X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dar Lalla Kenza Reviews

5 derb Sidi Hssayne Klaklieyener, Medina Fez, Fez, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
320 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

What I liked about the hostel was that it was located centrally, in a beautiful old house. I was taken back a bit by the dormitory, which was a ultra-crowded room on the roof of the house, much colder than the rest of the house this time of the year.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Beat, Thank you for your review and your appreciation of our home, which was Bens childhood home. The dormitory is quite standard for a hostel in terms of space and amount of people per room and is also about half the price of the private rooms, though it contains its own bathroom and shower. I've also installed a heater in the room recently so that guests staying in that room are comfortable with the temperature. Cheers! Dominique

86%

Ben Azmodin" No Problem": You are the guy! A good soul in a good place helping people to feel good!!

  • 16th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response! Good to hear that your enjoyed the friendly staff! We hope to see you again! Kind regards.-Cheers! Ben.

83%

It provides everything you look for on a typical Riad. I must mention Ben; the owner. He knows how to offer best service to a guest. Next time I hope having more time to enjoy the terrace...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are happy to welcome you again in our Riad :) Kind regards.-Cheers! Ben.

91%

Ben made our stay good. If you're interested in going Fez this was a great place to stay.


97%

Our stay at Dar Lalla Kenza was great. Ben was a very helpful host who gave us great options for a trip to the desert. The room was comfortable and the common area was a nice space to spend time in. We really liked the homely experience of this hostel and we all agreed that it was one of the best hostels we have stayed in. Would definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a million - great feedback ! Good to hear that your enjoyed the Desert Trip and friendly staff! We hope to see you again! Kind regards.-Cheers! Ben.

91%

This place is fantastic. I would recommend it to anyone. A beautiful tile covered Riad, chilled out atmosphere, roof terrace with a view over the whole medina, and its on the slightly less touristic side of the medina meaning that as soon as you step out the front door you can explore the myriad of winding alleys, smells of spices and foods. Ben is a great host, he made our time so relaxed and helped us arrange a trip to the desert, no pressure, just whatever you like. If you are in Fez, come!

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for leaving us a amazing review!and hey that's why we are here to help and make your experience of Fez a memorable one. Glad we could. Kind regards Dar Lalla Kenza Team - cheers

100%

最高!

  • 4th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your amazing review and ratings. We are really happy to hear you loved your stay here!

100%

We were happy that our journey in Marocco started there. Nice traditional riad with a very friendly and helpful young manager. Good location on the edge of medina but can be reached by taxi. Ben spoke good English and helped to organise our plans for Marocco and to get addapted in this country. Good choise to stay in Fes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your response! Good to hear that your enjoyed the location and friendly staff! We hope to see you again! Kind regards.-Cheers! Ben.

100%

Easily in my top two hostels. Location is perfect, right next to the Medina with plenty of cafés, eateries and market stalls around. The hostel itself is beautiful, the bathrooms clean with plenty of hot water and the terrace has a magnificent view, perfect for relaxing in the sun. Ben, the hostel owner, was happy to answer all my questions from Medina prices to places to eat to Morocco itself. Thanks to both Ben and Mohammed Couscous (AKA Cody) for making Fes a true stand out on my travels.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much Chris! We were so happy to have you stay with us. You became more of a friend than a guest by the end of your stay here. Ben and I hope only the best for you on the rest of your travels through Europe. We're glad we could help give you a memorable experience here in Fez! Cheers Mate! -Mohammed Couscous & Ben

100%

If all the good reviews below are not enough for you I am going to tell you just one thing: GO TO BEN. Trust me, I work with hostels and I guarantee you that Dar lalla kenza is what you need once in Fez, Mr Ben will look after you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your awsome response and 100% rating!!! Great to be the best hostel you stayed in!! We hope to see you again some day! Kind Regards,Ben

77%

Very nice hostel, well located and beautifully decorated. Ben was very helpful, he picked us up from different part of the Medina when our taxi driver took us in a wrong place and he was open to answer all our questions about Morocco - thank you ;).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your Kind comment! We glad you had a great time, We hope to see you back soon !

89%

Good location, great breakfast, and Ben is a pretty funny guy. Had a good stay, thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! We are always working hard to give our customers the best quality stay. We appreciate your review and really hope you come back to visit sometime. We like you too mate, you're always welcome at the Dar Lalla Kenza. -Cheers! Ben.

100%

Dar Lalla Kenza is a fantastic hostel in fez. The building itself is stunning with a central courtyard which was perfect to meet other travellers, along with a rooftop terrace which gave you a beautiful view over Fes. It is located perfectly in the Medina and provides tour to The Desert which i highly recommend . The manager (Ben) was amazing - so helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was the best free breakfast i have ever eaten at a hostel! I highly recommend Dar Lalla Kenza Thank you Ben!!

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your comment glad you enjoyed Dar Lalla Kenza . see you next time

100%

The perfect place to stay in Fès. The Riad is positioned at the centre of the Medina, it offers spacious Rooms and helpful staff(Ben), wonderfully decorated building, where you can experience the real Moroccan life, feeling the magical atmosphere of arabian style.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so pleased you had a wonderful experience here and would recommend us .that's lovely to hear

91%

The manager of the hostel, Ben, its a very nice guy and very helpful!! They picked us in the train station at night and it was the only way for us to get there. Alone at night we could not find it. The tour around the city of Fès that the hostel arranged for us was the only experience we did not enjoy so much because the guide could not speak English or French with us. If you want to do the trip in the desert like us, ask for MUSTAFA as your guide. He was the best guide we could have!

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot mate you were a pleasure to have in the house so glad you enjoyed what we offer!

100%

the reception is very nice. good place in fez. it is easy to go old medina .is very clean hostel .thanks to all and for the hospitality Ben !!!

  • 5th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much Liu ! It was great meeting you :) Hope to having you back at home... Ben

100%

Dar Lalla Kenza is an amazing traditional Riad located in the centre of Fes, 1 min walk to Place Racif and the Old Medina. It's position is perfect for people who want to visit the heart of this magic town and , most of all, for all those people who want to live this town more authentically. Rooms are big, furnished in good taste, well-equipped.. and the breakfast is delicious! Most of all, the staff is welcoming, helpful and kind. I have been at Lalla Kenza twice and I really loved it!

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for the kind words, we really do appreciate it and we feel very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Fez and with us at Dar Lalla kenza. Please know that you are always welcome to come back to visit us. Best Wishes Dar Lalla Kenza team

100%

this hostel is very nice. the location is good, just on the main street in the medina. room and shower are clean. Ben is really nice and kind. good value of money . chill atmosphere and very friendly people Thank you

Owner Comment (Hide)
We were very lucky to have a lovely guest like you, and we werehappy to help you and take care of you. Please feel free to come back, we hope you will make it your second home.

91%

Hostel is located In the centre of the medina, has a great looking social room and a terrace with a beautiful view. The beds in the dorm are clean and the bathroom has warm water. After reading the reviews, I was afraid that the owner (Ben)may cause some problems. Yet it appeared that Ben is a very friendly guy. And to those who have read the review about the bucket of water: I had ask why did he do it. The guy fully deserved that, and If I'd be him, I'd have called the cops...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the comments and you set alot straight so i didnt have to say anything in my defense :) We hope that you will be back as you are always welcome. Be well mate !

57%

The Bathroom smelled very strong. We stayed there three nights and the towel weren' t changed during that time. The staff were very helpfull but if you don't pick theire tour to the dessert he gets a bit angry

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback, However, we do not appreciate the false infomation. As you might have seen from previous guests, who all complimented us on our clean and very sanitary house. Also you failed to mention in your comment that the conversation about tours did not involve you at all, you rudely interupted the conversation and then proceeded to bad mouth the tour because you had a bad experience with others not us. This was not a fair or true review. we thank you anway.

(226 results)


View all Fez Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback