X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dar Soukaina Reviews

19 derb El Ferrane, RIAD LAAROUSS, Marrakech, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
55 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great place, good location, lovely, helpful staff. Breakfast was nice and there was free wifi. Only negative thing was that the showers were ice cold but you can't have everything! :)


80%

When I checked out, the staff did not calculate the payment correctly. Disappointed. Be careful and ask them for the charging list.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, Thank you very much for your stay at Dar Soukaina, Just responding to your note, you stayed 3 nights, the rest of your bill was 85,5 Euros with a transfer from the airport, the total was 100,5 Euros. You paid 50 Euros and 540Dhs, so if you calculate the currency, you will find that 1 Euros= between 10,7MAD and 10,08 MAD. Please try and you will find that we did rightly calculated your bill. Thank you very much

91%

The Riad is a real oasis of tranquility within the bustling medina. Friendly staff, beautiful decoration, in walking distance of the Souks and the main square and very secure. A cosy place where you can relax after in amazing tranquility after a busy day of exploring.

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Basic breakfast, would have loved some fruit as well.

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

cool vibe, charming staff, nothing fancy but very comfortable and real.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff is very careful to your needs available and kind. But something can be improved, our washbasin was cracked and lacking water.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your stay at Dar Soukaina, and we'r so sorry about the washbasin, which has been repeared, we promisse a more confortable stay at Dar Soukaina for your next stay. Thank you very much.

83%

We had a lovely stay at Dar Soukhaina during our time in Marrakech....it was a peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Absolutely stunning and traditionally rustic Moroccan rooms, with a gorgeous and gigantic bath! The staff were friendly and hospitable...thank you! The only two things to note if you are staying here....they don't have a credit card machine and you need to bring your own padlock to lock your rooms.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Gust, Thank you so much for your love to your home in Marrakech, Your stay at Dar Soukaina means for us a stay with a morrocan family, no locks need at Dar Soukaina , it is a signe of this peaceful haven. But to respect the notes of our guests, locks ar disposal at the reception if you need. Thank you very much, waiting for your next stay at Dar Soukaina.

94%

Lovely place, right in the middle of the place to be in the Medina. Security code doors to the main building, but no room locks (not that it was needed) or safe for valuables (all fine though). Breakfast is breads, coffee and orange juice - really sets you up for a long day sightseeing. Very relaxing and quiet. I was in the secong building just across (the very small) street from the main place (where reception and breakfast is) I think i was in the whole place on my own - lovely :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much Mr Adams, Dar Soukaina is your home in Marrakech, and all the staff are just like your moroccan family. You are always Welcome

94%

Lovely oasis of calm in the midst of the hectic Medina, with a lovely and helpful host, comfortable and attractive rooms, nice breakfast and even a glass of mint tea when you arrive. It's a bit hard to find, and they only take cash, but once you've found it, you will be very happy you did.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Welcoming atmosphere, friendly staff, trainquil space

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

it was an amazing location and our Riad was everything we'd hoped for, totally authentic, beautiful bathroom, it was incredible. the staff were very helpful, there was a security coded door to get into the hostel, but no means of securing our room, but we travelled light and didn't keep anything of value in the room,, the whole experience was lovely. Omar our host was extremely helpful and informative,. a lovely young man.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent place to stay north of the main square. Staff are extremely accommodating and will go out of their way to assist you. This riad is clean, safe, quiet and has great wifi. Based on my stay i would happily return!

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The dying cats lying next to the stinking bins around the corner from the hostel were a real turn off and would put us off staying again as there was no way of avoiding it. We were also nearly hit twice by children throwing objects from the rooftops! The hostel itself was lovely and the staff could not be faulted.We would have appreciated a more imaginative breakfast though as the pancakes,cake and bread became a bit monotonous after a week.Fresh fruit would have been a very welcome variation.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

very good place, is possible go from the hostel to the centre by walking, 15 min. Good people working there! So, I recommend this hostel!

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

To make sure your room is secure you should bring your own padlock! However, I left my room closed but unlocked during my 3 day stay and felt the privacy of my room was completely respected! Dar Soukaina is really an oasis of tranquillity and a delightful, aesthetic experience - a place you can really relax and feel comfortable in Marrakesh.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place well located in the Medina. Very nice staff, very welcoming and helpful. Place is quiet, with a huge central patio and a little pool in ceramic. Tall trees provide shade very useful when it is hot. Staff is very kind, give advices for visits. Very clean and pretty room in an antic style and an air conditioner. Also large and local breakfast. Strongly recommended.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The rooms, roof terrace and breakfast were nice. Unfortunately one member of staff (a young boy) tried to charge me 20 dirhams for a map. He could see that i had got into trouble on the way here and had to pay someone to find the place. The next day a different member of staff gave me the map free of charge.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tim, Thank you very much for your stay at Dar Soukaina, and your alaways welcome in Marrakech and in Morroco, Just a note, the price for the map is 2 Euros, that is not mean that Dar Soukaina search ways to earn money from the gustes, as you can notice that we offer o lot of thinks like cofe, tea, water... during all your stay. other Riads in Marrakech charge you all these offers. I can give a map for free, but other staff dont have the wright. Thank you very much.

100%

Having stayed in another Riad before, this is a wonderful place to stay. Lovely staff, a beautiful room and excellent service. The breakfasts were fab too! Vivienne

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Would be very happy to recommend this to my friends

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

We actually had the pleasure to stay in both of the riads for a couple of nights. The rooms where really cosy, well equipped and very nicely furnished. Breakfast was very nice, too, of course it came with the obligatory fresh orange juice. The neighbourhood felt pretty save—well, after getting a bit familiar with the city's rhythm—and it's all in a walking distance to the legendary market place Djemaa el Fna. We would come back.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Marrakech Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback