X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dar Sienna Reviews

6 Derb Eloued Fez Medina 30000, Fez, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
161 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 100%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

We stayed at Dar Sienna for two nights, it was my best experience in Marocco. Starting with our arrival where Ahmed saved us from a fake tour-guide and ending with the best breakfast on the roof terrace with a beautiful view of the medina. Ahmed also helped us plan day trips and navigate local life such as successfully opening a pomegranate. We had a lovely stay.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Jana I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the spectacular vi ews and breakfasts at Dar Sienna. Also great to hear that you immersed yourselves in l

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Really enjoyed our stay here! The riad is located right in the heart of the old medina and very close to everything you want to see in Fez. The staff were great. Ahmed was superb at helping us to find our way around and the breakfasts prepared by Saba were the best we had during our time in Morocco. Very clean, amazing terrace views, and good value for money. Would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted to hear that you loved our location in the heart of the medina. Our staff are real treasures. See you again soon.

100%

Dar Sienna is right in the heart of the Medina, giving you a real true experience of life in this ancient city. The riad itself is wonderfully cute and the Chambre Celeste was a delight to stay in. The terrace has a beautifully amazing view of the entire city, you wont find anywhere better! The staff were a delight, both Ahmed and Saba made us feel right at home from the start and really helped us adjust to our new surroundings! Already we look forward to coming back, a proper gem!

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you for a wonderful stay in Dar Sienna. The best point first - both of the members of staff we met were really kind, personable and helpful. It was a pleasure to talk to them and they made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. The Riad was calm, nicely decorated and very clean. Also very comfortable after our late night flight and a day of walking around the city. It's in an excellent location, easy to walk to everything and a beautiful view from the terrace.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your appreciation of our staff and the riad. We are delighted that you loved the location of our little riad and the stunning panoramic views over the medina. Please do come and stay again soon. Sonhild Grey OWNER: DAR SIENNA

94%

A very nice and small Riad, the rooms are big and it is recommended for couples or families... and also for the long stay. Always ask for help of the manager Ahmed, he came, he picked us up from the airport, explained what to do and where to go in Fes, as the medina can be complicated at times. The place is very clean and well maintained, the terrace is wonderful and breakfast sumptuous. It is next to a mosque in a holy territory so keep in mind that alcohol is not allowed. Defiantly a good stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Robert I am so glad that it all worked out for you to stay at Dar Sienna. Thank you for your appreciation of the service, breakfasts, house, everything in short! Do come and stay again. Sonhild Grey Owner: DAR SIENNA

97%

Dar sienna is a beautiful homely riad in the heart of the fez medina and was everything i hoped for as my first place to stay. I cant speak highly enough of Ahmed who was very welcoming, helpfull and freindly, he is an asset to Dar sienna. Saba equally was most lovely and provided a very nice breakfast and was more than happy to keep the coffee flowing. I had a wonderfull stay in the riad and would recommend to anybody looking for somewhere to stay in fez, I hope to visit again in the future.

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Amazing terrace to relax and felt very comfortable. Highly recommend getting the airport transfers as is confusing to find in medina for the first time.

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice hostel with amazing staff. Breakfast was great. Book the rooms with bathroom if available.


94%

I had a great time there! IS a Nice space to relax in the really move medina I loved it!


80%

Very nice and friendly staff and a beautiful and clean room. Situated deep in the medina which means it is very centrally located but I definitely wouldn't recommend you to stay there if you're a single girl since walking back there in the evening through the tiny dark alleys was pretty scary.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Dar Sienna was definitely the best place we stayed. It is a beautiful Riad, peaceful and fully equipped. The location couldn't be better if you want to visit the ancient Medina of Fes. The service was excellent. We had one guide, Ahmed, who pick us from the train station and told us many useful tips, always friendly and handy. The Moroccan breakfast was an absolute surprise as well. In summary, outstanding place to stay, with high quality and good prize. I'll repeat if I have the chance! :)


89%

Great location, great help by Ahmed and Saba, rooms were clean. Matresses weren't really there, it felt like sleeping on a wooden plank. Also, we had our own bathroom, but it was one floor down. These are the only two remarks we had. Breakfast was wonderful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The mattresses are brand new, made in Morocco, where they prefer a firmer style. We have had to be very creative with the use of space. The rooms are all different. One has an ensuite, the 2nd has a massive bathroom and the Chambre Tagore has a small private bathroom one floor below and is therefore our budget room at 28 Euros, including breakfast. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you for your review.

91%

Like a lot of riads in Marocco this one is tricky to find in the medina. But Ahmed picked us up from the trainstation and the owner of the hostel even called us to make sure which time exactly we will arrive there. The staff was friendly nd helpful. In case you didnt make own plans for Fez Ahmed will provide you with some suggestions! The roof terrace is great and has a beautiful view! Our room was simple but clean and with good airconditioning. awesome bath and breakfast!would stay there again


100%

Dar Sienna was the perfect place for a first visit to Fez or Morocco. The staff gave us wonderful directions and ideas of where to go and how to navigate the city. Also, since it was such a small place with only 3 rooms, we were able to form a relationship with the staff. Not to mention the breakfast the housemaid served every morning was delicious and very large incorporating traditional Moroccan breads and jams with French breads and a fried egg. Dar Sienna made our trip the best it could be.

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your appreciative review. Your kindness is much appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed being spoilt by our lovely staff. It is true that they go out of their way to ensure you have a fab stay. And breakfast with a view on the terrace is lovely at this time of year. Please come and stay again. Sonhild Grey Owner: Dar Sienna.

83%

The outstanding aspect of our stay was the staff. Welcoming, informative, and they really introduced us to morocco. I have been to over 40 countries and definantly their time they spent with you talking aboit and welcoming to Morrocco was of the best calibre I have come across.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The most helpful and informative staff....Thank you so much for your appreciation of our lovely staff, Saba and Ahmed. We are very lucky to have such a great team. Please come and stay again. Sonhild Grey Owner: DAR SIENNA

97%

We stayed at Dar Sienna for a couple of nights and was awesome. Ahmed was a brilliant guide and he gived us some good tips about everything. Our room was very nice and clean and the terrace was fantastic. The riad is very clean and we really enjoyed our stay. The only problem was the cold water on the shower but we really recommend this Dar to everyone

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Lorenzo I am delighted that you loved your stay at Dar Sienna and enjoyed the stunning views from our terraces. My apologies for the problem with the hot water, it has been repaired immediately. Please come and stay again soon. Best Regards Sonhild and The Dar Sienna Team

94%

IT WAS NICE STAY. The only Cons is that it will be a little bit hard to find it yourself at the first time. When you arrive at Fez, manager of Dar Sienna will welcome you and teach you the way to get there. Room and toilette was really clean. It's terrace gave me a nice view. The breakfast was excellent! you can have your breakfast in the living room or terrace. The house keeper can't speak english but she is really kind and will give you a nice breakfast!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Indeed it would be difficult to find Dar Sienna by yourself. This is why Ahmed, our House Manager meets ALL guests on arrival at the airport, bus/train station. This is a complimentary service which makes for a stress-free arrival. There are over 9,000 alleys in the car-free medina. It is however surprisingly easy to find your way around the medina and back to Dar Sienna thanks to the free medina map Ahmed provides as well as his orientation session.

100%

I was blown away by Dar Sienna!! The staff is wonderful, the decor is beautiful, and it really feels like a home away from home. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Fes!!!


97%

Thank you very much for the wonderful stay:-) There is only one regret, it was much too short. Sitting on your rooftop with this wonderful 360 degree view of Fez Medina, beeing treated like friends, sipping a glass of mint tea and contemplating the surroundings...it's really difficult to find words for it:-) Simply amazing! Please do yourself a favour and call Ahmet, the welcoming manager, in advance before trying to find the location by yourself:-) This is very tricky... location by yourself:-)

  • 17th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your appreciation, you simply have to come back and stay longer next time! We are delighted that you really enjoyed the family and friendly atmosphere. Dar Sienna is your home-from-home in this very special, magical city. We arrange to meet all guests on arrival, and you are also given Ahmed's number to call in case of any last minute changes of arrival time. So no stress to find the house by yourself! Best Regards Sonhild Grey Owner: DAR SIENNA

100%

We went on a three week tour of Morocco and have stayed at many riads. This one stands out as the best. The manager, Ahmed, is amazing. He made sure to pick us up to help us navigate the confusing medina streets. He gave us tips to remember which way to go and gave us a map of the area. He is extremely thorough, warm, and helpful. The riad is decorated beautifully, the staff is wonderful, and the breakfast is delicious. We loved the view from the terrace. A+ definitely recommend Dar Sienna!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(131 results)


View all Fez Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback