Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Deejai Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2006 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2006 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jun 2017
2.9

Not clean at all. Horrible staff and felt like I was staying at a frat house. If you are looking for a party- definitely the place to stay otherwise avoid if you want to spare yourself from seeing half dressed 16-20 year old girls running around.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
26th May 2017
6.0

Good for the free swimming pool and the atmosphere is quite good. However the rooms are pretty dirty (there were so many ants in ours), the bathrooms are not great as ours had a hole in the sink so couldn't even brush my teeth and they're very cramped. Also no security lockers. Would only stay here for a night to be honest!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th May 2017
7.1

I had stayed at deejai's 4 years previously and had a great time so decided to stay again on this trip however was not as good as it used to be. The staff had very little time for us, felt very rushed all the time and just seemed interested in getting the money rather than friendly. The rooms are fine and good value but our dorm smelled of damp but not major issue. The pool area is a good addition and still a good atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th May 2017
4.9

Absolutely would NOT recommend staying here. First off, the 4 bed basic dorm is utterly disgusting. You feel like you're in a jail! Beds are uncomfortable and there is only a fan in this dorm. Ended up switching to 4 bed AC room which was a little better, but not much. Beds still weren't the best and not very clean at all. Had dinner at the cafe in the Hostel and found plastic in my dish.... The only good thing I can say is that it is in walking distance to most of temples in the Old City!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd May 2017
9.4

Second time staying at Deejai Backpackers and would definitely come back/ recommend to friends! The location is great, near to the essentials (7/11) and loads of great street food places. We were first in a fan room rather than air con but had to upgrade to air con due to the heat which was only a few baht more and definitely worth it! The pool is also amazing in the heat and very social, a great way to meet people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
6.0

The staff and location were great but after one night I had to leave. All bedsheets were stained, so were the walls. The loo was wet on arrival. You can see the cleaners working really hard but perhaps more is necessary if they're hosting such a large number of travellers. You have to collect toilet tissue from reception, odd. I was also greeted by a cockroach the size of my fist when showering. Also the toilet/shower has a sliding door that doesnt contain sound/smell. Bad when bed is close

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st May 2017
8.0

For being known as a party hostel, the place was pretty quiet for the entire time I was there. It may have been a fluke though. The rooms were average but the AC was strong which was good. The bathroom in my room was a bit dirty with some mold on the ceiling where the shower was. Overall, my stay was okay, but I've been to better hostels. The pool area was cool though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kirstiemccrystal6590
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st May 2017
5.1

Stayed here after being recommended. It felt quite unclean and like it needed a good scrub. Wouldn't go back

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th May 2017
9.1

Rooms and bathrooms bit on the small and shabby side but kept clean and beds were comfy. Good social vibe and great location within the old city, close to temples and lots of good restaurants. Pool was great and attached to great bar (though down street from the hostel), but closed at about 7 pm. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th May 2017
9.4

Deejai has undoubtedly been our best hostel so far. Has a wonderful communal atmosphere and we've met some awesome people. It's a very basic place exactly what you would expect from a youth hostel with no extra frills. They also have tonnes of activities which you can book through the hostel and the swimming pool (deejai garden is awesome). Thanks for a sick time deejai! - May visitors.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.