Hostelworld.com

Demani Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 70 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 70 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.1
Demani Lodge Located at Paje East Coast, Zanzibar, P.O. Box 3721, Paje.
Demani Lodge
Tanzania
Paje Paje East Coast, Zanzibar, P.O. Box 3721
92% 70
-6.2763957 39.5356750
Demani Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Apr 2016
7.7

Nice place, bad location, very, very, very slow staff. Sometimes you have to wait for hours because they are waiting for the person who actuelly knows how to help you, so have patience! Otherwise very nice place and helpful but extreamly slow staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2016
9.7

A bit of a walk to the beach. But great clean facilities and the pool is open 24 hours. Good food and super friendly staff. Also they are about the only pale to accept credit cards on the island. Don't forget to get cash before you leave stone town!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2016
9.7

The staff are great! Really makes the place it's own paradise with the staff being so kind, friendly, accomadating, helpful and appreciative! The food is also amazing! Probably in the top 3 places to eat in Paje. The pool is gorgeous, the rooms are in band as that make you feel like you are in your own tree house. The grounds are well kept and maintained. The lounge area is very welcoming and relaxing. No complaints with Demani!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Jack_Castle-Burns
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2016
9.7

The best place that I stayed at in Tanzania by far. The staff and atmosphere was much better than I had experienced before on mainland Tanzania and Zanzibar. The location was never an issue with the beach literally a three minute walk away and other areas easily accessible by a short walk, taxi or as I found most trucks will stop and give a lift. Testament to the staff and security was that I forgot my key deposit ($20) and the staff ring my taxi and organised for me to get it back. fantastic!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2016
9.7

I came to Paje to kite and I had an amazing stay at Demani. The place is clean, and the atmosphere is amazing. All personnel is extremely nice, helpful and relaxed. The location is the only point, but this probably is the reason why this hostel is so nice. If there was a car available, we were dropped of at the kitespot for free (a taxi to the kitespot is only 5000 TSH). Finally, they let me store my kitegear for free during my 10 day trip to the mainland! I would recommend it to anybody!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jan 2016
9.7

Demani was awesome! Great value for money, very clean and great vibe. Very close to the beach. Would recommend to stay here, as would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • canaltin1992
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jan 2016
9.4

Staying at Demani Lodge has been an unforgettable hostel experience for me. The atmosphere was great as much as the staff. At Demani, you can fully feel the African relaxation with natural atmosphere around it. No need to comment on the fascinating decoration through the entire premises. In brief, Demani Lodge will definitely offer you far more than what you could have expected from a hostel. If you are heading to the east coast of Zanzibar, Demani is ready to give you the warmest welcome ever..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Dec 2015
8.9

Top hostel, only drawback is the location about a 25 minute walk to the beach, but once your there it really doesn't seem like a big issue. Really good place to meet other backpackers with a chilled atmosphere except Thursday when the have a bbq which was good fun.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2015
9.7

Demani Lodge was really great. We had some of our stuff stolen at the beach, but Lynn and Issa were amazing, they helped us liaise with the Paje Police and even helped look for our stuff. They are truly dedicated to their customers , and really made the stay, in spite of the misfortunate occurrence, to be great. I would highly recommend anyone who comes to Paje to stay at Demani , you won't be disappointed. The food was good, the rooms were nice (albeit small, but thats ok). Love Demani!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2015
9.4

Great place to stay Iv been here two weeks now and not one bit bored. I came to kite surf and have been pretty unlucky with wind, being over 100kg I need a bit more than most to get up wind even on my 17m but its picking up now and I plan to stay at least another two weeks. Demani is not on the beach but only a short walk 10 minutes tops. The menu is great but after two weeks I am craving a Roast dinner. There is a great pool to cool down (a bit) and relax chatting with other guests or read

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.