X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dar Houdou Reviews

42 Teriana Sghira, Talaa Sghira, Fez Medina, Fez, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
105 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Attractive, well maintained and comfortable guesthouse with many thoughtful touches such as tea and coffee making all day, information and reading material that we could browse. This made it a haven from the buzz of the medina and a relaxing place to retreat to before setting out again. The position was perfect because there is so much to see and do in the old part of Fez. The host (English speaking) and staff were welcoming and informative. Great places to eat nearby.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

We enjoyed our stay in Dar Houdou a lot and we totally recommend it. The place is really nice, the location is great (only hard to find the first time) and the breakfast is awesome! Most of the time there was nobody there, which for us was perfect, if you feel you may need constant assistance it is not the best place but anyway Mohammed was always reachable when we needed help. We would have liked a curtain for the shower and a bit more of heating (we didn't ask for it, surely it can be fixed).


89%

This place was that most precious of comodities to travellers, an genuine oasis of comfort and safety in the midst of a foriegn and chaotic location. A wonderful base to have available with great staff and a real home from home. Its not about if we go back but very much a case of when.


91%

Hello staying here was the best option in fes very good and filling breakfast, very friendly owner and staff, highly recommend it!

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Mohammed, the manager is very friendly and helpful. Very good place to relax, especially on the nice terrace but still in the middle of the Medina, close to bab bou jloud. We totally enjoyed our stay.


100%

Hello, we stayed only 1 night but we really enjoyed your hostel, by far our favorite one because small, sweet and quiet, all we needed. Thanks a lot, Jean & Charlotte from France


91%

This is a great little gem in the midst of the medina although you will need help finding it when you first arrive... Def take up Steve's offer of a taxi to the door even if it is more than you are used to paying!! We were greeted with tea and given the low down on Fes along with a map. The raid has been lovingly restored by the owner and is truly beautiful. Breakfast was a feast fit for a king and sets you up for a day of sightseeing!


91%

We stayed at Dar Houdou,from18th June 2013, for 2 nights.The owner,Steve,recommended using his driver to take us from the railway station to his riad.Sound advice for only 60 Dirhams.The limo stopped in a small square,then the driver hand carried our cases through narrow alleyways to the riad. Total time 20 mins.The interior riad ambience was typicaly Moroccan, with inlaid tiles and archways. Our room was clean with small bathroom.Breakfasts were sumptuous.Steve was great, gave lots of advice.


100%

Amazing and wonderful!! This was our favorite place on the trip.


100%

Dar Houdou was a fantastic spot to stay in the Fez Medina. The place has been tastefully restored, Steve and Mohammed are both extremely helpful with some local knowledge, the breakfast was so huge that it hardly fits on the table. Rooms are quiet and comfortable. If I'm ever back in Fez I'll be booking again!


100%

Excellent guest house in every way.


100%

Best place we stayed in Morocco. Very charming Riad, nice staff and enormous breakfast.


100%

Very friendly and welcoming. Steve - the proprieter couldn't do enough for us. We had a lovely time.

  • 12th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay in the medina of Fez. We organized a guided tour of Fez through the manager which was wonderful. Excellent breakfast and welcome tea!

  • 5th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Superior Staff. Owner is very knowledgeable caring and accomodating.


100%

The host was very helpful and has a great personality. Our breakfasts were excellent and the kitchen was open to us at all times for tea/coffee/snacks. He also provided an excellent recommendation for dinner. We would highly recommend this Riad.

  • 25th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Dar Houdou is a Moroccan style guesthouse located in a heart of medina (but in a peaceful neighbourhood). Steve, the owner, is a wonderful host, always helpful and ready to talk. The guesthouse is clean, the room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable. The stuff makes delicous breakfast, the best of all we ate during our trip in Morocco! We highly recommend Dar Houdou as a very good place to stay in Fes!


100%

Dar Houdou was a wonderful place to stay. Great location, in a quiet street but only a couple of minutes walk away from the best part of the medina. Steve was a great host with lots of helpful advice. Good quality and price. I really recommend Dar Houdou.


97%

Dar Houdou is a wonderful riad with a lovely atmosphere around a little patio in the medina of Fez. The staff (Steve and Mohammed) is very polite and helpful. The breakfast is one of the best! On our trip in morocco it was one of the best accommodation we have visited. I can truly recommend to stay in Dar Houdou for some nights.

  • 21st Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Dar Houdou was the best hotel we've stayed during our trip. The location, the rooms and the breakast were really good. The owner Steve and the manager Mohammed were very helpful and really took care of us. Both made the stay even more positive. I would definitely recommend the place.

  • 21st Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Fez Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback