Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

David Boat

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 372 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 372 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • KellYeah
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
8.6

David was a great host, even offering us some bikes to use during our stay. The room was pretty basic (but perfect for our needs), with a shower in the corner so it is most suitable for a couple. It was very cool to stay on a boat and it stayed put even in a storm! We had a nice family of coots chirping outside during our stay as well which was quite cute :) We were able to walk into town from the boat which was very handy and there are a lot of cool places to eat very nearby

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st May 2017
10.0

Great, unique accomodation in a cute neighbourhood close to the centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th May 2017
9.4

A fantastic place to stay if you want a unique experience in Amsterdam. We really enjoyed our time here and were surprised at how quiet and calm the boat was to sleep on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2017
9.4

Great Amsterdam experience! I loved the location, a couple of kilometres from the tourist masses of the center. David is the most friendliest host and so helpful. Would definetly stay at David's boat again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2017
9.7

We really enjoyed our stay! More space than we expected, all facilities/linens etc. that we needed, and great location - a very convenient tram stop just around the block! David was great too, very friendly and helpful. A charming and unique experience and great value for the money. Would definitely recommend to anybody looking to stay at a good price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • joelnystrom09
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th May 2017
8.9

Great, unique place to stay. David was very kind and helpful. The location is good; close to restaurants and the tram stop. It was fun staying in the houseboat and seeing wildlife in the canal. WiFi signal was not strong; you could only get a weak signal in a few spots since the boat is solid metal. The space is definitely small (I am 6'3" (190cm) and was constantly ducking my head), but it is cozy. A few minor improvements and this place would be a 10/10. We would stay again. Thanks David!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th May 2017
10.0

We loved our stay at David Boat. Before arriving David provided us with detailed instructions how to get there. The house boat was cosy and had everything we needed. It was only a 15 minute walk into the centre. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
8.9

David was an excellent host, very welcoming and always available to answer any questions and help us. The room we had was very cosy, not too cold and a decent size. Great location, just a short 10 minute tram ride away from Central station. Would recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam who wants somewhere to stay away from the noisy city centre. Thanks again, David!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • vitogeorgiev5671
  • Bulgaria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Apr 2017
8.3

Although very basic David's boat provided all that was needed for a short city break in Amsterdam. There were even clean towels which means less baggage for me.It is located in a quiet neighborhood very close to a very nice bar and within few minutes walikng there are 2 tram lines taking you either to Centraal or the museum quarter. It is about 30 min walk from Centraal. David was very welcoming and helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
9.7

We just returned from a 7 night stay on David Boat and we had a great time. David is very friendly and hospitable. The houseboat is located in a quiet, nice, convenient neighborhood close to the 26 and 10 Trams allowing for easy access to the city center. The neighborhood contains excellent grocery stores, coffee shops, restaurants and bars. If you're looking for the true Amsterdam experience we highly recommend staying on David Boat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.