X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Dawson Place Reviews

Dawson Place, Notting Hill Gate, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
167 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The security and location were superb, the place was cute however the bed was one of the worst I have ever slept on! We had a king but it was only two twins pushed together which made it difficult to sleep close to each other. There was no comfort and the springs dug into our backs. It felt like sleeping on box springs.


97%

Nice place to stay.... make you feel like home


91%

I would highly recommend this B&B. It's close to a tube station so ideal for visiting anywhere in London but is excellent value for money. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is brought to your room and there is plenty of it (just don't expect a cooked breakfast!)

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, friendly staff, no rush having breakfast, close to underground. A bit dusty and random folders on the shelves and bags under the bed.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, lovely house, nice room. We'll be back some day.


100%

I loved it, it was like a cottage. :)

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff is very nice. They bring you breakfast to your room every morning. They are very accommodating. One day we had a tour that was leaving very early. They usually start breakfast at 8 am and we told them and without hesitation they told us that they will bring us breakfast at 7:30 am which they did. The lady name Catalina plays a beautiful Violin. We heard her and it was amazing. We liked the room and we recommend this property. Location was great. Close to underground.


97%

We had a great stay at Dawson's Place in Notting Hill. Staff was very kind, breakfast was excellent and the location so close to Portobello Road and Notting Hill Gate was perfect.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very convenient location, great service, excellent staff Highly recommend.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

My family and I enjoyed staying at your place, quiet rooms to rest the long day walks.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic option, right on the Notting Hill Gate tube station (5 minutes) a short walk to Portobello Road, but very quiet.


83%

plus: position, value for money, really close to Portobello Market (5 minutes slow walking) suggested to people just looking for a safe, clean place to sleep after long days visiting London.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a lovely stay here at Dawson Place. It was a bit hard to find initially because there's not really any sign, it just looks like a house. But once we figured it out everything was fantastic. Amazingly accommodating staff and adorable pet kitten!

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

With golden bath tubes, an old fireplace and a lot of vintage furniture it sets the perfect atmosphere for a London trip. The breakfast doesn't have the highest quality but it's lovely served on an old tray with vintage plates in the room. I would definitely go there again ^-^

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location and friendly staff - breakfast could have been higher quality rather than quantity and shower wasn't brilliant - but for London it is value for money and offers you more character than other BB's - note that there is no sign on the house marking it a BB so write down the house number to make sure you find the right house!


89%

This place is great, staff are kind and helpful, location is very convenient and the building is beautiful.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely clean homely place. will stay whenever I can and would recommend to anyone.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Very pleasant and spotlessly clean - staff were very welcoming and punctual with breakfast - breakfast was served in your room and whilst it was a continental breakfast it was of good quality and plenty of it - I would highly recommend

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Ecxellent place to stay. Lovely town house atmosphere. Really enjoyed the breakfast


77%

A very nice building in a very nice area and close to London.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all London Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback