X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Davids Cozy Auberge in Old Berlin Reviews

Bredowstr. 35b, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1345 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Our stay at David's cosy thingy was hilarious and great fun, David is probably the funniest and best hostel owner in Europe. It's only a short tube ride to the center of town and it's in a really nice quiet location. Much love, Charlie, Will and Max UK PS. Cheers David for helping us book that hostel in the Black Forest! You were right, she did not speak a word of English! We spoke about 4 words of German though and with liberal use of google translate we just about communicated.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great deal, tea for free and a lovelly staff! Thank you very much.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Would never go back. Dirty, no toilet paper - not a favourite place of ours


94%

Johns Hostel in Berlin certainly lived up to its current reviews. The individual beds were an amazing change of pace as the typical bunk bed set up wasn't used and the sheer size of the place made you gawk in awe. The bathrooms are a little tricky and a bit small; the shower was only cleaned once a day, and guests before me left it messy. The staff were my favorite part of the Hostel as each of them are eagerly ready to assist you in anyway and are fun to talk to! Specially Daniel!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Swaziland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

My stay was a very comfortable one. The hostel is like the name says, a cosy place where you easily meet people. The area is a bit quiet but there are plenty of parks around. Manager Daniel is one of a kind, sweetheart. Thanks for the hospitality


40%

No reception. Be sure to have a phone so you can try to reach someone with thé number left on the door. Be patient because thé number does not always work.. It did not in my case because it was at thé exact moment when they were changing their sim card after coming back from Indonesia.. Not lucky. Cleaness is not perfect but acceptable because thé price is so low.


100%

Very convienant location, in a nice, old quarter with almost no tourists and very low prices for everything. Plenty of bars and cheap restaurant are nearby as well. Just 5 minutes from the gay quarter at Nollendorfplatz, but much cheaper then there. Daniel & David, the owners, are 2 very friendly guys and maintain everything in a wonderful way. Gays welcome. Next to perfect for people who do not like big noisy hostels. This is more like a privat home of some artists. Thanks for all, Daniel!

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly and inviting small hostel. Staff is great, all is clean nd tidy and it is very near to everything. a kitchen can be used, Cheap food shopping and markets nearby. And many cheap and good restaurants. Perfect place

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Luxembourg
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed. Perfect location. The staff is amazing friendly and helpful. Everything was organized well. It's very clean and the beds are large and comfy. I loved the fact that they don't have any bunks. Good breakfast with huge selection of food. The tours are very interesting and worth the money. I would recommend Johns Hostel to everybody i know. I met a lot of nice travellers and made many friends. Definitely a hot spot in Berlin.


97%

Interesting old german atmosphere. Cool place. can be recommended. No smoking policy was good. Very clean rooms. John himself is a treasure.


100%

Feel more like a home in Berlin. Has as well some people, who stayed for some weeks already, who can give much nich advice. Lovely budjet-place in good location

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I would definitely recommend Davids .The welcoming was very warm and the staff very friendly and kind! Really nice atmosphere, clean and quiet. The metro station is three minutes by walking, the supermarket is next to the hostel. It was like a home in Berlin. I will be back one day! Best regards!


100%

This is a small and very nice place in a very central location, a few minutes from a main shopping road with busses and trains in all directions. Lovely staff, the perfect accomodation for me.

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really like this lovely homelike place in the middle of Berlin, just 1 minute from the local train-station/U-bahn, which comes every 2 minutes. The real relaxing atmosphere was last not least due to David , the owner, who was so nice and friendly always and gave me so good advices where to go and what to see, and entertained us in the nights with his interesting and amusing stories about Berlin and its events. Beside of this the dorms and showers were spotless clean. Very recommendable indeed.


29%

This was the worst hostel I´ve ever been! It was dirty and I felt uncomfortable at this place!

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good location, wifi works in the rooms, friendly stuff. I recommend to people who are looking for a low cost accomodation

Owner Comment (Hide)
Der guest.thank you very much for this comment.i am happy to know that you had a very nice time at our hostel. I hope to see you very sooner .david

66%

When checking in they added a compulsory 3€ fee for the sheets. The Price then changed from 4€ a night to 7€. It is still a good Price but I think they do it just to be higher in the list if sorted by Price. It is cheating.


40%

This hostel is cheap! For an extra couple of euros go somewhere else! The bathroom was filthy, the sheets were horrible and dirty. The whole place needed a proper clean! Having said all this it was only 10 euros a night so we got what we paid for!


74%

David's Hostel was a neat place with plenty of character - I'd definitely describe it as "cozy." The staff was friendly--I arrived earlier than my scheduled time and was let in early anyway. It's a bit out of the way--you definitely have to take the U-Bahn (or the S-Bahn, about 15 minutes away) and transfer in order to get to the main heart of the metro. I liked how it had a kitchen, a microwave and a kettle and that a grocery store was literally two minutes down the street.


100%

This little hostel is very cool and nice. There are not much people now, and mainly long term guests and students. It has more an atmosphere like a home, its clean, friendly people, central at the metro, perfect place. and totally cheap. Great place.




View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback