X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Davies Court Reviews

56 East India Dock Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
185 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very comfortable and great prices

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words We are pleased to hear your delight at our hostel and e look forward to be of service again in the future Many thanks The Front Office Team

66%

I was almost 100% satisfied. The receptionists were nice and helpful. There is one thing I would like to mention. I had booked ensuite one-bed room for 2 nights. When I arrived it turned out that I was put in a one-bed room, but with shared facilities. The receptionist explained that sometimes the website does not show the true availability of the rooms. First of all, maybe the website can be improved. Secondly, if this happens I would expect that someone contacts me about it beforehand.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Madam Thank you for your kind words and we do apologise for the overlap of room type. Sometimes bookings come in so fast it is too late to update the room type availability before the next booking comes in. We do try to inform guests of room type changes but sometimes messages get returned as un deliverable. However we would like to welcome you back to Davies Court when you are next again visiting London. Thank you indeed for staying with us.

89%

Great wifi and a gym, can't ask for much more for £18 a night

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir Thank you for your kind words We would like to welcome you back to Davies Court when you are next again visiting London. Thank you indeed for staying with us.

91%

I appreciated that I was given a free upgrade to a better room due to a booking error on their part. Also they have a gym with lots of cardio equipment (only 3 weight machines - they could use some dumbbells since those are more versatile than specific machines) for those who want to do cardio during their stay.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Thank you for your comments. We were pleased to upgrade your booking from a female twin room to a private single room for your brief 2 night stay. The error was due to the other bed in the twin room already occupied by a male guest. Thank you

94%

Karla was a shing light. Amazing.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very kind words. We train our staff to the highest possible standards and trust this has reflected in the service you received. We have passed on your comment and thank you for booking with us We look forward to welcoming you back to Davies Court

100%

I give 100% because I was really pleased with my stay especially as the staff was incredible helpful and lean back. The location was just perfect for my purpose. For others it might be a bit far out but the rates are really cheap for what you get anyway. My bed/duvet was the softest I ever slept in - like heaven. Thanks again guys

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very positive feedback, We are glad you had a nice stay with us. We look forwards to welcoming you back during your next visit. Regards Davies Court team

100%

For £9 it was an absolute bargain. Super clean and well equipped rooms. Friendly staff, everything you want for a one night stay. Will definitely come again

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very positive feedback, We are glad you had a nice stay with us. We look forwards to welcoming you back during your next visit. Regards Davies Court team

100%

Best value in London for a private room TV, fridge and sink in the room too!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very positive feedback, We are glad you had a nice stay with us. We look forwards to welcoming you back during your next visit. Regards Davies Court team

94%

Best hostel I've stayed at in Europe so far, fantastic deal, loved the privacy, located a bit out of the way from central London but great if (like me) you're spending time on the East End. Staff were very accommodating.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very positive feedback, We are glad you had a nice stay with us. We look forwards to welcoming you back during your next visit. Regards Davies Court team

34%

That place was the worst I ever stayed in. It was VERY dirty. The toilets and showers were the worst. I'm not kidding when I say I was scared to get sick there. I showered with my socks on which I had to throw away. I've stayed at cheap places before but at least they were clean. That is the only thing I expect but Davies Court definitely lacks that. There are a handful of people sharing the toilets. I expect them to be cleaned every single day but it looks like that is not happening.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Madam Thank you for your comments which are very important to us. We are sorry you did not experience our hostel at its best. We checked the housekeeping schedule and can confirm the servicing was carried out. Unfortunately over the weekend your fellow residents left the shared facilities in a bad condition. These were cleaned up as soon as the staff came on duty. We welcome the opportunity to provide our services to you in the future and thank you for staying with us.

69%

The Lewisham wing was great for a hostel. I was lucky in getting a double room to myself for a couple of days which was great. Unfortunately 2 lots of bookings got mixed up and none of the staff have any idea what they are doing and were quite rude on several occasions. Not helpful at all and I ended up leaving the hostel in tears a day early due to the staff being so rude and unhelpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for your comments and can only apologise that you mixed up your booking and duplicated it with the hostel. We are glad we managed to help you and that everything worked out in the end. Our Staff were pleased to help you pack and assist you move rooms as you had a broken hand to move to the new room which was upgraded from the twin sharing room to a single private room. We pride ourselves on customer care and can only apologise if you did not understand the checking in and out

77%

This hostel is very cheap for what it offered! It is near to tube and restaurants and supermarkets. However, it does not provide locker/safe in my room. It is more like hotel atmosphere so it is not a good place to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your very positive feedback, We are glad you had a nice stay with us. We look forwards to welcoming you back during your next visit. Regards Davies Court team

54%

The stay will really depend in which house of the hostel you stay. The one that I was, was a little bit dirty and although it has a kitchen, there are no glasses, cups, pots, pans, etc to use. So it is complete useless. Things are private f the people living there. The sheets are clean, but in very bad conditions.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Got a single room, neat and simple, good price and well located. I am sure there are hotel rooms with worse conditions and way higher prices

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words We try to be as competitive as possible whilst giving good customer care and experience. We look forward to welcoming you again to Davies Court

89%

All the staff were excellent. I forgot my phone charger and they allowed me to charge my phone in reception. Youre not going to find any better value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words We try to be as competitive as possible whilst giving good customer care and experience. We look forward to welcoming you again to Davies Court

57%

Unfortunately this place has problem with mould. Not only in the bathroom, but outside the bathroom, the carpet was green with mould. Terrible smell that was partly hidden by an excessive use of softener in the bed linens. Not advisable for people with asthma etc. Your sleep wrapped in chemicals. Cannot tell if the bed linens were clean, but they certainly were perfumed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you feel you did not receive our best attention. The housekeeping and maintenance teams have inspected your concern and have discovered they are natural colouration. However if you contact the hostel directly you will receive a personal reply. We try to be as competitive as possible whilst giving good customer care and experience. We will look forward to welcoming you again to Davies Court. Thank you once again for staying with us.

100%

For the money you really can't go wrong with Davies Court. It's less than a five min walk to Westferry DLR Station, buses run from outside the hostel and Canary Wharf is a five minute walk away. The only negative I had was that there was no loo roll in the bathroom, but I'm sure if I asked they would have sorted it out. Otherwise a really great stay.

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I have always like this place, it offers ensuite stay at good rates if booked through Hostelworld. davies court can match any rates if you want to book direct.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir Thank you for your kind feedback. We strive hard to exceed customer's expectations. We look forward to your next stay with us Davies Court

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
69%

Very affordable. No meals, so just a room to sleep in. No kitchen etc. Very basic. the location is kind of remote, middle of nowhere in East end of London. Not much going on. But for a basic need of just staying, should be enough. Comes with a basic gym (a few treadmills and a stretch space)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Leo Thank you for you kind words. We are a self catering hostel and do provide over 20 fully fitted kitchens for the various flats for which residents cook their own meals the majority being long term residents who provide their own personal items of cookware , crockery , cutlery etc.. The hostel is located in Zone 2 of London's Canary Wharf and the O2 and close to the Olympic Games Village and Shopping Centre. And well connected only minutes from Bank and London Bridge stations

86%

best value ever in London!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(109 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback