X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dar Scotlandee Reviews

Hnain - Chefchaouen, Chefchaouen, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

97%

Rating
86 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 100%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Our first 100% hostel review. Excellent hosts. Couldn't have asked for anything more.


97%

We really enjoyed staying at Dar Scotlandee and had a great time in Chefchouen. They were very kind and helpful and even gave me some honey and lemon when my throat hurt. Location is not central but about 15min walk downhill and to go back we would just take a taxi which was very cheap. (15 MAD I think).

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
54%

It was the distance from the medina that got me, this place is quite a walk away. Very cold in winter months and no heater. Inexpensive. Cleanliness on average for price point. Very nice hosts, they were great. Big building in front of the property now, thus no more spectacular view :( . I would spend a little more cash and stay in the medina.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Maybe reading property description would have helped as it clearly states we are 15mins from the Medina. Also regarding the view, we do still have spectacular views, despite the new building. Where were you looking? Yes winter is chilly in Chaouen, we are 800m up a mountain, so you should be prepared for this. We do have lots of warm blankets and the communal area is always heated. Not many hotels have heating in the rooms, especially budget hotels like us.

86%

Everyone was helpful and cheerful. They had plenty of advice about the town. I am looking forward to returning.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

A weird experience. Be advised there is no kitchen. It is more like living in someone's home... and I did not feel welcome throughout the stay. Would not stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Michael, Regarding your comments, we do not offer kitchen facilities on the booking site, and we are listed as a "guest house" and state clearly that we are a family run establishment. If you wanted a hotel, you should have booked one. Regarding not being made to feel welcome, I find that hard to believe as we are described throughout the internet as a friendly Scottish family who go out of our way to make people feel welcome. Please check our other reviews.

100%

The view from the guesthouse is AMAZING, delicious breakfasts, walk to the medina from the guest house is extremely enjoyable with the most gorgeous scenery on the way. Also it's perfectly situated to hike to surrounding scenic areas. Liam is awesome, he took us to the most delicious & authentic restaurant in Chaouen! Thanks for giving us such a wonderful stay ! This place is so relaxing and comfortable! I've already recommended this place since my stay and will continue to do so! Hope 2 b back


94%

What an amazing view! Hostel nestled right up in the hills... Received a lovely warm welcome from this family, they were extremely helpful offering information on the town and made a lovely breakfast in the morning of omelette/ fresh bread/ olives and cheese. They even offer tours up into the beautiful mountains. Thanks for a great stay, we will definitely recommend! :)


63%

Owners were very friendly & helpful, though without their directions and help from some local builders we would not have found the place. Clean, tidy and extra blankets supplied for the cold nights. 15 min from the Medina, unfortunatly the website photographs of the hostel are out of date. A hearty breakfast, but not sure I want to eat while others are 'smoking' in the room; maybe the owners should address that issue.


80%

Enjoyed the place was nice and friendly. really like the decorative touch to the rooms . The hostel was a 10-15 min walk to the medina . I would book my own taxis though as prices seemed to be a expensive for the ones they booked for us.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Suzanne, Terry and Liam were fantastic hosts and their guest house was a perfect place to stay in Chaouen. The walk to the medina was easy and the view from the terrace was unbelievable. All of the taxi drivers knew exactly where this place was so getting there from the bus station or from the medina on a late night was no problem at all. They helped arrange our trip to nearby Akchour and overall made our experience in Chaouen a hundred times more enjoyable. Thanks again, guys!

  • 4th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The Hostel was very nice, staff made us feel like invited friends. While it is a bit out of the Medina, this gives it a chill feel, which is appreciated.

  • 9th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

+ locks on rooms are very sturdy, felt very safe leaving things behind + very close to the mountains for nice walks + owners spoke fluent english (native speakers) + dog - signs to hostel unclear - far away from city center always had to take a taxi for 15 Dh - We were here on two unexpectedly cold days. We were very cold in our room and mentioned this to the owners who did not help us at all. Not very helpful in general. Seem to be constantly distracted by TV. No advice on activities.


97%

The staff at Rif-for-Anyone were fantastic and extremely helpful. The hostel is a bit ways more in the mountain which is perfect for those who are interested in hiking the trails or seeing the cascades. It is also a stone's throw away from the medina, with a walk of 15 mins down the mountain. The owners are extremely kind and helpful and the hostel has an amazing location with great views of Chefchaouen.


86%

The owners are very friendly and helpful, the blankets are warm and the shower's hot, which is all I ask of a hostel. It is a bit of a walk from the medina, but on the other hand it's very close to the hiking path, and there are always taxis to get you home quick!


91%

We loved staying her for the quietness and views after leaving the chaos of fes. The owners are helpful and friendly. A taxi to and from town is 15MAD but pretty easy to get.


60%

Family was very friendly / welcoming, and the room was nice. Only issue is the location - it is quite far up a hill. About 45 minutes walk up from town center (and about 25 minutes down). About 15 Durhams by taxi. There are no food places nearby - however you can get a pizza delivery. May be better if you are staying there as part of a group - not solo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Zaid, thanks for the review. Everything in Chaouen is "UP A HILL". You have overexaggerated the time to and from the medina, 45 minutes up to here?? are you disabled? It takes most people 20 minutes on a hot summers day and 15 on a winter day, from Bab Souk, or Bab Maharouk, the 2 nearest points to the madina. And I feel you have been unfair with your comments. No-where do we advertise food places nearby, so that should not be an issue in your review, and considering the low cost of taxi's, it does not usually bother too many people. And Solo travellers do enjoy thier time here, just as much as groups. Thanks again. At least your review will help to filter out lazy people who cannot walk.

100%

Me and two of my friends stayed at this place and we had a great time! Nice rooms and a "livingroom" that made us meet up with other people! Everyone of us who lived on the bottom floor became really good friends. The son at this place took us for a day trip up in the mountains and we tried to get a look on the monkeys but without succes. Still a fantastic walk in the mountains!

  • 11th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Guy's, Thank you for your kind remarks. We had a great time while you were here, can't wait to do it again sometime...Inshallah.. Take care...

97%

Our stay at Rif-For-Anyone was amazing! Terry, Susanne and Liam made us feel like members of their family and entertained us so nicely. The hostel itself is awesome, those two terraces are perfect to chillout at night after visiting the beautiful Chefchaouen. The "trip" to Akchour (God's Bridge) with Liam was simply great. Definitely recommend and definitely want to be back there soon !


97%

This is a lovely hostel, very welcoming and relaxed. The owners offer plenty of local knowledge and places to visit, for a small extra fee we were also taken on a fantastic tour into the national park to visit an amazing gorge and beautiful waterfalls. The hostel is a short walk (10 mins) from the Medina, which follows a lovely scenic path looking out over the surrounding mountains. The Medina is stunning and holds a much more relaxed atmosphere than anywhere else we visited in Morocco.

  • 13th May 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The owners are so friendly and welcoming and you feel right at home there. The view is spectacular from their balcony - i'd definitely go back.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(68 results)


View all Chefchaouen Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback