X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Davids Cozy Auberge in Old Berlin Reviews

Bredowstr. 35b, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1407 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Everything is beautiful and convenient, rooms are spacious, except bedrooms - messy, blanket and cover are old. Extra mattress can be added right on the floor without a bed! My bedroom was divided by curtain into 6 places for girls (4 beds and 1 double mattress) and 5 places for boys (1 single matress and 4 bed). It means that my 8 beds room became a room for 11 people! David (staff) is friendly, helpful and nice. Close to metro station, bus station from Tegel Airport and Central Train Station.


100%

This is without a doubt the best hostel that I stayed in. The people were so welcoming and friendly and the value for money was really good


89%

It was awesome place and staff there. I surely use again when i VISIT to Berlin again. Internet is so fast.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • uncss
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

David was very nice. But felt the facilities were a bit run-down, not very clean and slept on the most uncomfortable bed in my life. WAY over priced for what it was. Ended up paying more than advertised as fees were tacked on upon check-in. Don't like being duped.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Plus: location! Three stops with the bus to the Hauptbahnhof. Minus: KITCHEN! One hob, one pot, three plates and a few mugs - that's it! Very limited seating available in the common area. Not very clean, our room smelled stale and mouldy.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Could use a few upgrades to things like matressess, bedding, and maybe include a few useful items like a kettle.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

Worst experience in a hostel ever : undelicate and deceitully friendly welcome. The room was terribly dirty, like very very dirty and humid. We just went all day long out and came at night back to sleep. I would recommand noone to go there.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

David scared me at the beggining :) but later on it was ok.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

It's not in the center of Berlin but it was a 5 minute walk from the U9 which takes you straight to one of the main spots in town with shopping and restaurants and from there you can take public transportation anywhere throughout the city.


91%

Lovely little hostel near to a train station so it is easy to get around the city. Upon arrival David/Daniel sat down with us and gave us a map and circled all the subway stations we would need for all the touristy things to do which was super helpful of him. The beds in the dorm room are single beds which is a great novelty! Its a real homely place and we really enjoyed our stay here as well as meeting some great people. Only thing would be a kettle and some more knives for the kitchen!


63%

We stayed in the apartment that is separate from the hostel. The location is okay, little bit out from the sights but near a metro and it's a safe, family area. The apartment it's self wasn't the best. The bathroom is covered in mould and the kitchen had no utensils to make good with. You get what you pay for with this hostel.


89%

Really enjoyed my stay here! David was lovely and really helpful. It's only a small hostel, but it was a great environment and easy to meet people. It was a nice balance between being social but also comfortable. The kitchen is basic, but I found it was sufficient for everything I needed during my stay. The WIFI was excellent!!! Beds were comfy. It takes a while to walk to some of the attractions, but it's an easy train ride. Can't complain, especially for the low price.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a very good time in Davids hostel. The hostel is a small and very artistic place, it is located close to the Undergroung and in a quiet but sharming quarter of Berlin. there is a common kitchen, and a common living room, the place is clean and there is a very familiar atmosphere. Moreover, David is just fantastic: always kind, nice and very helpfull!

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

i stayed there for a few nights in the dorm. the facility was very nice, specially the living room. cool place where i met lot of new people. toilet and showers were clean, nothing to complain about. the staff was very helpfull, could explain me everything i wanted to know about berlin and a few more things ;-) the hostel was close to subway and bus station, from where you can discover all of berlin. next time staying in berlin, i will definitely stay at david's again.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Uncomfortable beds and pillows, poor kitchen facilities, odd bunch of guests, no music facilities and lots of things need fixing up. Bad system of check in, guests constantly left outside with no one to let them in and a phone number that often wasn't answered. Travellers often cannot arrive on a two hour appointment slot! But very nice manager and hostel looks sweet.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I really enjoyed the hostel, it is a bit further away from the touristy parts but is close to a bus route and tram station, although I walked everywhere. For only 10 euros a night it is definitely worth it and definitely cozy. The wifi is excellent and beds are comfortable as it is a nice change from bunk beds. Although there are limited bathrooms and showers it still works fine and I didn't have any problems there. The staff is very nice and helpful and this is a good place to make new friends

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Except for the location everything is horribly. Two toilets and two showers for all people.You can imagine how long you have to wait to use them and how digusting they looked. Furthermore I have spent 2 nights with a friend in a 8 bed dorm with a mentally ill person who was talking to himself all night. The owner of the hostel didn't warn us even if there were complaits already and we were just scared of that guy. I can only say DON'T STAY IN THAT HOSTEL!!!

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

Everything was so weird


77%

This has got to be hands down to strangest hostel I've ever stayed in. Not in a bad way, you've definitely got to experience it.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

A homely environment but not so clean. A bit far away from main station or good areas. Staff and security is just OK. Best part is that it is cheap. That's it.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback