X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

David Boat Reviews

Conradstraat 417, 1018 NE, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
234 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

We had a great time on David's houseboat. The room and the facilities were tidy, clean and warm, despite the cold and rainy weather outside. David was very friendly and helpful. He gave us a couple of tips about supermarkets and restaurants nearby and we could rent his bikes for a good price. Thanks a lot, we would definitely visit you again!

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

THE ROOM WAS VERY COMFORTABLE WARM AND CLEAN, DAVID WAS REALLY KIND AND THE BOAT WASN'T TOO FAR FROM CITY CENTER.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Out stay in David's boat was very pleasurable. Plenty of room for our stuff (a weekends worth). David made us feel most welcome. As we arrived late, he also met us off of the tram. His communication was second to none and nothing was too much for him to deal with. Cracking guy!!

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We enjoyed our weekend at the houseboat very much. Unique and cozy location, also very close to the centre and only a few minutes to the next tram station. Perfect place for a weekend!


100%

My partner and I had the most wonderful time on the boat! We actually never took the tram 26 and walked towards the center and back every day enjoying the streets of the calmer but no less beautiful and authentic neighbourhood.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great way to experience Amsterdam, full of character, really close to the city centre via tram yet very peaceful and quiet. David is a fab host, thank you! Have already recommended your boat to everyone back home!

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Lovely experience, David's boat is an amazing place to spend your holiday!

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Me and my boyfriend spent 4 nights on David's house boat and we loved it. The location is good because its so easy and straight forward to get to Amsterdam central on the tram. David was really lovely and helpful to us and made our stay very comfortable and easy. We intend to return and stay on the house bost again, we would both definitely recommend staying there as its great value money, especially if your young and on a budget like us.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

David was there to greet us on arrival. Hes a very lovely man and nothing is too much trouble. We had a wonderful stay in a fab clean tidy space. We cant wait to go back!!

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

We were looking for somewhere different for our short stay in Amsterdam and the boat certainly provided it. We had the original sleeping quarters for those who worked the boat 100 years ago complete with wood paneling and the ladder down to the room. The bed was comfortable and David had squeezed in a flush toilet and a shower to add to the facilities. Good, cheap local bars and restaurants and location on a main tram route and the very cheap price made this ideal for a short stay.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

David was very friendly and helpful and made my daughter and I feel very welcome. Our room was clean and spacious and was equipped with kettle tea, coffee, sugar and milk. He even offered to go to the shop to buy any items we required for our stay. They say you get what you pay for but in this instance we got far, far more.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

David was extremely nice upon meeting him. Me and my wife stayed here for 4 nights in the Captain's room and the location is safe as far as I could tell. The only complaint I really have is that the toilet is separated from the bed by about 3 feet and a curtain. You can see into the bathroom through a window from the stairs and after you do use the bathroom you have to climb the stairs to wash your hands. There were scary looking spiders but they were never in the boat and were harmless.


94%

Basic, clean facilities located in a quiet neighborhood located 20 mins on foot east of Amsterdam Centraal. David is super friendly and helpful. Getting in-out of the accommodation takes a tiny bit of effort if you're built larger than average due to the awkward stairs and hatch (at least for one of the rooms). I would recommend to anyone traveling light and/or with limited budget. The neighborhood has a breakfast place, thai take-away, bike rental and a coffee shop all within 5 mins of the boat

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The room we stayed in was very basic, there is another one which used to be the captain's cabin and it seemed to be a bit more comfy. Apart from that, our stay at David Boat was very enjoyable. The "hostel" is well located so you can reach the center of Amsterdam within a couple of minutes (tram & a bit of walking). There are also a few restaurants and shops nearby ("nearby" is of course a matter of interpretation - you could rent the bikes from David though). David was a great host - Thank you!


91%

Our room in David's boat was very nice, in the front of the boat, super silent. David is a great guy, he provides any info you may need. In sum, we had a good stay in David's boat.


60%

David was such a nice person to us (me and my boyfriend), very kind. The boat is ok, but old and the room is small. The location is not that fine at night, a little bit scary. It's a nice thing to do if you like camping, but for me, as a girl, I'd prefer a hotel, for sure. My biggest problem was that, in the night, I looked out of the small window and I saw LOTS of SPIDERS walking in the glass, outside and also INSIDE (we killed 2 in the first night and after that we could't sleep well).


54%

Boat was clean, however we did not like the fact that there was no reception. YOU ARE LITERALLY ON YOUR OWN! Wifi does not work either. Tram ends at 12:45 am leaving you walking home which takes about an hr from the red light district.


100%

Because we wanted some different, we've decided to try David's boat and we were very happy we did that. So, the location is quiet, close to center. No problems with the neighborhood. We enjoys watching the people walking with their dogs and playing with them. Also the ducks were great. We could admire them for hours, taking a lot of positive energy. David is a good host. He helped us with all necessary and also we had a great talk. We recommend this location to all who want a great experience.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

The boat is in a nice neighborhood with shops, places to eat, etc. Number 10 tram runs to the museum quarter, and it's an easy walk to a very pleasant brewpub in an old windmill. It was cold when we were there, and our area was often uncomfortably cold. There are no lights over the only sink--a problem when it's dark--and there are no electrical outlets on the upper level (where the WiFi works). It's for people who are agile enough to climb up and down a steep, narrow companionway.


80%

It's cramped, smells of mildew and feels like a deathtrap, but it's got so much character that you grow to love it instantly. An experience unlike any other!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(132 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback