X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dar Soukaina Reviews

19 derb El Ferrane, RIAD LAAROUSS, Marrakech, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
42 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Excellent place to stay north of the main square. Staff are extremely accommodating and will go out of their way to assist you. This riad is clean, safe, quiet and has great wifi. Based on my stay i would happily return!

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The dying cats lying next to the stinking bins around the corner from the hostel were a real turn off and would put us off staying again as there was no way of avoiding it. We were also nearly hit twice by children throwing objects from the rooftops! The hostel itself was lovely and the staff could not be faulted.We would have appreciated a more imaginative breakfast though as the pancakes,cake and bread became a bit monotonous after a week.Fresh fruit would have been a very welcome variation.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

very good place, is possible go from the hostel to the centre by walking, 15 min. Good people working there! So, I recommend this hostel!

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

To make sure your room is secure you should bring your own padlock! However, I left my room closed but unlocked during my 3 day stay and felt the privacy of my room was completely respected! Dar Soukaina is really an oasis of tranquillity and a delightful, aesthetic experience - a place you can really relax and feel comfortable in Marrakesh.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place well located in the Medina. Very nice staff, very welcoming and helpful. Place is quiet, with a huge central patio and a little pool in ceramic. Tall trees provide shade very useful when it is hot. Staff is very kind, give advices for visits. Very clean and pretty room in an antic style and an air conditioner. Also large and local breakfast. Strongly recommended.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The rooms, roof terrace and breakfast were nice. Unfortunately one member of staff (a young boy) tried to charge me 20 dirhams for a map. He could see that i had got into trouble on the way here and had to pay someone to find the place. The next day a different member of staff gave me the map free of charge.


100%

Having stayed in another Riad before, this is a wonderful place to stay. Lovely staff, a beautiful room and excellent service. The breakfasts were fab too! Vivienne

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Would be very happy to recommend this to my friends

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

We actually had the pleasure to stay in both of the riads for a couple of nights. The rooms where really cosy, well equipped and very nicely furnished. Breakfast was very nice, too, of course it came with the obligatory fresh orange juice. The neighbourhood felt pretty save—well, after getting a bit familiar with the city's rhythm—and it's all in a walking distance to the legendary market place Djemaa el Fna. We would come back.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

We had a lovely time at Dar Soukaina! The breakfast was fantastic, the staff were wonderful, and the souk was very peaceful and very comfortable. It was our home away from home! Thank you very much for such a pleasant stay, it made our trip to Marrakech that much more special.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

We visited at the end of January so we practically had the riad to ourselves. The riad is just behind the souks, but is so peaceful so you would never know when inside as it's really peaceful. The staff were lovely and friendly. The only thing more we could possibly have needed was a padlock for the room, and a hairdryer if we were to be really particular. The riad really is a sanctuary compared to the business of marakesh. Make sure you look up on a map to help you find it.

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Depending on what your expectations are will depend on how much you like the guesthouse. We do not have any specific complaints but what I am getting at is that we felt a little lonely there. It is a very small common area and no one seemed to be spending any time in the small courtyard or on the roof top. The roof top sofa´s were not inviting and the drain in the shower was incredibly slow but that might be the case everywhere else as well? A very friendly staff and we felt very welcome.

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Convenient location,friendly staff,good standard of cleaniness.

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Really good location, lovely place with helpful and attentive very nice staff. Would definitely recommend a stay.

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The riad was an excellent respite from the hustle of Marrakesh, located in the less touristly part of the medina (on the north side of the souk). Security is an issue though. There is a keypad to get into the riad, but how often is the number changed, and how many people know it, but there is zero security on the room doors at all.. They also need direction signs. Although they meet you on arrival, I got a bit lost when returning. But it was a lovely stay.


94%

Lovely riad to stay in, rooms were clean, comfortable and peaceful, staff were very welcoming and helpful and the prices are so reasonable. Would highly recommend.


91%

Staff friendly also ready with tea and cake. Unable to lock your room when going out.


94%

What a great time. The staff was super friendly, I the rooms spacious and luxurious, always clean and cool. Some rooms had more privacy than others, but the other guests were very friendly too. The courtyard is beautiful, well equipped for resting and even better for chatting with friends. All in all, a wonderful time.


94%

The service was first class, wlshed they let people know its ok to pay in sterling. We were lucky and had cash, they dont accept cards and its +10% if you pay in Dirhams. However the most amazing place, the staff are brilliant and the breakfast was spot on. Right on the Edge of the Souks which is great once you have almost found your way. Would come again


100%

For Sensitive Souls this is the place to be :the hectic outside Marrakech world stops at the frontdoor : very friendly people welcome and let you out anytime you enter and leave the hostel,you are welcomed with lovely green mint tea + cake anytime you come in !!! in a spacious living where open fire and tiny turtle are witnesses of your relaxation time on the sofa Breakfast : warm bread, pancakes eggs, tea coffee yoghurt fruit cornflakes. superb decor, patio, roof terrace,roomsOk!TRUST MAXIMUM

  • 7th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Marrakech Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback