good. Very near the main streets yet super quiet. Very helpful staff and fríendly owner. Kareem tended to all our needs and was responsive when we had issues. The rooms can be a bit cleaner. The bathroom had some mildew. Overall it was ok for the money.

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Dar Hafsa is delightful. The lovingly restored home is filled with carved stucco, painted and carved wood, and beautifull Fes pottery. Many delights for the eye. Lavish breakfast, Comfortable beds, ample hot water, working wifi, cool rooms impeccably clean. Roof terrace has a great view of the medina. Host was wonderful--gracious, eager to share the best of his city, informative, arranged a great tour guide, very attentive to our needs. Hope to go bavk some day. A wonderful experience.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

It maybe a bit difficult to reach at the first time but staff are willing to guide you when you arrive so is not a big problem. The staff here are effective and kind, but sometimes happened to look serious where I believe it was due to their concern on customer's needs. it is an ideal place if you want a quiet stay and get the feel to live in an old building in the town, as well as some family style operation. I particular enjoyed their breakfast and tea.


100%

A very nice family-run littel plae in a very good location. The staff were lovely, especially young Muhammed who was super helpful, and the breakfast (although only served starting at 9) is very good. The riad building is absolutely beautiful and the view from the rooftop terrace is stunning. Highly recommended.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

So nice to stay in Moroccan family!!

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

A very big thank you from both of us! For all your help, sense of humour and warm welcome! And for making us feel so at home. Made our first time in Morocco very special and memorably - it won't be our last! Really hope that you get lots more amazing reviews and lots of amazing guests passing through for a long time to come..! IIa ykhief! - Hope that's right! Jane and Marion


91%

We`ve stay here for 3 nights in a twin room, which in fact should have been a single room. It was very small, so two people inside had a problem to move around. This is exactly why i do think that it was an average value for money. Surprisingly, the bathroom was much much bigger then one would`ve expected. The decor of the house is an eye catching and attractive. Over all if you do not mind staying in a very small twin room I would recommend this place.


100%

Absolutely superb place - highly recommended!

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Lovely place within easy reach of the blue gate. Karim was kind enough to organise a trip into the desert for us which worked out a lot cheaper than the companies we had seen online. After we got back we stayed another night and woke up to a lovely breakfast. Good value and a lovely host!

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very freindly and welcoming family who run a beautiful guesthouse

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

nicest proprietors!!!


83%

We have spent one night only at the hostel and by chance it happened that we got there in deep night instead of 8 pm as we had announced. Nevertheless they have been incredibly gentle and the owner of the hostel has come to pick us up at the main gate of the Medina and has offered some glasses of Moroccan tea as soon as we reached the hostel. Rooms are clean and air conditioner works. The roof top guarantees you a great view on the ancient center of the city.

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff is really nice and helpful. Breakfast is the best. Good location. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Nice view from the terrace on the roof.

  • 30th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really enjoyed my stay in Dar Hafsa!

  • 13th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We felt perfectly at home the second we stepped foot in the door at Dar Hafsa- a beautiful home run by a truly lovely, welcoming family. We enjoyed the breakfast, and the excellent tips we received from Karim which made our visit to Fez even better than anticipated. The view from the terrace is wonderful, and Karim and Aziz were very accommodating in giving us advice for all types of activities, sights, restaurants etc. One gets the sense that they love their city and want you to love it too!


89%

Good thing was ac/heater ir room which turned out very usefull. We had a TV in our room but only with 4 channels and all in Italian, so was pointless to us. Sower was good, no problems with a hot water. Location good, very close to blue gate. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was great and helped us with many advices. Very polite and friendly owner. Late check out - very nice. Strong wifi. Only thing - the price was pretty high compared to other hostels in Morocco with almost the same facilities.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(63 results)


View all Fez Hotels

Please give us your feedback