X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Dar Lalla Kenza Reviews

5 derb Sidi Hssayne Klaklieyener, Medina Fez, Fez, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
298 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Dar Lalla Kenza is a fantastic hostel in fez. The building itself is stunning with a central courtyard which was perfect to meet other travellers, along with a rooftop terrace which gave you a beautiful view over Fes. It is located perfectly in the Medina and provides tour to The Desert which i highly recommend . The manager (Ben) was amazing - so helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was the best free breakfast i have ever eaten at a hostel! I highly recommend Dar Lalla Kenza Thank you Ben!!

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment glad you enjoyed Dar Lalla Kenza . see you next time

100%

The perfect place to stay in Fès. The Riad is positioned at the centre of the Medina, it offers spacious Rooms and helpful staff(Ben), wonderfully decorated building, where you can experience the real Moroccan life, feeling the magical atmosphere of arabian style.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you had a wonderful experience here and would recommend us .that's lovely to hear

91%

The manager of the hostel, Ben, its a very nice guy and very helpful!! They picked us in the train station at night and it was the only way for us to get there. Alone at night we could not find it. The tour around the city of Fès that the hostel arranged for us was the only experience we did not enjoy so much because the guide could not speak English or French with us. If you want to do the trip in the desert like us, ask for MUSTAFA as your guide. He was the best guide we could have!

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot mate you were a pleasure to have in the house so glad you enjoyed what we offer!

100%

the reception is very nice. good place in fez. it is easy to go old medina .is very clean hostel .thanks to all and for the hospitality Ben !!!

  • 5th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much Liu ! It was great meeting you :) Hope to having you back at home... Ben

100%

Dar Lalla Kenza is an amazing traditional Riad located in the centre of Fes, 1 min walk to Place Racif and the Old Medina. It's position is perfect for people who want to visit the heart of this magic town and , most of all, for all those people who want to live this town more authentically. Rooms are big, furnished in good taste, well-equipped.. and the breakfast is delicious! Most of all, the staff is welcoming, helpful and kind. I have been at Lalla Kenza twice and I really loved it!

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for the kind words, we really do appreciate it and we feel very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Fez and with us at Dar Lalla kenza. Please know that you are always welcome to come back to visit us. Best Wishes Dar Lalla Kenza team

100%

this hostel is very nice. the location is good, just on the main street in the medina. room and shower are clean. Ben is really nice and kind. good value of money . chill atmosphere and very friendly people Thank you

Owner Comment (Hide)
We were very lucky to have a lovely guest like you, and we werehappy to help you and take care of you. Please feel free to come back, we hope you will make it your second home.

91%

Hostel is located In the centre of the medina, has a great looking social room and a terrace with a beautiful view. The beds in the dorm are clean and the bathroom has warm water. After reading the reviews, I was afraid that the owner (Ben)may cause some problems. Yet it appeared that Ben is a very friendly guy. And to those who have read the review about the bucket of water: I had ask why did he do it. The guy fully deserved that, and If I'd be him, I'd have called the cops...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the comments and you set alot straight so i didnt have to say anything in my defense :) We hope that you will be back as you are always welcome. Be well mate !

57%

The Bathroom smelled very strong. We stayed there three nights and the towel weren' t changed during that time. The staff were very helpfull but if you don't pick theire tour to the dessert he gets a bit angry

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback, However, we do not appreciate the false infomation. As you might have seen from previous guests, who all complimented us on our clean and very sanitary house. Also you failed to mention in your comment that the conversation about tours did not involve you at all, you rudely interupted the conversation and then proceeded to bad mouth the tour because you had a bad experience with others not us. This was not a fair or true review. we thank you anway.

97%

An excellent choice to stay in Fes. Ben is very nice and helps you in every situation. Stay like this Ben, no matter what other people do or say!! Keep your mind like it is now. I would definitely stay there again - philipp and susanne from Austria

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks glad you enjoyed the place

100%

we had an amazing time there!! its clean, its central, the guys working there are amazing and super helpful. they serve good breakfast and when you take a tourguide they bring you around and show you good food as well. in general the hostel is central, even with a nice rooftop you can hang out and you have a view over the whole medina! ben and abdul will make you a nice time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot mate you were a pleasure to have in the house so glad you enjoyed what we offer

100%

Really great staff ,were extremely friendly and helpful the location is great easy to find close to main rcif sqaure .the place is clean ,breakfast was tasty ,great value of money , the manager Ben was extremely lovely , thank you Ben for everything , i will come back again

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate the feedback from our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and you are more than welcome to stay with us anytime. Be Well !

100%

We highly appreciate our stay in Dar Lalla Kenza . Everything was perfect - service, delicious breakfast, cosy room, mint tea all the day and good staff( - thanks a lot for your perfect care, Ben . We remember you very often.Thanks to you we have felt like in a heaven) We can highly recommend this Riad to other visitors. The main square is in a short distance and you will feel in this Riad like at home. The rooms are clean and nice decorated . Staff is very helpful Thank you Ben again

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Thanks Ben! We had an excellent stay in Fez because of your family's hospitality. It was a relief to come home to the quiet beauty of Dar Lalla Kenza. Thank your mom for the cooking class again for us.

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice and elegant riad in the old medina of fez. the location is near a major road so you won't get lost finding it. Amazing rooftop terrace with view on all the medina. We liked it so much that we chose to come back after our roundtrip through morocco. would definitely recommend!


100%

Great riad for a great price. The staff were friendly and helpful! Thank you for a great stay :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you ! Great guests welcome anytime.

100%

Started my Moroccan trip in this place and been here for 2 nights. It's a great place, has a great location and is easy to find. Just ask the taxi to bring you to R'cif and you will find it easily. The entrance of the hostel has a great big ancient door, which give you a bit of a medieval feeling. The lobby is in traditional moroccan style and offers a great place to relax. Ben, the owner, really nice guy with good sales skills offer me a trip into the desert and it was real great ! Shokran Ben

Owner Comment (Hide)
You were a pleasure to have in our home happy travels best wishes Ben!

89%

A great opportunity to live in a beautiful historic building in the medina, with a really noce terrace view. The location is excellent and real easy to find (just ask taxi driver for "Place R'Cif" the first time you get there). It's a family run business and the staff is very willing to help you out with almost anything you ask. Suggestion... Would be awesome if they could add some hammocks on the terrace!

  • 29th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We have seen many different hostels and hotels during our 12-day journey. Dar Lalla Kenza was definitely the best acoomodation we had! We felt very safe during our stay, also hostel is placed very close to main Fez attractions, this is perfect location to get to know the old medina. Atmosphere of Dar is very friendly and homey, staff is helpful and open-minded for every travellers. Definitely this was the most clean hostel in Morocco! Thank you Ben! We would highly recommend it to others :)

  • 28th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The guy who runs this place learned his English from Tupac!!! He and the family staff were amazing! The most comfortable place I ever stayed in, felt like home after 5 minutes. He was amazing, and helped me set up a private tour of the city for extremely cheap, and I got to see everything I wanted. I actually was kind of sad leaving this place because of the great experience. Such a wonderful and friendly atmosphere. Ben if your reading this, keep your promise and listen to some Biggie!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, it was very nice to have you as a guest. yes, I hear biggie as I have promised you;)

91%

The hostel manager Ben was realy helpful finding a local restaurant were we cloud eat and told us also about beautiful places we should visit. The room was clean and and nice decorated, also hot shower was available.


(214 results)


View all Fez Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback