Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Deejai Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1,484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1,484 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.7
Deejai Backpacker Located at 193/1-2 Ratchamunka Rd., Phasing, Chiang Mai.
Deejai Backpacker
Thailand
Chiang Mai Chiang Mai 50200 193/1-2 Ratchamunka Rd., Phasing
78% 1484
18.7855796 98.9800572
Deejai Backpacker
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
9.1

Sparkly clean, new and shiny. Happy, friendly, helpful staff. Comfy beds, just great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Clairehart6163426
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.0

I can't give much of a fair review, since I was so jet lagged I ended up sleeping for most of my time here. I'm traveling alone, and normally would not have enjoyed being stuck in an empty dorm, but it worked out this time. It seemed like a good place to socialize and there is an awesome free pool. My one big complaint is the bathrooms. The shower is basically right over the toilet, so it gets soaked. I also had to ask for toilet paper, and towels are not free to rent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
6.3

A shell of its former glory- I stayed here 4 years ago and found the social aspect amazing so was keen to stay again when I returned to Chiang Mai. The new set up with the pool down the road just doesn't work so well and we found it hard to meet many people. Communal area is dark, dingy and uncomfortable and the rooms are much the same. Showers are pretty depressing. Moved to another hostel and am now much happier- I think give this one a miss.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
8.0

The hostel itself was pretty decent, for the price. It did seem very social - with the bar and pool area separate from the main residence, meaning that you can either socialise or sleep easy. It was fairly quiet, although people we're friendly - I'd put it down to being low season. Loved the pool! The breakfast portions were really small, but the thai food was really good - try the pepper and garlic chicken! The dorm rooms were basic, and weren't cleaned often. Ensuite was a wet room and dark!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2016
9.1

Pretty hard to fault Deejai. The atmosphere is perfect if you want to be able to have a few beers but don't want a mad party keeping you up until 5am. Rob who runs the place is awesome, never tries to flog you the expensive tours, just tries to give you his genuine advice on what's best to do. The other staff are equally helpful and friendly. The biweekly BBQ is great for meeting people and enjoying a few Changs before heading out to the bars. Thanks everyone there for a great time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.3

Good vale for money and easy to book trips (we did the elephant jungle sanctuary and best Thai cooking class - would strongly recommend both!) room was very basic, no air con only a fan. You really get what you pay for here. Also a bit far from the main attractions. Took about 40 mins to walk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.1

I had an awesome stay here, the vibe there was incredible, the rooms were quite clean and modern. The owner was absolutely amazing he was very knowledgeable and quite a crack up 100% would recommend! Coffee was also ace!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
7.4

The pool is very cool! The rooms are ok, but the bathrooms not so much, when you shower everything gets wet, including the toilet paper and the trash can. There are not enough sockets for the four bed rooms. The staff was nice, but the old western man with the beard was not. There was a misunderstanding about how much we needed to pay for a taxi, and he was not helpful at all and treated us rudely; we didn't like him at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.9

The staff are lovely and I met so many great people here. Very social hostel and the pool is so nice to chill at!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
8.9

This is the second time I have stayed at DeeJai hostel. My first stay was 3 years ago and I really enjoyed the social aspect of it so I decided to stay there again. In this time the facilities have changed in regards to the social setting - they now have DeeJai Garden which is a little down the road from the hostel but it has a bar/cafe for food and drinks, seating areas and a pool with shower and changing facilities. For the price charged for a 4 person dorm w/ air-con= great value for money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.