Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in Rice Terraces

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 258 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in Rice Terraces Located at Tian tou zhai, Dazhai Village, , Longsheng.
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in Rice Terraces
China
Longsheng Tian tou zhai, Dazhai Village
89% 258
25.8054934 110.1494836
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in Rice Terraces
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
6.0

We saw cockroaches in our dorm room. The staff immediately moved us to another room where we more cockroaches. We also saw many cockroaches in the common area. Apparently this is common in the wood buildings in the Dazhai village. The staff were polite and helpful. They refunded our money as we couldn't stay under the circumstances. Also the toilets are non flushing squat. On a positive note, the view is amazing and hiking routes are easily accessible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
6.0

The place is so beautiful, but the room was pretty bad. We got a double room with private bath... The bath stunk and it was nasty, I cannot even describe it. The air conditioner didn't work at all, so hot, and it was the same in the other rooms, and at night we had two huge roaches in our room. It is such a beautiful little village and the view from our window was gorgeous, but the room itself was pretty bad. Still worth it. You gotta try the braised eggplants... So delicious!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
10.0

Our stay at Dazhai Dragons Den Hostel was great! Although the walk up is a bit hard and hot in summer, the views from the hostel definitely make up for it! You really get a sense of the local life staying here. The hostel itself is clean, a little hot (but we did visit mid summer), and in a great location with three easy walks to do nearby. Would highly recommend this hostel, the staff are super helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jun 2016
8.0

Great location and definitely worth the hike up the hill. I wouldn't attempt this with a big rucksack, just take a day pack. Friendly staff, beautiful views just don't order the bamboo chicken...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2016
7.7

It's quite a hike to get there, but the views make it all worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2016
7.7

I went when at a very low season, so it was great that I had the room all to myself yet a pity that I couldn't really feel the lively atmosphere had there been more guests. The place was easier to find than I'd expected (do try to ask the locals though!), and the place is simple, comfortable and overall nice to sleep in. The toilets don't have toilet paper though (at least I couldn't find it), so do remember to bring a roll of your own. It's very convenient on the way to viewing spots 1

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th May 2016
9.1

Perched high in the hills with magnificent views, location is wow! Wooden interior meant noise was a bit of an issue, could hear people rising early for sunset, talking next door. Bathroom ensuite was basic but fine. Friendly common area. Used the washing machine (free powder) , dryer worked with a bit of a knack. Really enjoyed this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th May 2016
9.4

This is the best hostel around Longji area. My friends had a pleasant time there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th May 2016
10.0

This hostel is in the middle of rural China, so you can't expect all the comforts of other hostels, but it's so nice and cosy you'll love it too! Staff are awesome and food is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
8.6

You'd pay a fortune for a view like the one from my bed, if the big multinational hotels came and bulldozed a large hole and made a 5 star hotel here. It would probably distract from the quite and relaxed atmosphere of the area though. Hostel was great, although no lockers in room a slight downside if you're suspicious of your own shadow - it'll take your laptop as soon as it sneaks off just as the sun goes down (suspicious right?). Hostel hiking directions could be drastically improved, top tip

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.