Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Deejai Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1,466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1,466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.8
Deejai Backpacker Located at 193/1-2 Ratchamunka Rd., Phasing, Chiang Mai.
Deejai Backpacker
Thailand
Chiang Mai Chiang Mai 50200 193/1-2 Ratchamunka Rd., Phasing
78% 1466
18.7855796 98.9800572
Deejai Backpacker
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2016
9.1

Pretty hard to fault Deejai. The atmosphere is perfect if you want to be able to have a few beers but don't want a mad party keeping you up until 5am. Rob who runs the place is awesome, never tries to flog you the expensive tours, just tries to give you his genuine advice on what's best to do. The other staff are equally helpful and friendly. The biweekly BBQ is great for meeting people and enjoying a few Changs before heading out to the bars. Thanks everyone there for a great time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.1

I had an awesome stay here, the vibe there was incredible, the rooms were quite clean and modern. The owner was absolutely amazing he was very knowledgeable and quite a crack up 100% would recommend! Coffee was also ace!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
7.4

The pool is very cool! The rooms are ok, but the bathrooms not so much, when you shower everything gets wet, including the toilet paper and the trash can. There are not enough sockets for the four bed rooms. The staff was nice, but the old western man with the beard was not. There was a misunderstanding about how much we needed to pay for a taxi, and he was not helpful at all and treated us rudely; we didn't like him at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
8.9

This is the second time I have stayed at DeeJai hostel. My first stay was 3 years ago and I really enjoyed the social aspect of it so I decided to stay there again. In this time the facilities have changed in regards to the social setting - they now have DeeJai Garden which is a little down the road from the hostel but it has a bar/cafe for food and drinks, seating areas and a pool with shower and changing facilities. For the price charged for a 4 person dorm w/ air-con= great value for money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jul 2016
7.4

Very nice hostel for a short stay. Slightly inconvenient in that the main restaurant and pool was a walk away from where you sleep and that you needed a ticket to get free entry to the pool every time you went. One of the staff at the pool and restaurant was also extremely rude and very unwelcoming. Showers and beds were good and wifi was extremely good in the common area. Top bunk was lacking in a plug which was annoying but that was only my top bunk, the other bunk in the room had a plug.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jul 2016
7.4

the guy who worked there was so lovely and helpful however the hostel itself: the room just smelt like damp it was pretty unbearable at first, took some getting used to. we were glad we were only there 1 night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
6.9

Free Pool is down the road from hostel which is good Booked a good elephant tour from the reception and had good cheap breakfasts there in the mornings Shared dorm of 4 with fan was actually fine to sleep in, only a problem during the hot days when getting changed/showered etc Bathroom was basic with shower and toilet together Not as social as expected but everyone was friendly Safe lockers available Got tuk tuk to night market for 100b and short ride to the nightlife Good for cheapprice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.6

Even though u have to pay additional for stuff like towels and toilet paper. I recommend this place for the awesome atmosphere! They have pool parties and live dj regularly for all backpackers to get to know each other. Staff was super helpful for info on tours and booking them for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
8.3

Great social hostel. They have a great pool/bar area right down the road, good way to escape the jungle stickiness and meet someone new.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

Really enjoyed my stay at deejai hostel. The staff were really really helpful with booking cooking course and good elephant sanctuary's. They put on a really fun bbq and everyone got involved in the drinking games and great DJ. There is also the cutest puppy there. Loved our stay here would definitely go back there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.