X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Davies Court Reviews

56 East India Dock Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
113 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Really excellent hostel. Not too far from the DLR, and the rooms are a really good value. I was a little surprised when my "2 bed female dorm" turned out to be mixed, but fortunately it was a good experience. Both staff and residents were very pleasant.


94%

good place, good value, not a great location but right next to the tube so overall I definitely recommend


86%

I enjoyed myweekend location good for day trips into London, reception very good.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

A great find and great location / value for money! I have already told others about it. Many Thanks

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

A very nice, welcoming and friendly place, and excellent value at £25. The only minor point was the unexpected lack of a towel - standard, apparently.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear sir thank you for your kind comments. We are sorry you were disappointed at the lack of towels. They are considered personal items and as such, residents provide their own. However the reception can sometimes provide towels for short term guests upon request.

83%

Reception was very friendly and welcoming. The room was good and great value for the cost. However, I didn't know there would be no tower in my room and it was difficult to shower.


74%

Although the halls of residence is located some distance from the city centre, the night bus 15 stops directly opposite the hall (University of Cumbria stop). My room and facilities were at a very good rate. My room which was in a flat, contained a TV, desk, washbasin and good storage space. However there is no crockery or cutlery in the shared kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir Thank you for your feedback as this helps us meet future customer expectations. Our residents tend to be long term guests and bring/buy their own crockery, cutlery utensils etc. The hostel does have a supply of various items for loan for a small refundable deposit but most short term guests tend to dine out or purchase ready meals and disposable items. Thank you for staying with us.

86%

I love the place, the only problem is that the internet is with a cable (not included in the room), so there is no wifi available.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments New for this summer is the installation of WiFi available throughout the entire hostel (not just in reception or public areas, so you have the privacy and convenience of surfing in your room. ALL INCLUDED IN THE PRICE. We look forward to welcoming you back to DaviesCourt

91%

Very professional and very kind people at reception. In way of improving I would improve insonority of rooms and brakes on doors due to unrespectful people.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear sir Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to the team. We work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Davies Court

94%

It's students apartment! Cheap! Quite near Financial Street! Staff are friendly, he led me to the room and show me every thing. Five doors to go to your room, very Safe. and there is a fridge in the room. generally, very good if you want to save money.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The rooms look totally different than those in the photos! But all in all a good hostel, especially when you want to be close to the canary wharf, dlr or excel exhibition centre. Plus the bus straight to the city stops just outside the door. Although, minus for not having a single hairdryer for hire...


97%

Highly recommended for lower-budget travelers who would like to experience London . The location is very communicative and only 15 min by public transport to the City or just a 10 min walk to the Canary Wharf. The staff is very helpful and welcoming.hanks to Davies Courts staff their cooperation with directions and advice.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear sir Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed on to the team. We work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Davies Court

83%

good hotel to stay for little amount of money ,the bedroom was comfortable but not clean at all, smelly as well but everything else was good, I would say this is what you get for 18 pounds a nigh in a good place in London

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear sir Thank you for your comments which have been passed on to the team. We work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Davies Court

91%

The staff helped me to get some information I needed from the internet, which was really kind since I didn't have a laptop or phone there. They also told me where the nearest tube station was. They are really helpful and nice. Thanks!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Madam It was a pleasure to receive such kind feedback and will be passed onto the team here at Davies Court We always try to exceed customer expectation and look forward to being of service on your next visit to London. Thank you one again

83%

Very helpful staff and very probably the best quality/price ratio. I recommend this place.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Madam It was a pleasure to receive such kind feedback and will be passed onto the team here at Davies Court We always try to exceed customer expectation and look forward to being of service on your next visit to London. Thank you one again

91%

The bathroom and rest room were a bit dirty. The shower is very inconvenient(they way it is installed and they way it works).

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Madam Thank you for your feedback We apologize for the way the previous user left the shared common areas. They are cleaned daily and inspected through out the day but not so frequently during the night. We are also sorry you could not fit in the shower conveniently. We look forward to being of service for your next visit to London and thank you for choosing Davies Court

89%

I think it is Better for School classes or Long Term Reservations than for backpackers




View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback