X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dar Soukaina Reviews

19 derb El Ferrane, RIAD LAAROUSS, Marrakech, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
37 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great place well located in the Medina. Very nice staff, very welcoming and helpful. Place is quiet, with a huge central patio and a little pool in ceramic. Tall trees provide shade very useful when it is hot. Staff is very kind, give advices for visits. Very clean and pretty room in an antic style and an air conditioner. Also large and local breakfast. Strongly recommended.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The rooms, roof terrace and breakfast were nice. Unfortunately one member of staff (a young boy) tried to charge me 20 dirhams for a map. He could see that i had got into trouble on the way here and had to pay someone to find the place. The next day a different member of staff gave me the map free of charge.


100%

Having stayed in another Riad before, this is a wonderful place to stay. Lovely staff, a beautiful room and excellent service. The breakfasts were fab too! Vivienne

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Would be very happy to recommend this to my friends

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

We actually had the pleasure to stay in both of the riads for a couple of nights. The rooms where really cosy, well equipped and very nicely furnished. Breakfast was very nice, too, of course it came with the obligatory fresh orange juice. The neighbourhood felt pretty save—well, after getting a bit familiar with the city's rhythm—and it's all in a walking distance to the legendary market place Djemaa el Fna. We would come back.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a lovely time at Dar Soukaina! The breakfast was fantastic, the staff were wonderful, and the souk was very peaceful and very comfortable. It was our home away from home! Thank you very much for such a pleasant stay, it made our trip to Marrakech that much more special.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

We visited at the end of January so we practically had the riad to ourselves. The riad is just behind the souks, but is so peaceful so you would never know when inside as it's really peaceful. The staff were lovely and friendly. The only thing more we could possibly have needed was a padlock for the room, and a hairdryer if we were to be really particular. The riad really is a sanctuary compared to the business of marakesh. Make sure you look up on a map to help you find it.

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Depending on what your expectations are will depend on how much you like the guesthouse. We do not have any specific complaints but what I am getting at is that we felt a little lonely there. It is a very small common area and no one seemed to be spending any time in the small courtyard or on the roof top. The roof top sofa´s were not inviting and the drain in the shower was incredibly slow but that might be the case everywhere else as well? A very friendly staff and we felt very welcome.

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Convenient location,friendly staff,good standard of cleaniness.

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Really good location, lovely place with helpful and attentive very nice staff. Would definitely recommend a stay.

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The riad was an excellent respite from the hustle of Marrakesh, located in the less touristly part of the medina (on the north side of the souk). Security is an issue though. There is a keypad to get into the riad, but how often is the number changed, and how many people know it, but there is zero security on the room doors at all.. They also need direction signs. Although they meet you on arrival, I got a bit lost when returning. But it was a lovely stay.


94%

Lovely riad to stay in, rooms were clean, comfortable and peaceful, staff were very welcoming and helpful and the prices are so reasonable. Would highly recommend.


91%

Staff friendly also ready with tea and cake. Unable to lock your room when going out.


94%

What a great time. The staff was super friendly, I the rooms spacious and luxurious, always clean and cool. Some rooms had more privacy than others, but the other guests were very friendly too. The courtyard is beautiful, well equipped for resting and even better for chatting with friends. All in all, a wonderful time.


94%

The service was first class, wlshed they let people know its ok to pay in sterling. We were lucky and had cash, they dont accept cards and its +10% if you pay in Dirhams. However the most amazing place, the staff are brilliant and the breakfast was spot on. Right on the Edge of the Souks which is great once you have almost found your way. Would come again


100%

For Sensitive Souls this is the place to be :the hectic outside Marrakech world stops at the frontdoor : very friendly people welcome and let you out anytime you enter and leave the hostel,you are welcomed with lovely green mint tea + cake anytime you come in !!! in a spacious living where open fire and tiny turtle are witnesses of your relaxation time on the sofa Breakfast : warm bread, pancakes eggs, tea coffee yoghurt fruit cornflakes. superb decor, patio, roof terrace,roomsOk!TRUST MAXIMUM

  • 7th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


87%

The route to the riad was down alleys so small and rubbish-filled that I seriously thought me and my 84 year old father were going to be mugged by the ' guide'. Once we paid the guide (because in M'kesh they can't say hello without asking for money), the door opened to the most wonderful sight. The place was simple, clean and very welcoming, as were the staff. They looked after us beautifully and when we left, arranged fire a taxi at a very reasonable price. Nice place, nice people. Recommended.

  • 4th Nov 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

An absolute pleasure to stay at this riad. We hope to return soon! The only thing that might be a good addition is a safety deposit box or locker in the room, but otherwise it was perfect in every way.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Freya, Thank you very much for posting your review, We always make the best and develope our services, only for you. You are always welcome to Dar Soukaina, your home in Marrakech. Thank you again.

97%

Dar Soukaina is an excellent place to relax and chill out, but at the same time just minutes from the hustle and bustle of the Marrakech souks. The staff were superb and couldn't do enough for us. Trust their judgement too on anything you ask them, though they will be reserved in their manner. We couldn't recommend Dar Soukaina more. We ranged from an over 80 grandmother to a 17 year old in our group of 6 people.


93%

There is not the option to lock your individual door, however the Riad itself is well secured. We had no problems. The staff is exceptional and very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dar Soukaina thanks you for your stay, and your rating Hope to welcome you next time.

« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Marrakech Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback