Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Deejai Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.8
Deejai Backpacker Located at 193/1-2 Ratchamunka Rd., Phasing, Chiang Mai.
Deejai Backpacker
Thailand
Chiang Mai Chiang Mai 50200 193/1-2 Ratchamunka Rd., Phasing
79% 1527
18.7855796 98.9800572
Deejai Backpacker
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • henrygeorgeking414
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Sep 2016
10.0

I came here in September travelling alone, and the social atmosphere is brilliant. Upon arrival I was informed of every information needed. Pool/bar/restaurant area which is only a two minute walk. The two guys that run the hostel, Rob and Phil, make you feel so welcome, always offering their help and advice. Rooms have great AC with wet room attached, which is cleaned everyday. Beds are comfy. Scooters and tourist info available on site. Would definitely stay here again! Zoolander

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2016
10.0

Stayed in this fantastic hostel the last few night and had a great time. The rooms are perfectly cleaned everyday. Beds are as comfortable as you can get really. The pool area is better than some of the 4 star hotel pool areas ive stayed. The two guys Rob and Phil who run the hostel do a great job and they make everybody feel welcome. If your staying in Chiang Mai, do not miss out on staying here you will love it and for what you pay you probably wont find better anywhere :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andy94pas1225
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
10.0

Great time at Deejai. Owner and staff really put in effort to make you feel at home and are always checking on you to make sure that you're having a good time. The pool is down the street only about a 3 minute walk, it's a beautiful garden with a bar and restaurant. As with any hostel, you have to get lucky with a good crowd and travelers to make the atmosphere and experience. Recommend this place highly, as I stayed at Spicythai and HugMeHostel. Come here for a true backpackers experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.3

Value for money is great but don't book the non-AC room, I did that and one night it was a mistake! The staff was really, really helpful with everything. Also the free pool with a bar was really nice - all that for 150 THB per night? Extremely good value for money! Bring your own soap as there is none provided. You also have to ask for toilet paper at the reception (hah..). The atmosphere is awesome, lots of friendly people to meet. Would stay here again, but in an AC room :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

Second time I've been, always good to see dad again. New pool was nice and the breakfast was incredible. Really good place to meet people, one of my favourite hostels in one of my favourite places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Aug 2016
6.9

Good hostel for a few nights. The common area was always really dark and dingy so wasn't a good place to chill. The hostel felt very quite so not a very social hostel where you can meet loads of people. The rooms were good we had a full 4 bed dorm to just the 2 of us which was nice. They do have a pool and garden which was good for the day and served good food. Ok hostel for 150bht but would probably stay somewhere else next time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2016
7.1

I probably got unlucky but I'm not sure where this 'social atmosphere' people refer to was. No one hung out in the social area in the evening and the bar was also pretty dead at night apart from a group of older men. The hostel itself is pretty basic but it was sufficient. Definitely wouldn't recommend this hostel to any solo travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2016
8.0

I stayed at a four-bed mixed dorm with fan. The room was ok. Had only beds and bathroom. Could use a furniture to hang your clothes at, both in the room and the bathroom. It was clean, but could use more cleaning. There's a guy at the reception 24/7, which gives you a sense of safety. The staff is very helpful and polite. The breakfast is quite expensive but the portions are big. The common bathroom at the reception is horrible, with cockroaches roaming all over the room. The pool is fine though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
25th Aug 2016
7.7

the swimming pool is an asset, the staff is nice, the dorm however was really sub-par. the quality of private rooms is way better than that of the dorms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.4

Booked one night, ended up staying for seven. Rob and the rest of the staff are great, always friendly and willing to help you organise a day trip, bus journey, scooter hire, whatever. Definitely would recommend staying at Deejai, I had a great time staying there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.