Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in Rice Terraces

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 281 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 281 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in Rice Terraces Located at Tian tou zhai, Dazhai Village, , Longsheng.
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in Rice Terraces
China
Longsheng Tian tou zhai, Dazhai Village
87% 281
25.8054934 110.1494836
Dazhai Dragon's Den Hostel in Rice Terraces
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • najibakhbar
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Oct 2016
8.3

I liked the hostel very much. Met some amazing people here. The pros, the view is great even just outside the hostel. The cons, you have to hike up a hill for 40 mins (I took 1 hour with breaks) to get to the hostel. It's fine for young people but not a place for everyone (i.e. the elderly). Other than that, everything is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2016
8.6

The location is amazing and totally worth the walk which isn't too bad. The staff were really nice a helpful. The atmosphere was really chilled. Breakfast was a nice change from other breakfasts we had been having in china. Only thing that wasn't great was the bathroom but it did the job and we were there for the rice terraces not a bathroom. It was our favourite part of our china trip!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.6

The hostel is in a beautiful location, though be prepared for the 40 minute walk up to it. Hostel staff were very friendly and helpful. The dorm itself was basic but clean. Overall a good stay in a pleasant hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
9.7

Xiao Qing (receptionist) was exceptionally helpful, and polite. He could easily make its guests feel at ease, at home, and carries the conversation like a friend. He would also try his best to help with my queries like transport to my next destination, best way to see certain observation points, etc. Highly recommended place for backpackers, holidaymakers or people who just want to relax and chill out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
8.6

Wonderful location and chilled out vibe. As soon as I arrived I extended my booking. Staff are a little shy but very friendly . Food is so-so, but you shouldn't expect fine dining high up in the mountains! This place served as a homely base for several days of great hiking. Don't be put off by the walk here. It's a big part of the attractiveness of this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
9.4

Amazing!!! The hostel is in an amazing location with a beautiful sigthviews; and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Definitly, if I come back some day to Daz hai, I go to this hostel sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.0

The hostel is located in breathtaking scenery and is pretty cool too, as it is a traditional building. The trip was worth it for the views alone. The staff were very friendly and easy to contact when we arrived in Dazhai. The directions could be better. We were flustered to find that they do not accept card payments. Thankfully, we have wechat pay and used that in the village. The room was comfortable and clean, but the toilet smelled quite bad. This was solved easily by closing the door.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.4

Even though you have to walk 40 min from the park entrance to reach the hostel, the location is perfect to go at the view points and to walk to Ping'an!. Staff were super nice and helpful. Food is also great! Rooms are clean except for the bathrooms (more or less clean).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
6.0

We saw cockroaches in our dorm room. The staff immediately moved us to another room where we more cockroaches. We also saw many cockroaches in the common area. Apparently this is common in the wood buildings in the Dazhai village. The staff were polite and helpful. They refunded our money as we couldn't stay under the circumstances. Also the toilets are non flushing squat. On a positive note, the view is amazing and hiking routes are easily accessible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Jul 2016
8.3

Overall a good stay - this a is all about the beautiful location. Pros: - the location is amazing: the views from windows of the room and the patio were amazing - very cosy feel to the place Cons - the bathrooms are generally clean, but the cement finish everywhere makes it look like it could be dirty - the walk to the hostel is really difficult (but with great views); it's an hour, and covers lots of steps which is hard with a big backpack

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.